April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minima

by CagedRat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Blue... does it hate you or love you?

Mouse wheel scrolls if you feel like it, but is not strictly necessary.

If you rate and leave a comment, I'll make a best effort to rate and play your game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#97Mood3.63
#101Theme4.10
#217Audio3.27
#230Humor2.81
#232Graphics3.59
#296Innovation3.45
#427Overall3.29
#807Fun2.71

Comments

dtConfect says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:16am

I like this. Weird and compelling. Is there something to do once... you know...?

robc says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 1:55pm

It's interesting. Unsure what it is - but it's got a rather unique little quality to it.

th3balta says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Weird indeed.

Sonic96PL says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Best LD26 game I've played yet. Nice gfx style.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:48pm

Added some polish and an ending of sorts. You can now play full screen, and easily reset if you get boxed in. I'm calling this done.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:29pm

dtConfect: there is something to do. It's very hard though. It might not even be possible.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Loved the graphics style and I liked the way the blue square talked with the small text. It was cute.

Now, maybe I'm missing something, but to me the gameplay consisted of be bumping around into invisible walls until I had enough visible to lure the blue block in to get stuck on a corner and then I'd hurry in and touch it. Is there something more to it than that?

If not, then I must say, the gameplay is honestly tedious. If I just missed the point, then please ignore what I'm saying here, but I saw no way of determining where the walls may be, so there was no strategy or challenge involved, just a lot of slow, dull maneuvering as I'd constantly get stuck on walls and have to drag myself around them.

I kept playing because I was curious about the blue square and why it was being so coy. Unfortunately, by the time I got to a level where it started following me, the camera had zoomed out so far from me using my bait-and-switch tactic to catch the blue square, I wasn't even able to read what it was saying, sadly.

Keep the aesthetic and concept and use it for something. Unless you're trying to just make an artistic statement about how walls go up between people who like each other or something, which the gameplay would enforce, the game isn't "fun" in any way that I can see.

Please don't take the criticism harshly. I thought it was very neat!

skycardboard says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Found the trick, perhaps: move away. Get blue trapped against a wall, then move in... I kept playing till it moved to the next stage. Then I got boxed in on all sides.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Thanks for the great feedback Cybearg! I had all your thoughts while making it. I made a few tweaks to make it slightly less tedious. The camera was bugged and will now zoom in when Blue starts to follow you.

Skycardboard: boxed in just like in life. amirite?

cmayhem says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:35pm

I really like the minimalist exploration aspect of this game. Best game so far.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

Really nice audio and mood.

Elrobo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36am

I played until the uh task changed and then I wasn't sure what I had to do. I liked the narrative up to that point. Gameplay bordered on frustrating at some points in the density of the barriers, but the text and then changing mood helped.

Scott McBee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Loved the mood, but I agree with Cybearg about the tediousness of the walls.

TaleLore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

Mildly frustrating but decent.

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

Web page: Unity won't load :(

ananasblau says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Excellent execution, didn't leave parts out like so many other minimalism game but added the stuff that's necessary. And it made some development from the first screenshot you posted.

Alec Von Arx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33am

Downloaded OSX version, got it to work... Pretty mysterious, I wish I could "finish" the game to find out the ending. Maybe make it a little more clear once you get to the 'final chase'

Crowbeak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17am

Do you like bread? xD

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:18am

Such a tusundre tease...

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

Words cannot express how much I hate the blue square. It's so cheeky!

I took a while to realize what I was actually supposed to do - catch the blue square in the maze that I'd revealed - but once I did it became a fun puzzle game. Couldn't understand what to do after it started following me, though - just wandered around for a couple of minutes and gave up.
Very atmospheric, and I loved the procedural sounds and maze generation!

netgrind says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:26am

I really liked the color. Not sure if I got to the end or this just happened by random but I ended up trapped with the blue block inside some black lines, I really liked that.

SkyWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40am

I hate blue, i hate the freaking mazes and i hate you CagedRat. And i mean this in a freaking good way. ;) great job.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:54am

Netgrind: that's not the ending, but it should be. And will be if I do anything more with this.

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Another great game that follows the theme well. Makes me wish I'd spent more time on developing a more theme-centric game. Was I the only one who was pissed that the blue square could go right through walls. Damn you blue square!

Hadyn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03am

You certainly fit the theme, but I found the gameplay to be a little too out of my control. There's one basic strategy (get blue against a wall), but otherwise it's just randomly bumping into walls that appear too late for you to avoid them! That, and I have no idea what I'm supposed to do about getting home - I got lost, blue stopped talking, and I gave up =[

Still, it's a quirky idea and the style is great, even if the gameplay feels a little frustrating at times!

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Was the intended strategy to discover an area and lure the blue square into it? That doesn't allow for very much exploration through the pretty procedurally generated land.

But if you're intended to just chase after him, the later levels become a headache of bumping into walls and pretty much relying on RNG to let you catch.

Aesthetically very pleasing (while using minimal shapes and a simple pallete, major points on theme), but game play a little lacking.

Still an enjoyable experience, and one of the better games I've played so far.

Oh also the web version wasn't working, something about calling load outside the main thread.

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:13am

Setting artistic visions aside, those spawning walls aren't very fun at all, they're unavoidable and annoying.

Sorry blue I don't love you that much.

bummzack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Browser version crashes before loading finishes.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:27am

I think I fixed the issue with the browser version. You may need to clear your browser cache to get the latest version. If anyone runs into this again, please post your browser and os.

kewry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:26am

Nice game, love that minimalistic art and how the game tramples your every effort! I have no idea how to deal with th ending though.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:32pm

I'll have to agree with others on here. I liked all the dialog; and I felt like things were going somewhere, but then, uh... I kept looking and looking and looking... and... well, you get the idea. But the mood was fun.

Zampi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

I love it!

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

nice piece of art :)

Waynetron says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:58am

I really liked this. It probably fit the theme better than anything I have played so far.

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:00am

Cool ^^; It's artsy, without beating you over the head with it. Feels like it's missing....something. but it's cute.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:06am

Pretty! The gameplay was kind of frustrating at times, until I learned to just explore a tiny open area and make the square come to me.

It was a little hard to read the text at the end due to the darkness.

*spoiler alert*

---

---

---

---

---

I'll let you know once I've taken the square home, I'm still searching for the place as I write this.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:10am

This is the most abusive relationship I've had with any intelligent shade of blue. Grrrr!

May 2, 2013 @ 11:41am

Nice little exploration game. Really like colors, sounds and use of the theme. Good work.

May 3, 2013 @ 4:04am

I get errors running the web build - "get_insideUnitSphere can only be called from the main thread"

kill0u says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Comment by Gnux:
I really appreciated the way you respected the theme, with originality and simplicity. The minimalist graphism add nonetheless a touch of poetry which gives this game such a peculiar mood.

messiano says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:50am

Very interesting concept, but catching blue was sometimes way too hard (damn walls!). As someone eles said, use the idea for something else, it's very interesting.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:29am

Dreamy one. At some moments it felt unreasonably hard, as I didn't see any logic about the walls appearing out of nowhere. Not bad, anyway. Got to the end (?), and brought the other square to the beginning of the level, but nothing happened.

Also, there's another game entitled "Minima" in this LD26!

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=21295

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:29am

I mean, in this LD, which is #26.

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Excellent, a favourite... very strange, some references to relationships in there! Very clever with very little text and some behaviour in the blue ... I like the way blue follows, a bit, something of a tease ?!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]