April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Get Gold

by Jonatron - 48 Hour Compo Entry

I wanted to see how much I could do with a single mechanic: collecting gold.
Click on your castle to create workers, who will automatically gather gold. You opponent is also trying to collect gold and will grab it first if you don't have enough workers.

To increase your population cap, upgrade your castles or buy enemy ones. New workers are cheaper at newly purchased castles.

Use the mouse wheel to zoom in and out.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#423Graphics3.23
#523Mood2.92
#550Audio2.71
#705Overall3.03
#747Fun2.77
#794Innovation2.81
#803Theme3.29
#885Humor1.81

Comments

CryoGenesis says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

Addicting gold collecting!

Zillix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

I really liked this one. the audio is fantastic, and the minimal gameplay works really well. it was a lot of fun to watch my dudes collect resources so I could expand my influence!

poohshoes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

I like the concept but the game play didn't present any meaningful choices.

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Nice graphics, took a while for me to find out which team i was on and how to get started. Then after having some fun for a while, I got the idea it would go on infinitly,

Also i heard a sound which told me something bad happened and but I could not find my castle anymore, (scroll did not work Firefox/OSX/Webversion)

texel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

Interesting mechanic, but without some form of actual competition, there doesn't seem to be a point -- it's very easy to take over all the castles and upgrade them to the top.

If that ding were a Geiger counter, I'd be glowing. =op

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

Nice idea!
would be cool to wage battle with other castle or option to attack that assassin character (red)
looks good!

sparksgently says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:05am

This is a really well-done interface. Looks and "feels" really nice. It's only missing a challenge and a win condition. For two day's work, this is great!

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

Despite it not having a win condition (?) I played this way longer than I probably should have. :) Nice work with such a simple mechanic.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

I hate that red bastard. BTW is there a win condition that I was missing? I got all the castles and full pop but nothing happened.

Deadlyapps says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:11am

Great game. Noise after getting far is a little unbearable but collecting resources is fun apparently..

rogerklotz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:15am

Pretty fun, but the gold started coming in so fast that I had to turn down my speakers lol. Is anything supposed to happen after getting max (260?) population?

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21am

This is surprisingly fun! At first I was like what do I do? This is it? But conquest and expansion turned out to keep my interest for a while. Slick ui and nice audio (although after you capture all castles and start upgrading the gold collection sound becomes grating).

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

Cool and mostly well done. Felt like the start was really slow though.

erdos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:40am

Hehe look at the little guys go. I'm having fun with this. It's really satisfying building up the castles, I think you got the balance of cost/upgrade/timing perfect

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09am

Cool addictive game!

Mythalore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

My kind of game, very pleasant and charming.

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Playing this once was an enjoyable experience, but it seems you can't lose and the game goes on forever, so there is not much strategy involved. Maybe it's not so bad if you can't lose, but how about having an endgame criterion (like, buy and upgrade all castles) and using the time taken as the final score?

Jonatron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:11am

Thanks for all the comments!

After the judging ends I probably keep working on it for a bit. Rather than add a win condition, I'd prefer to have an infinite world and have the challenge continuously ramp up. It also needs a few more things to keep it interesting for just a little longer (though it'll never be a game that can be played for more than a few minutes).

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:42am

I see it's in Unity. Could you compile a Linux version too?

Jonatron says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Sure, I'll put one up after I get home tonight.

mrexcessive says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Seemed really sparse once my little guys wandered off. Not sure sustains interest without more to do, but interesting that you built the whole thing around one resource and automatic gathering.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:18am

No very meaningful because you don't really make any tradeoffs...

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:58am

Nice game, but mouse scroll not worked after reset. :(

itsZN says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:13pm

very nice style, but it gets too easy too quickly, the monster is bad at first but after one upgrade, its like, "Oh, one person gone? I can easily make another"

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]