April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The epicly short adventure

by JaJ - 48 Hour Compo Entry

As a gamer, you want to explore, solve problems, save the world, etc. But what do you do when the character you play wants to do as little as possible?

Arrow keys to walk/ jump
Space to shoot
Notes:
*It is possible to get stuck in walls when going from one room to another, in those cases press "R" to return to the first room.
*There are two endings. To get the full scope, try to get both.
*You cannot save in the html5 version, and the graphics may be slightly blurry depending on the browser

I'll try to port to html5 later, but for now I'm having some problems with sound and random crashing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#29Humor3.82
#45Overall3.93
#49Graphics4.15
#53Mood3.84
#70Fun3.73
#133Audio3.47
#766Innovation2.86
#1075Theme2.93

Comments

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12am

Like I said in the IRC, solid exploration of design theory and a fun game to play.

titi987 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

Soon on Linux ?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30am

Looks cool but can't play it.. I'm on my mac... I'll play it when I get home! ^^

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:31am

Html5, works on linux, right?

SenorDiablo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:38am

fantastic game thanks

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:47am

Really nice Metroidvania. The pixel art is really nice looking and the endings were great. I only managed to get 50/55 blob things though.

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48am

Really loved the graphical style.
Really pleased to be able to move fast as well, given the backtracking involved.

Was able to get over the hill at the second water section, which doesn't move you on to the next screen.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

This game is awesome! I finished both endings, which was awesome. Everything about this game is great! Good job!

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

Nice art, controls feel really good.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:56am

Thanks everyone!

CMaster: Thanks for pointingb that out. Did pressing R to return to the start still work?

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

Nanolotl: There are exactly 5 blobs hidden behind seemingly solid walls. Look for suspicious dents in the rock formations. It's a bit cheap I know, but you only need 45 blobs to get either ending. Find all 55 and your weapon will level up one last time, which makes the final boss super easy (if he wasn't already?)

evelyn-jolli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:59am

good. got 51 green things, idk where the rest are

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

The first time I played I left the planet when I reached the spaceship and I was like:"Seriously? That's all?". I played again and then realised how to continue.

Great game and the graphics are simply amazing.

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

This is really great

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20am

Nice one - great way to spend my post-LD morning ;)

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:39am

@JaJ
Yeah, R worked fine (and thankfully was not far from the start, so not even more backtracking)

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52am

WOOOOOOONDERFULL! Best game I've seen so far!
Everything just fits together perfectly.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Awesome game, well done!

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:42pm

Very nice entry. Like the controls and the graphics very much.

Cranky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45pm

great game, i got stuck in one screen after getting the double jump by going somewhere where I wasn't supposed to and then falling off the screen. Still enjoyed playing alot

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Pretty well done! Bit rough around the edges, but the graphics and sounds were good and the gameplay solid. The option for quick ending was hilarious!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Awesome game! Loved the fact that I could go home any time I wanted! :p The character got stuck behind the first hill in the first water after the ship with the doublejump, that made me sad.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Most thematic so far.

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Thanks everyone.
Yep definately rough around the edges, but I feel much worse I didn't catch the waterpart mistake, as it was very obvious.

I hope you are all using the R button when that happens!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Fun to play and with a brilliant art style. Hand painting each room really paid off! Unfortunately I got stuck and gave up after about 20 minutes but I'll have another go later to see if I can get further. I was able to breath underwater but I never unlocked a longer jump so there were lots of places I still couldn't reach. Anyhow an excellent entry.

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

So. cool.

Dir3kt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

What a lazy avatar :)

sfernald says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Liked this game a lot. Fun platformer. Nice style with graphics. Impressive for javascript game for sure.

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47am

Other than the fact the controls were a little unwieldy and the collisions a little buggy, this was a pretty solid, immersive little game

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:39am

Hooray! I managed to find all 55 blob things!

Ithildin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11am

Beautiful-looking and quite fun (I love Metroidvanias, so I'm a bit biased), one of the best games I've seen on this edition. Great work! :D

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Great game! But there was really no point in choosing to return, I think. Also, I'm missing 7 green things, where are they? And cool boss, but too short (Well, like the game ahah)

JaJ says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Yeah, I hate bosses with too much hp, but I think the boss is a bit too easy now.

