April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Earthglueobia

by bobiniki - Jam Entry

#Controls

WASD/Arrow keys - move
Space - shoot potato
E - eat potato and heal

Biglue - you
Wiglue - winged things that chase you

#How to play

Wiglues chase you and you have to bite a potato and spit it out at the Wiglues ( or eat it to heal if need be). Don't let the Wiglues touch you or you will take some damage. Try to survive and achieve high score. If you find a peeled potato ( looks yellow-ish) you can choose to eat it or shoot it at a Wiglue.
There are 3 end screens. One when you die and the other two depend on your choice.

#About

In the beginning we weren't doing so well. Many things went wrong and it ended a complete wreck. In the last dwindling hours oh of Saturday we just went full retard. This is result. You have been WARNED !!!

#Lore

Earthglueobia

Wiglues are a flying species from Earthglueobia. They have wings, which due to a fault of nature, do not give them flying capabilities. Because of that they cannot migrate and in order to survive harsh weather conditions ( like cold) they wear little blue vests and some boots. They are the only living thing left on Earthglueobia, because they were deemed too cute to be killed and considered an endangered species.

The Biglue on the other hand, is one of a kind. It was a glitch. Its wings evolved down into spikes, feathers turned into scales and it grew weird ass eye things.

But the only resource for food on Earthglueobia are potatos. And the Biglue loves potatos. It also hates Wiglues.

The potatoes actually contain slight DNA and the core essence of this planets inhabitance, but their skin prevents the creatures from absorbing it. There is a slight chance due to cosmic radiation and strock of a luck that a peeled potato will spawn. If the Biglue decides to eat it, it will be cured and turn into a true form Wiglue. But if it spits it out it will spread his mutated DNA and every Wiglue will turn into a Biglue.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness92%
#94Humor(Jam)3.05
#356Fun(Jam)2.69
#364Audio(Jam)2.45
#410Graphics(Jam)2.71
#437Mood(Jam)2.40
#462Innovation(Jam)2.30
#464Overall(Jam)2.61
#515Theme(Jam)2.35

Comments

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

hard to understand

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Very creepy experience! :P good job!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Good graphics and vocals !

Wulo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:46pm

why potatos? :P

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

@Wulo Read the lore xD

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Good graphics, i pretty much enjoyed the mood, but it can be hard to grasp.

kbm0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

This is so much fun! Loving the graphics and most of all the sounds. Really bizarre world, good job! Inspiring!

AlbertoSM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Wow, this game has a really dense background even though the mechanics are so simple! I hope you were aiming for a creepy experience, because if so, you nailed it O_o

metalcan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50pm

Wiglues, bow before your lord Biglue, the rightful ruler of Earthglueobia. Weirdly this is the second potato themed game I've played today, and I like it. Who knew spitting potatoes could be fun?

FaBrito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36pm

It's simple and well executed.
Maybe the wiglues could wander around once the player get far enough, so there wouldn't be a ginourmous line of wiglues behind you after a minute play.
Good mechanic letting the player decide whether to shoot those bastards or heal... ;)

bobiniki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:39pm

@FaBrito Yes I know what you mean. That was my initial idea, but something went wrong making wiglues to walk strange so I removed it. It was probably some problem with the model orientation.

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:21pm

The sound of a pack of Wiglues is strangely terrifying.

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:07pm

It was funning running from the baddies and grabbing a potato to shoot back. Found it more time efficient to just ram into them and then eat potatoes after though...although that didn't help my score :)

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Very fun and aesthetically pleasing. :)

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:35am

I love the creepy sound the wiglues make and the chase is fun. Has some fun potential. It would be great if you could eat and shoot more than one potato at a time though. And possibly make the wings on the Wiglues flap. Nice start!

DustyStylus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:33am

That face is going to haunt me in my dreams. D:

Nice game, but would be good if the enemy's had some sort of effect rather than just disappearing.

tiffi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:14am

really fun game, kind of reminds me of southpark for the n64

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:06am

For some reason I really liked the audio.

donan says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:03pm

Nice 3d style. Really fun game :D

mrexcessive says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Works well, feels very smooth. Good job!

pereubu says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:04pm

damn this game is creepy D:

May 9, 2013 @ 5:44pm

I think the tension of the chase would be enhanced if the field were made smaller; I felt like I had plenty of room to run away. I loved turning around for a moment and then looking back to see that there was a veritable horde on my heels.

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Was pretty fun, but I couldn't find the peeled potato ;_;

FrederickK says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:47pm

pick, turn and throw is boring, but if you hunt is better, hehe.. good game!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]