Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014

Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mustache Armies - TurboDindon - Jam Entry

Hi all! Here's our entry for this jam: Mustache Armies
Controls :
- Arrows to move
- Mouse to aim/shoot

Lead your soldiers to the victory !
Crush your enemies with your mustache-wearing soldiers, heavy gunners, grenadiers and NINJAS KILLING MACHINES, BAZOOKA SOLDIERS (!), TANKS (!!), HELICOPTERS FROM HELL (!!!) AND AWESOME ROBOTS OF AWESOMENESS!! Erm...
Anyway, as you can imagine "Mustache Armies" is a really deep tactical game :)


Discovering the game system is part of the experience but if you want more infos you can read the following description:
*** SPOILER ALERT ***
You control one unit at a time.
Each opponent killed gives you money to spend on a stronger unit for the next round.
Each unit of your previous rounds adds up, replicating all the movements you made when you controlled it. Thusly, a massive army - featuring units of all sorts - is built quickly.
Enjoy the mess !


TurboDindon team is:
Romain "Sephy" Pergod (art)
Vincent "Raz" Filipiak (art)
Joachim "Cheun" Neuville (sounds and music)
Baptiste "Blemish" Martin (development)
Jean-Baptiste "JB" Pochet (awesome test)
Jerome "Bisou" Fait (development)


n.b.(Raz): Graphics have been inspired by minimalist paintings. End of transmission.

View TurboDindon's journal. | View all entries by TurboDindon

Ratings

Coolness100%
Fun(Jam)4.41
#4Overall(Jam)4.35
#13Graphics(Jam)4.55
#18Innovation(Jam)4.03
#23Humor(Jam)3.74
#27Audio(Jam)3.96
#49Mood(Jam)3.77
#340Theme(Jam)3.10

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:43am

unique graphical art style, great gameplay (I like how you build your own army). Surpised you guys lack more ratings! go rate some games!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

I loved this game. Amazing work on graphics, furious gameplay, one of the best of LD26 so far. Just one thing that could be better is the controls, no need to use mouse button if theres no mouse aim. All in keyboard would be more comfortable.

Amazing job!

May 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

Woow ...
Woow...

Just perfect !
Graphic 5/5 (i already know sephy art, but here ... wow)
Fun 5/5
Audio 5/5 (great sound !)
Full 5 stars !

Great great JOb !

pereubu says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:37pm

omfg, best game i've played so far. The concept is great, it's smooth and polished, art is great with a cool audio?
Very very very nice job :D

MinionStudios says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:46pm

Love this game! I think I will be playing this one for a while... gotta get more mustache warrior types. Would have been even more excellent if you gave it some graphic depth like the load screen (3D style)

intripoon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:02pm

Wow, this is a fantastic game. Well done :)

Sadly it crashed for me after playing for a while. I'll have to start again from the beginning now :(

marnaouf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:18pm

Incredible game. So much fun to play and the graphics are really cool. One of the funnest and best LD games so far.

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:31pm

okay this one was really great, love it.

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:37pm

Quite fun, well done.

iamorim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Good job guys!! :D

intripoon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:32pm

I tried running it on another pc. It has win8 64bit and the game complains that it can't run because msvcrt71.dll is missing. That's the vc2003 runtime - which can not easily be installed on win7 and win8 64 bit. Could you compile a version against at least vc2005?

nicso says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:49pm

awesome concept ! realisation is great, audio could had a little bit more love but hey.
A bit repetitive at the end tho, due to the impression a brute forcing the level rather than using skll.

netpro2k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I like how your previous army members remain, so your forces continue to increase.

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:06pm

This is awesome!

