April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minnie & Mal

by Kharza - Jam Entry

Ok now that I've had a very very long sleep...

This is a game about Minnie and Mal. Mal is convinced by her Malism that the world is evil. Originally to be a compo game, I spilled over into Jam time, but stuck with the compo rules.

Well that was the idea anyway. I ran out of time so quite a bit of it doesn't work. And there's very little variety or tuning nor sound or music.

Also something went horribly wrong with the pathfinding about 45 minutes before the deadline, so you might find the other characters doing really odd things.

Escape or the back button on a 360 controller will pull up a menu so you can fiddle with options like sensitivity and invert Y axis.

The post compo version is done finally. I shall post more in a postmortem soon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#117Graphics(Jam)3.80
#210Humor(Jam)2.38
#313Mood(Jam)2.79
#382Innovation(Jam)2.61
#431Fun(Jam)2.42
#443Overall(Jam)2.68
#522Theme(Jam)2.32
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Cryovat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

I like the models and shadings. Looking forward to see the #onegameamonth version. :-)

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I like the art style.

Kharza says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:54pm

So I intended to fix all the bugs and post a post-compo version. Well there are a LOT of bugs. The worst, and one that is taking me days is a very very rare collision related bug down in the guts of the engine.

It also exists in the C++ version of the old genesis code (down in intersectleafsides_r). I stole quake 2's idea of splitting the levels up into chunks at the very top of the tree (basically the top is a quadtree) and this makes the bug apparent. Not sure if Q2 has the same bug, as the routines and data structures are different.

The routine was mostly used for movement, and movement is typically in small deltas, so the false collision was probably never noticed as it won't produce an invalid value, just slow you down a little.

I'm using it to try to pre-determine hit locations for cast spells, and noticed sometimes a fireball would blow up in my face near one of those axial quadtree separations.

Must fix it!

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Armageddon Spell Get! Nice artwork and a compelling character mechanic. Please finish a post-compo version!

Kharza says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 10:58pm

Ok, post compo posted! Took a lot of debuggerizing.

YSelf Tool says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:45pm

Good graphics, but gameplay... That's what happens when you make good graphics at LD.

HeyZeus says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Awesome graphics, good job!

dalbinblue says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 12:41am

The game looks great, but my attack spells don't seem to do much, I fired about 20 fireballs at an enemy with no effect. I'm guessing this may have been addressed in the post-competition version, but I haven't looked at it yet (wanted to review before I looked at updates).

OU GDA says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:50am

Really liked the cell shading and lighting. To bad you weren't able to get in more before the deadline.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:30am

Nice post process and good idea...but I think something messing with the enemies (or their AI).

Kharza says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:02am

Thanks for playin everyone! Sorry it's so terribad! BTW if you find bugs in the post compo ver let me know. The one I know of right now is it crashes if you minimize then restore the window. I didn't spot that till I got midway into a huge refactor so it doesn't build for me right now.

Also the feedback I'm getting is that shock is too good, and the other spells are too weak.

paulopn says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:40am

The compo version (which I rated) shows an obviously great idea, but it's a little too unfinished...

The post-compo version is like a completely different game, great job! I loved the idea and gameplay!


I'm not sure what this has to do with the theme, though...

Kharza says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:45am

It's a dodge, Minimalism == Mini / Malism. Mini == Minnie, Malism == Mal. :D

GarethIW says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:21am

Nice engine. I had a hard time trying to kill the bad dudes, after Mal ran out of mana there was no way to do damage!

kibertoad says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:09am

I liked the idea to split magic system between two controllable characters. also, the rest of the stuff works surprisingly well.

Pisti says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Nice entry - I liked the spell effects but the mana regeneration was pretty slow, so I just ran away from the enemies. Sometimes it was also hard to distinguish the walls from the ground.

Kharza says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 6:39am

Fixed the minimize crash in the post compo ver. Also dropped the decision time on AI finding buddies. Sometimes the only nearby friends would be behind a locked door, but the pathing is off on a thread so it needed a quick turnaround if it couldn't path there so it could try another friend.

LemonTree says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:53am

Like the concept. Its really original Great Art!

Kharza says ...
Jun 4, 2013 @ 4:41pm

I finally finished! It is at the post compo link and put up on 1gam

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]