April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

mungeon

by Tokken18 - Jam Entry

mungeon is a minimalist dungeon roguelike! Use the spacebar to attack and arrow keys or wasd to move.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#222Theme(Jam)3.41
#329Graphics(Jam)2.98
#384Overall(Jam)2.85
#397Fun(Jam)2.56
#408Humor(Jam)1.35
#437Mood(Jam)2.40
#471Audio(Jam)1.00
#510Innovation(Jam)2.05

Comments

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:00am

I like the visual style of the game, as well as how the level appears to procedually generate as I travel along. My only concern is with the enemies being able to basically trap you in a corner at times, unless that's intentional :)

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:09am

Nice simple style. Plus I like roguelikes.

Dohan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:34pm

The combat seems to easy (at some points my life bar wasn't decreasing at all) and sometimes I was able to pass over the walls, but I loved the map revealing mechanic.

GranaDa says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:38pm

Nice game. Sometimes I wish I could attack using the key ^^

@Tokken18: Hey, now you can play our game using the web link!!!

hirsch says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:40pm

I have linux and thus cannot play, too. :p
Or is there already a possibility to run Unity Web Player on linux machines?

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Nice roguelike with minimalistic graphics :D. You should add some effect to the attack action.

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:04pm

So much beauty for such simple graphics!

lightsoda says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

Nice attempt, I feel that the biggest thing it's lacking is feedback. You added feedback for getting hurt, but I feel that something for attacking should've been equally important.

TurboDindon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Nice dungeon generation! Maybe a bit too easy.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:32pm

@hirsch Sorry, I looked online and it seems there currently isn't a native Unity Web Player. I havent looked into ports yet but if unity has linux porting maybe I can give it a go.

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Very nice and simple (in a good way!) dungeon crawler :D It would've been great to see an attack animation for feedback but, with only 72 hours, you've fit in all the more important features :D Great job!

fysx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

Very nice visual style.

Are the levels hand-crafted? They seem to be the same whenever I start the game.

GarethIW says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:47pm

It was nice, the game play was fast enough to keep me engaged, but slightly more difficult enemies/attack animation would have been nice. The maze was nicely laid out though, I found myself at a fair few dead ends.

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:49pm

@fysx the levels are static, as in the same ever time. They were randomly generated but not at run-time, so I just put each level into it's own scene. I also hand tweaked them a bit to fix issues or help the layout.

Definitely understand the comments about feedback, couple things fell by the wayside (audio as a whole sadly always seems to get lost).

I took part in two games; this one (a solo endeavor) and a team game (Team Radmars) which can be found here: http://bit.ly/YmAoj4

pl0xz0rz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:26pm

Nice style. However, the game was unplayable for me because of some weird bug. In level two, the enemies get a knockback attack, that can get me stuck inside walls, and even outside of the map.

LTyrosine says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:47am

Liked it. A bit hard to figure it out at first but fun after that. Sounds/Music would help to add mood here and controls need a bit work.

Nice to see a good use of this hard theme at Unity for it fit best in flashy games and alike. So really nice job!

rogueNoodle says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Great map, and I liked the speed of the movement. The acceleration of the character felt a little strange though - like it took too long to get to full speed. Combined coming to a halt on the smallest collisions, the effect was a little jarring. Overall though really excellent entry :)

HuvaaKoodia says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Add a few simple mechanics, like spells and ranged attacks, with enemy variety and maybe even a boss or two and you'll got yourself a fine game.
The gameplay is a tad dry at the moment.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:50pm

I thought I was invincible for a while because killing things meant taking perhaps 0.1% of the lifebar. No new mechanics were introduced as I played, just bigger, more frustrating mazes :L. It really could have benefited from some audio, as well.

yellowlemming says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:13pm

A rather fun game, looks nice and fits the theme well, although I think it would be better if the enemies were more challenging and there was more indication of when there was an attack, such as being able to create an attack when there are no enemies around, making it clear that I was pressing the correct button and giving an idea of the range of attacks.

Tater_hater says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:27pm

how long is it supposed to load?

Erunaamo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:51am

Gliding movement, speedy maze exploration: fun! Combat: pretty dull, not enough feedback. Got bored after a few levels: noticed little or no progression of challenge.

I'd probably enjoy a less minimalist game with this engine.

Typedeaf says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 8:08am

You got a pretty good base here, but it wasn't very challenging and it would have been fun if you were able to maybe, cast some spells or something.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]