The point of returning is getting the good ending, gameplaywise there really is no point, no.

ddionisio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:28pm

Minimalism in terms of how the player wants to play, nice one!

Good art style and an interesting take on the metroidvania pacing, it's a breath of fresh air for sure! I like how the hero is so insistent on leaving the planet :)

Music fits the game well.

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:14pm

Offering the anti-hero and anti-adventure options is a really interesting option! It intrigues enough to continue. The progression of power-ups is really smooth. And dig the casual respawn/reload with retaining your current powers.

jpverkamp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Whee! I win! Oh wait, you mean there's more if I don't answer yes? :)

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:54pm

I really enjoyed this one. The art reminded me of LOOM for some reason. Would love to see this expanded into a full game.

pentaphobe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:51pm

Haha - wow, I chose incorrectly in the [yes/no] and accidentally did a speedrun. Thank goodness there are extra screenshots to hint that there's more, but I had a hefty chuckle when I thought "epicly short" meant 15 seconds or so.

Using 'enter' to skip dialogs took me a little while to discover though, which I guess is oddly stupid of me, I've gotten so used to Z, X or spacebar that I mashed keys quite a lot before trying enter :)

Nice work! Gonna play more

Celticraft49 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

It was really good until I glitched myself off the screen in the first water scene.

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:25am

Great game, fun to play and was hilarious. Graphics weren't very appealing and neither was the sound, but seriously, major props for making an entire metroidvania in 48 hours! I'm definitely impressed, and the ending was shockingly depressing...

iambored2006 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:59am

Awesome game! I especially liked the high gravity controls. It felt like I was controlling a small but heavy character, which is the best! Good job!

messiano says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00am

Best game so far, I got really hooked on this one.

Misael.K says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:16am

Lovely graphics, the faux ending was very funny. Good work!

jerombd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:49am

I totally skipped the easy end and went to the whole adventure :D Nice boos BTW.

acro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Loved the atmosphere, look, great use of the ambient music and sound. Brilliant. Liking the dialogue, too. "Plasma-ier" needs to be in the dictionary! Only thing I didn't like was the really frustrating dialogue box blocking until Enter keyhit every time you fall off, made so much worse by the pillar/spike room before you get plasma hands. Loved the plasma hands, though! Also a bit glitchy with room transitions. Clever use of colours and amazing amount of graphics for a 48h game as well. Overall, really enjoyable. Doesn't have anything to do with the theme, but I'm not complaining! :D

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Above-average content for 48 hours. Gotta love the player-character relationship.

I think there was a double jump bug in the chasm, I needed to jump once on the ledge or the double jump wouldn't activate (reeks of faulty game logic).

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:20am

Being able to end the game almost immediately was pretty funny, as where the character's messages. But having to constantly press return and hear this horrible sound after each death, and the huge inertia / small platforms, and the low framerate/response time and crackling sound of the web version made this game less pleasant to play than it should have been. Nice graphics though.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:47am

Good visuals and atmosphere, dude =)
Really like your art!

AyCe says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:42am

Except for the glitchy movement and stuck in walls on screenchange it was quite nice. Not so minimal for a LD game I'd say ;-)

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:17pm

More like epicly epic adventure. Great job!

Covenant says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:53pm

Loved it! :) The ending at the beginning just made me lol... :)

LTyrosine says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:48pm

WHY ME? haha I wonder how its the sensation of awareness that I could double jump! This game is amazing!! Really amazing work.

May 8, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Beautiful, great job! I only got stuck once, trying to jump over the rock to the right above the water.

hypp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:00am

Very well done!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:05am

This is so far, entirely my favorite game I've played for LD26, and it's the 131st game I've played. It's got heart, it's fun, it has the right level of difficulty, and it's beautiful. It could stand some better sound effects, but that is a really minor complaint when all is considered.

michail says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:47pm

Excellent job! Very tasty, I love the graphics style and mood. Reminds me 'An Untitled Story' a lot, have you played it?

Ozeotropo says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:44am

The ship looks like a nipple!!! (Kind of...)

Mago says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Very good game I really enjoyed playing it

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:36am

controls were a little frustrating -- cool game

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]