April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Essence

by Make A Game - Jam Entry

Press [space] to jump.

Collect orbs to recover essence.
Avoid swirls that remove essence.


This is Essence...
...a race against time in a mysterious cavern where your soul is constantly being drain and trapped in the dark waters, as your reflection appears more and more clear.
You lose by falling or if you become completely trapped in the mirror-like waters.
Look in the reflection for dangers, avoid the swirls that further drain you, and use the orbs to restore your shattered being.
A game made for Ludum Dare 26 by the Make a Game team.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#80Mood(Jam)3.63
#114Graphics(Jam)3.81
#128Innovation(Jam)3.42
#211Overall(Jam)3.30
#232Theme(Jam)3.38
#281Fun(Jam)2.86
#299Audio(Jam)2.83
#325Humor(Jam)1.94

Comments

onzephyr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:54am

Not a bad runner game. Good visuals. The reflection idea was an interesting twist.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Great idea! Took me a second to realize movements were mirrored, then the game took off :)

oatsbarley says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:24am

Nice graphics and the mechanic is kind of tricky. Well done!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:13am

Interesting game! Thank you!

_Rilem says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:51pm

A cool idea, the graphic style makes it hard to see your reflection though.

MinionStudios says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Love love love the art style in this! Such a great mirror mechanic too

hissssssssss says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:15pm

I loved the mirrored level showing hazards on one side and health on the other. Getting the hang of collecting one and not the other was tricky. Awesome job!

WiseGAMER says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:23pm

interesting but bad implemented idea ...

May 8, 2013 @ 2:27pm

I really like the whole reflection mechanic. Great work!

Broxxar says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:56pm

One of the better runners I've seen in the Jam/Compo. Great work

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Thank you so much for your feedback, it means a lot.
Essence was by far our most difficult entry, after taking a break for two editions.
Actualy we didn't even want to see the game again after submitting.
This wasn't the game we started with, we changed entirely the game midway(48h left), we spent the 24h changing 3 times the engine (Haxe, Flashpunk, Flixel), we had loads of problems with motivation.
We're working on our post mortem =).

Thank you again for helping us liking a little more our game:
onzephyr ; matthias_zarzecki ; oatsbarley ; SuperlevelSebastian ; _Rilem ; MinionStudios ; hissssssssss ; WiseGAMER ; Kristofer Parsons

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Really love the atmosphere to this. I seemed to have a few odd game-overs (couldn't see what I'd done to cause them) but generally nice to play!

xandy says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:57pm

cool idea and mechanics, sadly the game didn't run fluent on my pc :(

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Very Cool Game!
I like the mechanic a lot, though a small readme at the bottom of the webpage might be a good idea for anyone who Doesn't come via the LD post. ( Though it's still certainly much easier to understand than my own entry lol )
The visuals are pretty gorgeous for a weekend game!
Very theme appropriate as well.

Congrats on an awesome LD entry!

May 16, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Completely loved the uniquess of the art style,
Unfortunately i saw a game with a similar concept in this LD26 :/ but urs was better.

The ending was a bit too abrupt

May 16, 2013 @ 10:12pm

This is one of the most interesting setups I've seen in this LD, and it works well with the simple gameplay. A beautiful and poetic concept.

Unfortunately, the gameplay itself is a bit lacklustre: the controls aren't that great, and there's no way of telling when you'll just fall through the floor. Also, there are a couple of slight mistakes in the English ("that is how it lives" doesn't really work, for example). Which is a shame, because apart from those slight errors, the messages are beautifully written.

In short, there are some issues that could be fixed with more polish, but the concept and mood are excellent.

May 16, 2013 @ 10:15pm

... and reading the other comments, I realised that I missed the fact that the reflection shows you false floors and other hazards. Sorry about that; will score up accordingly.

Shigor says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:41am

I completely missed the mirror mechanics on the first play and wanted to write something about bad collisions ;)
Good mood.

CiderPunk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:24am

the sound and art make this, shame about the collision detection

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:15pm

@CiderPunk I'm glad you liked the artistic vision.
The collisions aren't perfect, but there are invisible barriers that can only be seen on the reflection. =P

Puccini says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Very interesting twist in the mechanic. It's fun but i think it needs a better curve of velocity.
Great game :)

Misfit says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Interesting game. Nice art style.

Aron says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Took some time till I realized that I had to look at both sides. Really neat Idea with simple but beautiful graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]