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:15pm

LOVE THIS! MORE MORE MORE! :D

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Wtf... best game of ludum dare Jam Iplayed so far ...

bakudas says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:15am

AWESOMEM !!! tons of congrats

zkenshin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19am

Really fun game. :)

moomoo112 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:14am

You need to provide WASD movement if you are going to have mouse aiming, using arrow keys and the mouse is extremely uncomfortable
Besides that, this was a fun game

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:32am

Maximum fun ! Very very good game !

blackmagic says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:59am

Bah les mecs, deja la grosse baffe d'inside my radio, et puis mustache army, ca demonte quoi ! gg
Game Maker FTW !

Thijsku says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:44pm

Awesome game! Best entry I've played so far :D

Eternal_Rest says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:12am

Crashes :(

SaintHeiser says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:19am

Awesome game, man =)
I really impressed with your concept =)

Jellycakes says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Really decent game. Very well polished and I liked the dying mechanics. Really well done.

mortl8324 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:02pm

My favourite entry by far. REALLY good job.

loxo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:00am

Looks good, but I can't run it because of missing MSVCR71.dll.

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Amazing!

mrx says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:29pm

couldn't play the game because of missing MSVCR71.dll
unfortunate.

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Just realized you did Inside my Radio too. No wonder this game was so good :D

vapgames says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:13pm

That's a very cool game. Lots of fun. Reminds me of Super Time Force.

YM says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:10pm

39 soldiers used.
Ballin

AlanZucconi says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:22pm

The graphics of this game is something really amazing! :)

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Maybe we've just got the Jam Winner? Really. Little more balance work and it'll become new worldwide hit!

0beah says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:08pm

THIS IS BEYOND BRILLIANT. This needs to be a full game. I love it .

Fadobo says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:07pm

First (after adding some DLLs to start the game) I was like "Huh, whats going on?" and it was pure awesomeness from my third or fourth death on (yep, it took me that long to figure it out...)

Shigor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:25pm

You are teh winners. Enough said.

May 6, 2013 @ 1:40am

That was fantastic, great work! Does not fit the theme but it was still super fun. I made it through using 45 soldiers.

Hayawi says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:08am

Good game, I love how when you buy a unit, it produces an ai copy :D

Gungnir says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:24pm

I had a blast. Many times over. This really kept me hooked for a good while, I'd love to see you expand it post-comp.

Cursor got a little hard to see after things got... chaotic :)

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Congraturations! Amazing game :P

It was kind of odd that it slowed/sped up occasionally though.

lathomas64 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:41pm

wow, I was skeptical from the name but this turned out to be a really fantastic game!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:56am

missing msvcr71.dll? any thoughts?

Jod says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:47pm

42 soldiers used. Awesome! Love the gameplay and finding out that you get more soldier dudes each playthrough :).

May 10, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Really love the art style, and the feeling you get when the battle get's bigger than you later on.

May 11, 2013 @ 8:05am

Excellent. From the 75 entries I rated before not a single one comes close to this. Absolutely amazing!
33 soldiers btw.

Cell says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:05am

The art style is cool, but the concept is stolen from flash game with exactly the same mechanics, the same units and plays and feels like the same game.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:09pm

What the heck is MSVCP71.dll? I can`t run the game because I don`t have it...
Installed it. The game is extra fun, and I liked the music. I found a bug(?): the bazookamens` ($800) missles have a veeery long range. Using this [s]awesome[/s] terrifying bug, I completed the game with 4 soldiers and over $100000 left.

Jan Marcano says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Simply amazing! Can't wait to play more stuff made by you guys.

P.S.: For those having the msvcp71.dll problem, just google it and download it. It will work if you put it in the game folder. Makers should include the file in the .rar

brantkings says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:09pm

My favorite game of the jam so far! When I started and thought that I should cautiously cut off people slowly, Commandos style, I was pretty excited. When I saw what the game was really about, damn that exploded my head.

Did it with 16 soldiers. I guess that's ok.

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Thank you all for your comments! Glad to see you enjoyed the game.

@Cell : Could you give us the name of the flash game you're talking about?
We would like to see how close we are from the "stolen" original concept. No, sorry Sherlock, but it's a pure coincidence. I don't think copying games fits with LD's philosophy and it´s not ours to.

