Now:
October Challenge 2014
Ends in:
Sat, 01 Nov 2014 00:12:00 UTC

Coming Soon:
Ludum Dare 31
December 5th-8th, 2014
Sat, 06 Dec 2014 01:00:00 UTC

ConstructionPlease excuse the site weirdness. Mike is making and fixing things. Clocks are probably wrong. Colors are place-holder.


Ludum Dare 31:

Ludum Deals

???

 

Recent:

MiniLD #XX


Ludum Dare 26

April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Battery - onzephyr - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Battery is a minimalist game about making sure your gaming device has battery power to keep playing. Very simplistic kinda of meta.
Hope you enjoy playing this simple platformer.

Please use Chrome browser if possible, or you won't see all the effects. Battery has controller support with Chrome as well. "360 controller"

control support for
KBAM = QWERTY="WASD" and AZERTY="ZAQD" along with arrow keys. buttons = k /L reset=R

controller = left-analog or D-pad, with A, B buttons. Back=reset

View onzephyr's journal. | View all entries by onzephyr

Ratings

Coolness88%
#22Overall4.07
#23Fun3.93
#45Innovation4.03
#49Graphics4.15
#57Mood3.81
#93Humor3.46
#210Audio3.29
#283Theme3.84

Comments

drivers99 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07am

That was really cool. One small bug: It keeps beeping after you lose and restart.

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:32am

@drivers99 Thanks for playing. Dang it I Know exactly why that bug is happening. I disabled an event to test something and never turned it back on. Oh Well what can you do. I'll fix it for the jam version I guess. "F5 the page if the audio bugs out" should only happen after the lose screen.

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:57am

Fantastic concept and a really beautiful game. I can imagine you wishing you could do this as a child when your Gameboy batteries ran out.

pansapiens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:10am

Absolutely love the 3D visual effect of the Gameboy. I was about to suggest that the screen color wasn't consistent between levels ... and then the penny dropped. Very smart :)

BigBlackBeard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

Awesome work !

Waynetron says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57am

Loved how the Gameboy rotated. Nice touch

gizmo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58am

flawless!

Orni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

one of my favorites so far!
fantastic idea
the game itself is good as well

Tahooey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:00am

By far one of the Best Games I have played so far SO much fun. Only issue is a lack of replay ability but awesome none the less

Suese says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

How cyberpunk! Small, tight and polished. Liked it.

Mekuri says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:01am

Clever game. Kinda make me want to play on my old gameboy now :-)
Good job.

unclejunkie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:39am

Great concept and overally very fun game!

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:59am

Probably the best one I've seen. Great work!

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02am

I liked how the gameboy or whatever it is rotated when you moved, very cool effects.

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:35am

Awesome idea and execution. I generally tilt my device the way the character is moving as opposed to the other way but that's fairly minor.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:22am

Wow, its nice. Really good game.

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

loved this. funny, difficult, sexy.
10/10

onzephyr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:53pm

Thanks for All the Comments and feedback. It really helps me understand what works and where I can improve. Plus I can show all the comments to my wife. In hopes of validating spending the weekend in front of the computer. /whisper " I think I'm in trouble"

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

Wonderful, just... wonderful! My favorite among the entries I played so far :). Great work!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

This is one of the best games I've played so far. Hope this wins something, very well done!

joekinglake says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

Very nice :-) Hope it does well.

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Excellent stuff - really love the theme, the insane difficulty and the presentation. A really polished entry, well done!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Really nice idea and fresh idea. Didn't know what the mechanic was for until the battery actually started running out. Good intuitive level design. Nice job.

r3d5 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Wow. This game is incredible. Truly amazing work. Nice job!

Yann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Hey neat, very hard, but neat (:

KevinZuhn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:14am

This game sent me into a panic once I realized I was on a timer! Very fast-paced and furious, and satisfying to beat. I like the shaking of the gameboy as you move.

lathomas64 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:21am

This was very interesting. I wasted most of my battery on the first level/title screen without realizing it the first play through though. :(

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:14am

Very fun game. I like the gameboy abstraction as if it were a real gameboy experience!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:50am

Wow, this is such a great idea! The constant persistent part that the battery plays added some really cool connection between the levels! Good use of the theme, too!

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

A perfect little platformer. Feels like a fully complete encapsulated game. Controls and graphics are both really nice, excellent job!

angelk says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27am

Oh man I love this. I got really excited when the LCD started going dim as the battery died. It got hard fast, but that's a good thing for me; skip right to the good stuff. Great job!

wallmasterr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:24am

Realy fun game, has the hard frustration element, the only thin that confides me was that when u get the battery in , it looks like u are dieing. But nice idea for a mechanic and brilliantly exicuted.

Tbaggi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:16am

I love it! :)

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31am

Wow - incredible entry. Great job! Also, I apparently make stupid mistakes when my batteries are running out ;)

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:50pm

What an awesome concept! I love it! :p

Skywilly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Fantastic little game with great visuals !

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:19pm

One of my favorites! Very nicely blends an original idea with classic gameplay.

