April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

a-mazing TowerDefense

by Zelosfan - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my fist Ludum Dare and I am very pretty proud of the result.

It's an neat little tower defense :D It's really challenging
in the end ^^

Coded in Java with the LibGDX library.

If you play via Java applet be sure to have the latest Java version and trust our applet license when prompted.

I will setup an HTML5 and applet later today i gotta sleep now ^_^

I hope you have fun playing it :D.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#321Theme3.78
#323Fun3.24
#532Overall3.19
#696Mood2.74
#714Humor2.00
#836Innovation2.76
#906Graphics2.59
#910Audio2.08

Comments

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29pm

I like the boxy concept. The color system confused me at the beginning. Overall, it's challenging and I liked it. :)

Blinked says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Really cool game, it's quite a challenge but balances that by giving strategically sound areas to place towers. Good job!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

I really like how the health is displayed as part of the unit. I also like how it's a tower defense game but you still control a character and you can go wherever you want. 5/5

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52pm

"You died! Do you think this is a fuck**ng game ?!?" Ahahahah

Also, the concept is cool, well done.

@SamPotasz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

Definitely was confusing at first, but neat and nicely done.

HunLyxxod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

This is a good tower defense, fun and challenging.
The player movements are maybe a little slow but except that, I liked this game.

m64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Overall rather nice. I think there is a bug that if you block off all paths with brown blocks the path finding does not work and so the mobs stop coming.

mire says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26am

I like the basic idea, but the sliding makes it feel very imprecise and hard to control.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:42am

Fun but music would have been nice :)

Uhfgood says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:28am

The graphics were minimal but the game play wasn't so much.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29am

The mechanics are simple and fun!

FREEZX says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

Nice game, fun, challenging, i like it

BrainSlugs83 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:34am

I liked the game over all. Could use a few improvements. Not going back to level 1 every time you died would be a start.

Also the weird bug where just about any random event (being pushed into a wall for example) can randomly cause it to max out one of my cpu cores and I have to end process on the game.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:52am

I had a good time with it. Simplistic which fits the theme, though I kind of wish there was maybe a bit of music with the experience. I thought that having the health in the 'boxes' was pretty clever, though I felt there should of been a better way to show that a stage was coming to an end as it seemed sort of random. Maybe something like an enemy count or a timer?

Nisshoku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:15pm

The character control feels awkward, its too 'floaty' imo. The game works well, its nice to play a TD that you can get into really fast. Too bad you have to start over from the beginning as soon as you die once, would have liked an option to just replay the current level.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:03pm

Really awesome game, finally a TD where you can move around and place towers in the way of the enemies. Would have liked more information on what the towers do, or what the information displayed actually means.
With some more polish, this can really be an even more awesome game.

0beah says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:07pm

Player controls were a little wonky. Other mechanics were implemented nicely really stayed true to the theme of the competition.

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:01am

Color-coding towers fits the theme but doesn't make for a very convenient ability differentiation. Player control felt sluggish. It was a solid entry overall, though.

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Simple mechanics, cool game. I like how the enemies move, also the hit graphic feedback looks good.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:19pm

I liked this, the health indicator is very good. I would also like to have some better indication of the level being completed, otherwise plays flawlessly. Well Done =]

Jellycakes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:03am

Pretty nice, enjoyed the mechanics of the game. Made me focus a lot. Really well done

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]