April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Jump

by hamrath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Minimal Jump you have to jump up 32 floors to rescue a beautiful princess.

The levels are randomly generated and never the same.

Have fun and vote please!

Done with Construct 2, Sound done with bfxr.

[EDIT]: On popular request I added a HUD with distance to exit and the timer.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#332Fun3.23
#358Theme3.74
#491Overall3.23
#518Mood2.93
#739Audio2.40
#884Innovation2.68
#1070Graphics2.33
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

GranaDa says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Super Cool! :)
I Think you could use some minimal HUD to let us know how far we already are in the game!

hamrath says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Thanx, Granada. I was thinking about a HUD, but decided against it in favor of the minimalism. ;)

pgil says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Fun, simple game, although if you hit the side of a platform while it's moving toward you, sometimes you can get get stuck in it and have to restart. You have time to fix it, though!

Webravenz says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 6:00pm

nice game, nice idea from Granada, i didn't know if there were an end ;)

Angelbait says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Love how well this expressed the theme mate! Had to beat it :D

h2n0 says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:38pm

Nice game very interesting pretty fun as well good job :D

Tanius says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:40pm

Nice work. That's really minial

thephantom says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:02pm

very addicting game , i really enjoyed it

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17am

I had quite a bit of fun playing this game, though I have to say that having the player character wrap around the screen instantly but not the holes kind of messed with my head a lot.

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

@sparkleswirl: Yeah, I know, I was thinking about that, too. But you totally need the time you get through this, because especially the very fast floors are a pain in the ass, if they are too short. ;)

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

I wish there was more vertical room to jump

Geoege says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Really simple but good game. Loved it.

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I hope the princess is not in another castle, because getting into this one will cost me a bit of effort :D

hamrath says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

@Bortstudios: I reduced it for the competition. I have some ideas for a later version.

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Not bad. Has a couple small bugs here and there, but still a fun little game

saggiosoft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:43am

Good. And fun!

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Super Cool! :)
I Think you could use some minimal HUD to let us know how far we already are in the game!

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:58pm

A surprising little challenge for such a simple concept. Moments of satisfaction from chaining a few jumps together to moments of self-loathing when a botched jump lands you two floors down. Lovely stuff.

For a harder difficulty (if you wish to further polish) you could add a mode where the sides of the tower kill the player, requiring them to jump the floor gaps too.

hamrath says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:15pm

GarethIW: Thank you. Yeah, I totally will polish and release an advanced version later. During the weekend I had some ideas for other game modes. I like your idea and might include it. :)

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:28am

Jump ! Jump ! Jump ! Nice shot :).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]