April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vineyard Adagio

by Jiggawatt - Jam Entry

A dreamlike zen gardening game with environmental puzzles.

A strange place, yet oddly familiar.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#288Audio(Jam)2.87
#316Innovation(Jam)2.81
#402Theme(Jam)2.87
#405Mood(Jam)2.53
#464Graphics(Jam)2.47
#476Overall(Jam)2.58
#536Fun(Jam)1.93

Comments

bleatingheart says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56am

Eery and interesting. Mouse sensitivity was a bit too intense for me.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59am

Little confusing, but all in all a good game. that start text really needs to be a different color though. Kind of tricky to read

TehSkull says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03am

I'm not sure I really understand what's happening here. Interesting idea, with the bush growing upward to be used as a platform, but not enough of a nudge in the right direction to keep me interested.

Leginar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26am

I was very confused for a while... but I experimented a bit and figured out how to control the bush. I had trouble attaching pieces to the underside of the bush sometimes, and I quickly became stranded on one of the far islands. If the block placement was polished to become more responsive and If it was easier to manipulate the bush quickly, it could become a very enjoyable mechanic.

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I really wish the controls were better, especially the bush/tile placement. The concept seems interesting. A zen garden came to my mind right at the beginning. A tad confusing though, even after spending quite some time on it.

Qaterknan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Way too big mouse sensitivity, but the concept is quite good. Unfortunately, because of graphics, it looked a bit like minecraft.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Hey, thanks for the feedback so far. Keep it coming.

I can already see a few potential improvements (and downright flaws) with this. Some of them because of my limited Unity experience, some because of the typical LD rush mode.

One idea I had is that the collectible cubes could give you hints about manipulating the bush. Maybe the intro text would appear from a cube you get right at the start, and then you'd be informed of different patterns, strategies for keeping the water source alive long enough to reach the far platforms, and such. It'd give both incentive and guidance without harming the spirit of finding things out for yourself.

However, the scope of the game should remain tech demo-ish, even if I made a polished post-LD version. Which I probably will.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:04pm

Nice idea, the theme is well suited. The controls are a bit off, the inertia when you move is really important and the mouse sensitivity is too much. Except those problems, this is a very nice game, very interesting to play.

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09pm

I've tried it twice and I'm afraid I still don't know what's going on here!

The intro text is very hard to read in the default position. Could use some info about what the controls are - first time around I didn't realise I could use ASDW instead of the arrow keys, so had a hard time getting anywhere.

The music is very atmospheric. Great job on that!

tankete says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:02am

Really hard to read the instructions at first. But then I kinda figured it out...I think :)

Loved the mood music.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]