April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

SeedLife

by shawn42 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

SeedLife is a simulation toy thing. Numbers 1-6 set what you're going to plant. Click to plant. Right click to pick weeds.


If running from source you will need Ruby and Gosu:
bundle install && rake

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness79%
#185Mood3.40
#243Audio3.23
#321Theme3.78
#543Innovation3.13
#758Graphics2.76
#861Overall2.89
#973Fun2.52
#984Humor1.63

Comments

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

I think this perfectly embodies the theme! Plus I love sandbox games. I wish I could turn off the music so I could keep it up running for a while (although it is nice and peaceful).

shawn42 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

deathray: Thanks! I wanted to add a few more types of seeds as well as different "critters" based on your garden. Look for a post-comp release in the future.

Arcana says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:27am

The music was nice and relaxing and it was interesting watching things grow. There's something satisfying about watching the flowers pop up as you plant them.

I had a hard time doing grid-accurate clicks on my mouse. Maybe it is a framerate issue on my computer?

Having a guide as to what you have currently selected would have been a nice bonus.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:29am

This game really suits my mood. The mysteries of the seeds keep me coming back for more. Gotta sprout 'em all. Great job!

LaceySnr says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:41am

Couldn't work this out, then looked back at the page and saw the notes on pressing 1-6. Much more satisfying!

Love the music :)

Fritzendugan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:42am

Music was nice, looped well. Wished I could "paint" the dots (just click and hold and paint all over) rather than drawing lines. Also seemed a little sluggish or delayed or something.

As for theme, pretty fitting in many ways, although I'm sure many would question if this even qualifies as a "game." I would argue it does, especially in a minimalistic sense.

Overall, enjoyable for a few minutes or so, but I was definitely craving for a little more. Even if the theme was minimalism. Good job, though.

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47am

Very interesting concept, and incredibly relaxing. Good job :D

MRvanderPants says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:00pm

I had a lot of fun while playing this game. I am a big fan of the pixelart and the growing concept is awesome.

nintendoeats says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:21am

The music didn't play for me and now I can't delete the files...

I felt like a I needed a little bit more feedback from my actions, but that may have been done in sound. I didn't score it.

(Windows 7 64-bit BTW).

dalbinblue says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:27am

Nice relaxing, had trouble figuring out the rules on how the different seeds populate as they were inconsistent and only a few seemed to actually interact. Was 1 through 6 all actually seeds or are some things like stone and water.

burtlo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:08am

I really enjoyed the small touches, particularly with the blooming flowers and the clouds.

May 2, 2013 @ 5:18am

Interesting idea, and kinda neat to watch. Although I personally think it'd be more enjoyable with more detailed graphics.

shawn42 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:37pm

@nintendoeats do you have a specific error? You are running the same machine that I used for testing.. :/

@dalbinblue I use the term seed as anything you can "plant" in the game. I may want to make the rocks "grow" at some point.

@BlennosoftGames I think better graphics would be interesting and fun in a different way; but I would have definitely failed if I tried to make them. =P

@all Thanks for playing and thanks for the feedback!

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:23pm

The music is very relaxing, the gameplay simple but quite intuitive.
A good game, with great concept.

nintendoeats says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:45pm

@shawn42: No error, just also no sound. It might be an incompatibility with my specific sound card. I've encountered that at least one other time in LD so far.


(BTW: It was packaging the mac version of mine in a bizarre way and giving you an outdated version, that should be fixed now. Thanks for the heads up)

May 3, 2013 @ 5:23pm

I was really hoping for a trance game on this theme - and you delivered! :D

atraxgames says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:43pm

This is beautiful and relaxing.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Cool game. Congratz!

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:28am

Notes:

- Blank tanish screen. Dragging about to plant some stuff.
- Huh. Same screen-not-refreshing issue as Wither. Both use Gosu.
- I am suspecting the line is being rendered as I draw them, but is not showing up due to this refresh defect. If I unfocus and refocus the game window, it refreshes the entire screen, as it should do every frame.
- Music is nice. I think it fits this very well.
- Not too much game going on here, though.
- I imagine this is dulled by the fact that Gosu is borked.

Things I would change:

- Render plant lines as they are being drawn (I cannot tell if the game does this already).

TehSkull says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:13am

This "toy" is rather boring to me, sorry. I can tell some work went into it though. It's just not my thing.

May 8, 2013 @ 4:10pm

The music in this is nice. Most of the seeds seem to have minimal effects, especially when compared to seed 6.

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:00pm

The music and minimalism make this a very relaxing game. I would have liked to have been able to place a "wood" seed so that I could have made a bridge across the moat outside my castle, but nonetheless, it was a joy to play and mess around with. It felt very polished.

Simon says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:09pm

So cool, I love this kind of game! The behaviour behind is intriguing

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:33pm

Neat simulation. I like the purple flowers ;) The backgroundmusic was quite cool.

free_napalm says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Great mood. Not really a game, but put this in the background of a title screen and it would be a very neat gimmick.

smealum says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:44pm

loved the music, very relaxing and i think it set the mood perfectly. however, i have to admit i wasn't too sure what i was doing despite having read the instructions. it felt more like a neat experiment than an actual game. good job though !

Norgg says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Love the music and the atmosphere. Had to go dig in the source to figure out what everything was meant to be, probably just my colourblindness, but rock, vines and bushes all look like slightly different shades of grey (with maybe a hint of green?) to me.

shawn42 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:39pm

@smealum: yes it's more of a sim toy than a game.

@Norgg Adding labels for what was selected was one of the first things that was added to the post-compo version. Also, many seeds do not do anything until water is within "range".

tcstyle says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 8:53pm

Didn't really know what to do. Liked the atmosphere.

shawn42 says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:02pm

@tcstyle It is a sandbox game. You are quite right, I had to add some better instructions and labels in the post-compo version.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]