Mikel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Impressive

deepnight says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Pretty simple gameplay but the overall realization makes it a nice game :)

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36am

Wow, awesome vintage style. This was pretty awesome! Good memories!

starpixie says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53am

This is pretty solid. Nice concept and it's fun!

sparkleswirl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:20am

Really loved the "keep playing to keep playing" idea, and I think you hit the Gameboy style graphics right on the head. Was a little sad the RESET button didn't do anything though.

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23pm

that was so fun! Really really cool game :)

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Nice, now if you could only get a real handheld to act like this, it would be a great practical joke!

IrfanFox says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:46am

It brings back childhood memories. It's not too easy and not too hard, just fine. I love it!

rujo says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:55pm

this is pure style!!
love the game under any possible aspect (maybe a little bit difficult)

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Wow, very cool idea, and fun to play. Well Done =]

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:45am

You should write a tutorial on how to make/render those awesome looking GB sprites, your game gets that look down perfectly!

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:19am

Excellent work! This is really cool, on so many levels! Great presentation, fast gameplay.

aquilicoco says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:00am

Nice game. Love the player.

klianc09 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Really well executed.

infernet89 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Woha, even portals! Very nice platform, and original idea! Good job!

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:47pm

That was awesome. Good game man!

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:32pm

This is one of the best games I have seen in the comp! Incredible gameplay, graphics, animations and effects... WOW

someone says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Wow awesome. Took a few attempts but got there in the end.

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:23pm

Great way to break it out of the typical box. Wish I thought of that!

May 3, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Awesome! Absolutely awesome. Simple concept that engaged the player and granted replayability. Superb quality, well done.

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:22pm

This looks really great. I like the game, but it's quite hard.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:45am

Loved the old gameboy console, I had one just like that :)
Overal great idea, loved the climate of the whole scene as well.
... it was a great age, thanks for reminding me

Sestren says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I love all the little details you put into this game. From the gameboy tilting with you as you move to the shadows under the LCD graphics. The concept of finding batteries in-game to power the game in real life is cool. My only complaint is how harsh the sound is that plays when you beat a level. Minor complaint, though. Great entry, and lots of fun!

May 5, 2013 @ 9:55pm

Wow this is beautiful, I love the atmosphere and the idea. Pretty perfect entry as far as I can see

tompudding says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:24am

Very cool. Polished and a neat twist on the platform genre

May 7, 2013 @ 12:38am

best game ive played so far man..good job :)

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:51pm

This is so terribly clever. The effects as the Gameboy runs out of battery, and the tilt as you move left and right, totally sell it! Extremely well done.

Jeremias says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:57pm

Clever idea. A bit too difficult, the batteries should give more energy as they give currently. I like how the device moves while you move the character.

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:10pm

This was really creative. Loved it =D

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:46pm

Damn, but I just love the way you presented this. Almost had me reaching for the Gameboy gathering dust on the shelf behind me.

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 8:09pm

I like how you're powering the controller by using a battery from inside the game, good job!

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:59pm

Great concept!

Leginar says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:41am

Very clean work. You nailed those screen colours, very nice. The rotating console was an excellent touch. Just the right length to allow the player master all of the mechanics. A true joy to play.

Kvisle says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:43am

I beat it, and I like it!

I really like how the Game Boy tilts when you move around - it reminds me of when I was a kid and introduced my friends to NES. How they handled that controller was weird --

GaTechGrad says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:58am

Neat idea. I like how the Game B... err.. um... hand held gaming device tilts as you press left or right.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:33am

What a fantastic concept! The battery life was a bit too short maybe, but I really enjoyed this entry... congratulations :)

Mago says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:59am

One of the beast game I playd so far. You, my frend, are AWESOME!

mollymus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:34am

Cool game! I LOVE the "A WINNER IS YOU"-ending! Makes me think of my old texas(t84?) and the hidden game in bubble bubble (press x^2 in the menus)! Did this inspire you?:D

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:06am

Really awesome, loved how the gameboy moved left and right. And the graphics set is indeed just like it! Well done indeed!

Zccc says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I really loved the concept :D the only problem is that the platforming felt really tight at points, and I could barely avoid the spikes.

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:12pm

I couldn`t stop playing it after I won. I ended up completing the game without the battery going lower than green. Fantastic work! Oh, what is L for?

Spiridios says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Probably the best platformer I've played this LD, good job.

Jonapulse says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Fun, and the gameboy interface was interesting.

GranaDa says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Amazing graphics and audio! Really fun!

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:10pm

This looks authentic! Jumping to get to and get a battery interested me. If you continue to develop this, rotating the screen distracted me a little.

onzephyr says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:58am

Thanks for All the feedback and comments! I added a short video of the game. And updated the links.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Nice idea, we could continue the concept, with torn of the sound for keep more energy or change the contrast. Great concept.

KevinLaity says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:47am

Wow!

numpad says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:47pm

This is a masterpiece! Loved the idea and graphics! Really great job!

davidpeter says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:21pm

This is the best game I've played this Ludum Dare. Very, very solid.

maloki says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:59am

Interesting concept you have here! Quite nostalgic, too.

The title screen got me stuck for a while until I figured it was a quick intro to the game mechanic. Oops!

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:58pm

A good mood mood game. But now, it's my battery that is low, I'll take a coffee :p.

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Woaaaww, very good ideaaaa. I'm really surprised!
It's a very good entry. Congrats.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]