April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimum

by jlm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Something of a cross between a puzzler and a stealth game.

Inspiration came from the idea of a system that didn't work well when too big. I borrowed ideas from deck building games, then tried to emphasize the pain of not planning your hand well. Which in turn is impossible to do if you don't keep your collection very minimal.

Sorry for the lack of music - I'm not a musician and didn't want to ruin it with what would end up being very horrible sound.

Windows and Linux x86_64 binaries provided.
Building from source is easy if you need 32bit linux, single dependency is SDL2 (which you can put the source of into the game's top-level directory and CMake will pick it up.)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#256Innovation3.51
#501Overall3.22
#554Graphics3.03
#572Fun2.97
#624Theme3.47
#725Mood2.72
#991Humor1.62

Comments

kogyblack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13am

Very simple and well done!
Although lacking music (and an quit button), and the collision being, sometimes, imprecise, I liked it xD

Also, I'm waiting to test SDL 2.0 on release.

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

Ah yes... it's actually always imprecise! All approximated bounding box collisions. Never got around to improving it. Probably should have worked on that instead of getting the Windows build.

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:43am

A little hard to figure out what was going on, could use a good introduction.

kogyblack says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:45am

Yeah. 48h is a bit short for improving xD
The quit button issue is caused 'cause the window created is taller than my screen (notebooks..) so I can`t click the quit button..
Anyway, I liked it.. Reading the code right now, `cause I program in SDL 1.2 (most time + OpenGL).

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Huh, a little confusing at the beginning, but it turns out to be pretty great! I love the switching between black and white, the exploration and the way the skill collection is handled / rotated. It's an awesome combination of gameplay elements to create something really fun and unique. Great job!

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

I would have liked to ease players into the mechanics a little gentler by predefining the start position more. And I had great ideas for visual effects and animations that would have helped a lot... 48 hours... little sleep... no OpenGL calls...

Thanks for taking the time to figure it out and glad you enjoyed it!

Arkazon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:11pm

Nice but a little hard to get into - could use some explanation on some of the mechanics and as others have said - the collisions being that imprecise makes it tricky to control.

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

I drew some inspiration from Star Seed Pilgrim in that I wanted it to be a little difficult to figure out. Games feel more rewarding to me that way. Making the effects of your actions more obvious though is definitely something I would have liked more time to do.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:01pm

It took me 10 minutes to figure out what the hell was going on, but once I got it, I enjoyed this game deeply.

jlm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:19pm

@timtipgames That's exactly what I was hoping for! Thanks for sticking with it :)

Zathalos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:23am

Yeah, this game took me like 5 minutes to figure out but once I got it, it was pretty cool. I liked the gameplay concept of collecting only the powers you needed and not all of them. If you collect too many, you have to waste too much power to cycle them. I like the concept but don't like the way it's presented ie. the art. If you changed the art style and made the enemies less unforgiving, you could have something really cool here. Good job.

Trench says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:30am

It could use a set of instructions but other than that, pretty fun!

PiotGuy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Really cool ! Simple and effective =)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:13pm

While the item system sort of confused me, I did have a semi good time with it. I feel differentiating some of the graphics for items and enemies would of made it less confusing sometimes as differentiating them while being chased sometimes was a bit confusing. Still, a fairly unique shooter/survivor concept matched with an interesting take on minimalism.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37pm

Very minimal indeed, though I like the hexagonal styling. I like how small you've kept the file size on this one, too!

manax says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

Interesting game. Agree with other commenter, collision detection could have been better, got "wrongly" killed a couple times. ;)

I was confused by the inventory, took a little while to realize it was cycling through them. I assumed there was another key to control it, which I kept looking for... but now I assume there isn't. Still not quite sure what the timer was for, nor what the green globs were for.

Good concept, with a bit of refining, you'd have something quite fun.

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:13pm

I had a few issues with the collision detection, but apart from that, very nicely done. The world needs more puzzle/stealth games!

IceCliff says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:18am

I really really enjoyed this! It did however need a good tutorial.

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:04am

I enjoyed wandering through the environment and seeing what situations arose. Great hexagon maze and distribution of power-ups and enemies!

f7f5 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 9:35pm

There's some really cool stuff in here, but it's really confusing when you start playing, which can be tricky when you are trying to rate as many games as possible and don't have much free time :)

I also felt I was just wondering around without a purpose. Is there a goal other to survive as long as possible? Very original, nevertheless.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]