April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Islands in a sea of blood

by Andrew - 48 Hour Compo Entry

There is no X in diplomacy: Everything costs its weight in blood! (a double subtitle)

Minimalism simply begs for 4X, those are pretty minimal games already right? Well.. no not really, and that's where the challenge lies. What's at the core of a 4X game? What's the minimum you can get away with? Let's find out!

There is an in-game tutorial, and you have to refresh to start a new game (sorry :( ). If you like 4X games and want to know more there's a detailed guide here: http://goo.gl/eEw56

#################
tl;dr/FAQ - for people in a hurry:
#################

- this is a 4X game(think: master of orion/galciv), the maps are procedural
- the goal is to destroy/conquer the enemy settlements, while making sure yours don't get destroyed/conquered
- keep your settlements down to a MINIMUM, and don't spend all your blood
- you can select enemy settlements to view information about them
- the technology button appears only if you have more than 5 blood on the selected settlement
- lost and/or confused? try the video guide

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#372Humor2.53
#537Innovation3.14
#569Graphics3.00
#626Mood2.80
#816Audio2.25
#940Overall2.81
#1090Fun2.35
#1156Theme2.78
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:49am

I understood the game but I had no idea what I had to do. It was very confusing.

Brian Corr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

This is good! A little hard to figure out what's going on but I think I got the hang of it. I would LOVE keyboard shortcuts, I could see myself playing a lot more if there were (or if there are, tell me what they are).

Definitely an ambitious project!

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:08am

@Morgawr sorry I had falsely assumed that people are familiar with 4X games in general. I'll update the tl;dr section of this page ;)

@Brian Sadly no keyboard controls just yet. But I share your frustration regarding their lack. Will add them in the post compo version.

nicotuason says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:09am

Love the concept, but would be more fun if the game gave the player more feedback. I wasn't sure how many exterminators to send because it doesn't show how much blood enemy cities have

Andrew says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:21am

@nicotuason it does if you select the enemy city

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:25pm

A 4X game in 48h (!), and interesting too :D
Great job :)

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Very cool idea! Impressive terrain generator! Keep up the good work.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

This was a rather complicated experience. I think in my old age I find myself with less & less patience for this sort of thing but that's on me. I liked the map & the rabbit? character.

lathomas64 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

Really impressed that you took on a 4x for Ludum Dare, nice work!

pansapiens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:43am

eXcellent 48hour submission (I don't believe no one has made that pun yet :)). Having the tutorial was good - I never find time to implement an game tutorials for LD entries, so good on you for getting that in there - helps set the tone and doesn't leave the player completely perplexed. The technology menu appeared for me just once and then I never saw it again over several plays - not sure what was going on there. I'd also like a 'bleed dry & destroy' button to prevent accidentally destroying settlements, particularly to prevent it happening in the early game where you only have one ... otherwise it's an instant lose which can be jarring.

Andrew says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14am

@Dark Acre Jack that was the most diplomatic way of being told it's a horrible game ever! :D

@pansapiens there is a bleed dry button in the tech menu, but that only appears if you can actually afford the tech (need 5 blood on the settlement)

martijn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Wall of text in the beginning is kinda annoying

jwolf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:16am

Not bad, interesting take on a 4x, but the end game was extremely tedious. The last enemy city had quite a lead, so I basically ended up passing until I had a small margin (210 to 200) before launching a final attack.

I do like how it forces you to make very deliberate (and careful) use of the options available to you.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:28am

The game definitely goes in the right direction. The gameflow didn't quite feel natural, however.

tcstyle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Ha. I had a very similar idea at the start of this LD. Wasn't sure how minimal a 4x game can be made. Your's is pretty minimal. Good job.
I really like this idea and it was fun to play.

May 9, 2013 @ 2:04pm

Really fun - loved the graphics and the usage of distances! Would've loved if you allowed the player to use exterminate on his own cities and thereby "fill" them with blood - thereby be able to stack border cities with blood. :)

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:01pm

This is an impressive game you managed to do within 48 hours. It had a lot of different aspects to it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]