April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cyborg Computing Jet Fighting

by lulzfish_4 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Instructions:
Use arrow keys to move, X to fire, P to pause / unpause, and R to restart if you die. These instructions are printed in the command line if you launch it from there, along with other things.

Shift moves you at half speed, this is not very useful.

The game is automatically paused before every level so you can see what enemies you'll be fighting.

Synopsis:

In this game, the player is a blue jet fighter who must shoot the evil red aircraft.

The evil aircraft fire orange bullets that are mysteriously circle-shaped, and the player aircraft fires blue tracer rounds.

There is a tutorial, 2 levels, and a final boss.

The game requires GLEW, Lua 5.2, and Qt 4.8. (Although it may work with Qt 4.6) Box2D is also required, but I think on Debian it's linked in statically.

The Windows port ships with all necessary DLLs.

Game source is here:
https://gitorious.org/cyborgtroy-ld26-jet-fighting/cyborgtroy-ld26-jet-fighting/trees/5f6ca0656d112406700a152b0b167e14b3130110

Engine source is here:
https://gitorious.org/cyborgtroy-colorado/cyborgtroy-colorado/trees/a43b5d08496c51f4d8875b2ca126c48c91bfebfa

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#1032Humor1.47
#1073Audio1.33
#1154Fun2.24
#1159Graphics2.20
#1229Mood1.84
#1288Innovation1.88
#1299Overall2.18
#1315Theme2.32

Comments

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:23am

Use arrow keys to move, X to fire, P to pause / unpause, and R to restart if you die. These instructions are printed in the command line if you launch it from there, along with other things.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:02am

The Linux build might take a bit of punching in the face on this comp to get working (I have Lua 5.1 and GLEW 1.6... at least I have Qt 4.8, otherwise I'd be pissed), so I'll wait until later to try that.

The Windows build works fine in Wine.

whitetigle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:07am

On the windows version it seems I cannot pass a level. I kil the opponent and then it restarts.

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:22am

Not bad! I liked the patterns of the enemy fire. But at least for me (Windows), the game paused before every new level, which was annoying; and 'r' to restart didn't seem to work either.

I see that you've posted the instructions in a comment; it might be helpful for future testers if you edit the submission to include the instructions.

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

If I click with the mouse I can change the rotation of the camera, otherwise I really wanna beat that final boss!!! he keeps killing me

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

Yes, it pauses before every level so you have time to get ready. This is because the enemies spawn in instantly.

Whitetigle: The same opponent in the same place? The one that shoots straight downward? I'll try to look into it.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

Yeah, I was going to take the camera rotation out but I figured I'd leave it in for fun. Resetting will reset the camera.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:38am

The distribution method is awkward and the auto pause on windows makes it seem broken.

Tozy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10am

Don't worry, you'll do better next time. At least you have something playable! :3

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01am

For me the 2nd enemy is actually easier than the first which seems odd. I like how you can use strategy in level 3 because the enemy bullets despawn after a certain distance (circle the group and destroy on that pass). I think it's pretty cool how the ships/everything are in 3d but I'm not sure how you could show it off easily.

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12am

Woo, another bullet hell shooter!

Except this game really doesn't feel that good. The player hitcircle is a LOT larger than I expected, and... P to unpause, R to restart anyone?

It's also too short, and not particularly challenging. Come on, you had Lua by your side, you could have easily crammed more crap into it.

Graphically... meh. Stills look good and the bullets move nicely, but the transitioning is a bit flat, and you really could use the space better.

Overall... I'd love to see you try this one again, but this time do more stuff and make it gel better, and PLEASE, implement a lives system!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

The camera rotation could have been part of the gameplay. Level 3 was madness after 8 min trying I couldn't pass through.

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I am very bad at this :D

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Short but sweet. It's nice that it starts paused but when I died I thought the game crashed because I couldn't do anything for a few seconds :D

Jools64 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

This seemed like a good start to a game but there's really not enough there to be that fun.

The core movement was good and the basic enemies where nice but it was way too easy. I didn't even realize that the final enemy was a boss until I read your post. Un-pausing the game between each level was also quite annoying.

Anyway as I said, good start but needed a bit more. It seems like you had nice foundations but just didn't have enough time to make a full game.

Kudos for what you have managed though, I imagine writing a 3D OpenGL based game takes time.

nseward says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:43pm

Great work. I wish there was more.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08am

I get why you have the pause thing, but the switch between levels is very mechanical. if the pause key was something closer to the firing key (so I didn't have to take my hands off it to press it) that would help.

The idea of a one-at-a-time bullet hell shooter is an interesting one, and could possibly go somewhere. But, alternate possible direction, I thought it was awesome that I could move the camera down and have that 3D view. I also had a strong desire for my plane to start turning and drafting and zipping around the battlefield.

the circle of planes was awesome BTW. A very neat pattern. look at me talking like I know anything about bullethell shooters.

Solid start, just needs some expansion.

(and sounds)

pighead10 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Restarting the entire game if you die once is really annoying. The graphics are very simple (minimalistic I guess...?) and it really needed sound to feel like a proper game.

plash says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Notes:

- I'm a blue jet!
- Okay.. Have to unpause after every level.
- Woah, the right mouse button rotates.
- Argh, R takes you back to the first level. I didn't mean to press that.
- This helicopter is tough.

Things I would change:

- Make the second level more difficult than the first.
- Make the game show a message after a level. Use spacebar to begin the next instead of P. P is too far away from both hands.
- Remove the restart button; if player dies just restart automatically.
- Change the scale of things. Player should be larger, enemy bullets could get smaller.

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:00pm

The version I downloaded is nothing like the screenshots...

It's some sort of 3d world I can pan around in, and the controls you specified don't work. All there is is just 2 3d planes that I can't control.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:19pm

Yay, I made it. A few more levels, and a win screen and this would be pretty sweet. All in all a great and addicting game.

StMatn says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Cool game, but a few more levels would have been nice, since its fun to play. A unpausing-key, which is closer to x (e.g. spacebar) would also have been nice. All in all, its a nice game.

GreaseMonkey says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 9:16am

The fact this scored so awfully just makes me want to punch a kid. Not a kitten. They don't deserve it.

If you want a higher score, make something like this in Unity using the built in collision detection stuff and use random angles all the time and make no damn sense and joing the masses of people who tend to use and like i'm using it here and so on.

If you want a better game, do something like what you did this time around, but pack more in. You get 48 hours. I believe you used 8.

lulzfish_4 says ...
May 27, 2013 @ 1:02am

I agree, GreaseMonkey. I had to rush because I didn't focus on the AI upfront, even though it was the hardest part, and I didn't even think about the different levels and win / lose conditions until some time late in the last day.

But now that I've made a game, I know where the hard parts are. I'll come up with something better for next time.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]