Alphonsus says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:41am

Very addicting gameplay! My favorite entry so far. The game crashes frequently for me though so I couldn't get to finish it. But nevertheless, awesome work! 5/5!

May 13, 2013 @ 2:22pm

That was AWESOME!
Completed the game with 33 soldiers!
Amazing job guys!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:10pm

Extremely well done and fun. I hope to see some twist in concept to fit better to the theme. Congrats!

DDDBOMBER says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:15pm

Really nice gameplay and art style very well down!

May 13, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Excellent game here. Solid art style, fun mechanics -- what can I ask for more? Great job!

klianc09 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 6:54pm

I think there is a bug, it says "Soldiers Used: 2" although I know I have used 3 :P (I guess you should fix the bazooka soldiers)
But seriously, this is a great game, really loved it. Would have liked to use WASD for movement though.

michail says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Simply awesome awesomeness! The best jam entry!

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 5:16am

I think that this is the best game I've played. You could definitely market this. I loved the graphics. I just wish there were more levels. I would like to see this in a full game. Reminded me of TF2. Great job :)

ahm99 says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 4:19pm

It was so much fun that I had to play again. First time I got 72 but this time it was only 19 soldiers. I DEMAND MORE LEVELS!

Mago says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:37pm

OMG 5/5. just Awesome!

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:02am

My best run:
Money: $107,450
Soldiers: 16

dector says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Grrrrreat!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Damn, dll trouble on my computer, the game is not playable. The graphics and gamplays looks nice, and it's well polished,I like this game, good job ... but I think it's not really on the theme.

JohnnySix says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:32pm

Really fun and chaotic, loved the slow accumulation of the army. An action replay of the final 'win' scenario would be cool as an added bonus when you finally capture the enemy base. :)

farmergnome says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:00am

WINNER. Seriously, its over guys, Mustache Armies takes gold, see ya'll next Ludum Dare.

xploitgames says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:21pm

It took 3 different windows machines before we could get this to work, which is a massive downside for you guys and a real shame for the people who can't stick it out. Luckily we knew it would be worth our while and we were impressed. The theme link is tenuous (really feels like "Death is significant"), but the gameplay is what is really important here. I easily spent 30mins on a single game trying to find the best strategy. It has a great feel and is a lot of fun. Gameplay feedback I think that the past versions of you should possibly take some of the damage as well as inflicting it. It is just as hard to dodge the last attempt as it is the first despite a wall of people being cleared. Such a minor point on an otherwise solid, addictive game. Great job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 1:48am

BEST GAME!!! 15 Soldiers for the Victory!

allinlabs says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:53am

Pretty fun !

Alprog says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:26am

Actually, I did not complete this one. It crashes on my computer at the end of game :(
But anyway it is very exciting gameplay. Epic and fun!

ilo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:48am

Brilliant game! Only downsides were the not allowing WASD movement and one occasion where my bazookas went through the enemy without hitting.

Norritt42 says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:23pm

Grate work!

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:30am

"The program can't start because MSVCR71.dll is missing from your computer." Unfortunately, this means I can't play apparently.

Windows 7 64bit.

SnoringFrog says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:03am

Ok, had to go download the apparently missing dll's and drop them in the folder with the game, but I got it working. And I'm glad I did, definitely was worth playing. One small issue was the apparently infinite range of the rockets from the 800 soldier. It really came in handy, but felt a bit cheap.

noa says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:13am

awesome guys!!

fermcg says ...
Jun 2, 2013 @ 12:39am

Beat it with 3 soldiers (or two as the game says): http://youtu.be/2t6_al4M488

Mikiryrg007 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:12am

как её скачать

Mikiryrg007 says ...
Aug 31, 2013 @ 11:13am

как скачать эту игру

sylvia2160 says ...
Oct 19, 2013 @ 9:37am

пацаны как скачать эту игру

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]