April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potatosimplificationarmaggedon

by atlantian - 48 Hour Compo Entry

An experiment has gone wrong. Can you fix what you have broken.

Controls WASD, Enter for Dialog, R to reset level.

There are 5 levels

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Humor2.70
#505Theme3.58
#543Innovation3.13
#563Overall3.16
#623Graphics2.94
#835Fun2.68
#862Mood2.58
#931Audio2.00
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

donan says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Really cool idea ^^, jumps are a bit tricky to do while moving camera, but overall its nice + the 3d style matches the ld theme :)

adventureloop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Really cool idea, I couldnt find anything after the brown potato. Awesome entry, it is good to see people working in 3d. Well done Atlantian

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

I couldn't find anything after the first potato :(

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:05pm

good ide

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07pm

good idea

atlantian says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

Thanks for feedback. It's a bit of a puzzle game, there is hints in the dialog. Generally to find the next potato, it has something to do with the colour that has just been unlocked

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Very good !

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Nice idea! I didn't like having to return to the sphere though

atlantian says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50am

@matthias, yeah, its only the first level though, kind of like a tutorial. In the remaining levels, there is no sphere.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:00pm

I really like the art style, and the idea of coloring the world :3 Also, potatoes

vilya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:06pm

The levels seemed a bit repetitive, but I really liked the way the colour fills in as you go.

multikorv says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Cool idea and nicely executed! Really got into the "just one more potato" mood that I've craved for a while. :)

GaTechGrad says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:03am

Reminded me a lot of games like de Blob 2 and Unfinished Swan, where the game starts out blank and you use color to bring life to the world. I couldn't find the potato that fixes flatness. Some background music could have helped set the mood.

bbrown2 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:09am

It's nice that it has a couple full levels, makes it feel more complete, but the levels don't really introduce any concepts not already covered in the tutorial (in particular the level right after the tutorial feels pretty much identical). Good job!

LaceySnr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:20am

Good to see somebody else abusing Unity's primitives like myself :P

Great concept and good fun, the the end of level sound nearly broke my ear drums :)

atlantian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:55am

Thanks for all the feedback. I have learnt lot's from creating the game and the feedback you have given. @LaceySnr, Sorry about your ear drums.

V0ID says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Very nice idea : ) The most theme fitting game that I played by now.
Sadly I experienced a lot of annoying z-fighting. You should create one mesh for the ground and not put a lot of single boxes in a plane. Thats one common and useful method that you should learn about ; )

Monkokio says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:11pm

This game kept impressing me more and more. The first tutorial level was really cute. I was really shocked to find that there was as second level (I thought I had reached the end). The third level was really interesting in a couple of ways, Navigating the super dense buildings with only 2 colors was an neat thing to experience, and jumping over the same set of buildings twice (once before getting grey, and once after) was super charming.
You did a good job!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:01am

Wow this is really good. The only complaint I have is that the mouse sensitivity is too high. That's it! Really fun!

olkeencole says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Nicely done! I can't tell you anything you haven't already done. The mouse is a bit sensitive, and the levels could use a bit more of a surprise element. But this is a superb job. I love your use of the clouds as platforms. It's fun figuring out what I need to do to get to the next potato. I look forward to your next game.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 1:53am

I like the idea, it is creative and works nicely. The game is introduced greatly except for the brown wall. I also love the water texture. There is something awfully wrong with the grass and dirt texture however. You should also capture the mouse and add a sensitivity slider.

Finally, I gave up on level 2 (he second after the intro) because I don't want to repeaat something over and over because I miss a jump. I solved the puzzle, don't make me repeat something over and over again.

Congratulations on making an entry, however!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]