April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Plane View

by Lucas Tiridath - 48 Hour Compo Entry

If you have a moment, why not allow your conciousness to be transferred into a 2D nano particle so that you seek for the valuable shiny particles your employer needs/wants?

The aim of the game is simple. Move to and touch the particle of the type you're shown at the start of each level, whilst avoiding the large round dangerous particles that will kill you. There are only five levels as well. How hard can it be?

The slight snag is that as you are a 2D being, you essentially view the world in 1D, that is, a single line of pixels. If you hadn't guessed yet, that is how this game links to the theme. How much more minimalist can you get that throwing out two of the three spacial dimensions??

You can move around using the arrow keys or WASD. You have two different views on the game (I advise using the top one). See the screenshots for my hand drawn explanation of what the different views in the game are.

This game was written in Dart and deployed to Javascript so it runs in HTML5. It works far and away the best in Chrome so if you have Chrome installed, please use that. I've seen it work in modern versions of Firefox, Opera and IE (I know for a fact it falls over in Safari). However only the Chrome version has sound and due to how much faster it runs, the Chrome version also does collision detections better and gives you a considerably longer field of vision in first person view which will make the game easier.

Anyhow there you have it! I hope you enjoy playing it :). It's been a great weekend as always and I look forwards to trying out all your games over the coming weeks. I'll probably get around to doing a post mortem some time tomorrow in which I'll no doubt have a few things to say about working in Dart (both good and bad!).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#53Innovation4.00
#181Theme3.97
#364Humor2.54
#713Mood2.73
#721Overall3.00
#781Audio2.31
#830Graphics2.68
#980Fun2.50

Comments

jerrre says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

Nice concept, did not fully understand what I was doing tho'

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

Very interesting. A little too hard in the beginning.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13am

Very interesting concept and quite fun once you get the hang of it. It is rather repetive though and soon enough gets boring.
The graphics and audio could use some sprucing up to give it better mood.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

This was a really interesting game to play :) I can see the effort you put into your explanations, the introduction and the game itself. It get's a bit repetitive after a while, but the time I spent wrapping my head around the concept was well spent :)

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34pm

Cool game, I liked the feel and atmosphere even though the sound got annoying pretty fast ;D

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41pm

Cool idea, but a little confusing. Really fits the theme and the concept is very interesting.

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

interesting concept, altho I didn't get very far in the game ;(

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Quite liked it, really clever idea.

Only real problem is that the starting view really is too small. You just have to flail around randomly for the first couple of minutes on every level hoping to hit some other particles.

Also, after a few levels the game stopped responding to W and S, and no clicking on things or tabbing fixed it.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Hey thanks for the comments everyone.

@CMaster: The issue is probably not that the keys are not responding but rather that you simply just can't see that you are moving. The first level is so small that the camera remains static and therefore you appear to be moving about the screen. However as the later levels are larger than the game window, once you get far enough from the sides, the camera will start moving with you to keep to centred. If you keep them held down, you will eventually each and edge.

MartianWatts says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:07am

Very hard to understand

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:31pm

At first I thought "Wtf, how is it possible to find something", but I glad I kept going and eventually it turned out pretty fun :) Great idea.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Wow, this is fantastic! Not that it matters, but I think you got the first-person perspective slightly wrong. What you have is the first person view in a two-dimensional world (dimension one is left <-> right, dimension two is into-screen <-> out-of-screen). The particle in this game would have a single pixel as its first-person view (i.e. the only axis goes "into" the screen). Then, when you team up with other particles, the first person view would get wider.

Nonetheless, this is one of my absolute favorites so far. Nice visuals, nice backstory, well-fitting sound effects - great work!

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:00pm

Good game. Hard to get the little pixel increasing pixels but that really makes a difference.

KunoNoOni says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:42am

That was wickedly interesting. Good use of theme.

vgcharlienash says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Quite hard! But interesting concept. :)

Salamander3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Very original idea, difficult but rewarding gameplay. Found myself several times saying 'jeez, I can't see a god damn thi-THERE IT IS GET IT'. Not sure the first person view helped much though. I enjoyed playing, however.

Per says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Very good idea!
At first I thought that it was to much text but when I understood the idea it was great.

DaveDobson says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:30am

Really interesting idea. I found the bottom (perspective view) pretty hard to use, and I had trouble meeting up with companion particles and widening my field of view. I did enjoy wandering around, although many of my deaths seemed random (although a few times I saw what killed me and tried to run away). For the areas that are bigger than the main screen, it's pretty hard to get your bearings as far as where you are in the world. The backstory/legal disclaimer and your drawings are very fun.

Xanjos says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:10pm

A rather interesting game concept. I like how the 1D view in the bottom acts like some sort of radar.

May 12, 2013 @ 7:50am

Fun and interesting touch to introduce "science" in a game! Was a bit hard to understand that the goal was to find the stuff with spikes rather than avoiding them. Spikes usually are scary in games. :)

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Nice graphics with the energy readings!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]