April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Drug Hunt

by kill0u - Jam Entry

/!\ Warnings:
- This game was developped at 60 FPS and may not be playable on slow computers. Sorry, I noticed too late that HaxePunk had set the default fps to 60, and couldn't modify it any more without breaking the minigames.
- This game may potentially trigger seizures for people with photosensitive epilepsy.


Controls:
- The gameplay is meant to be minimalist: you can only use one action (triggered by ENTER or SPACE).
- I added a sound ON/OFF toggle with M key.


----------

In Drug Hunt, you are a junkie.
Your usual drug dealer will give you your favorite drug (or another one.. he's too high anyway). Take it, and here comes your trip!

You'll have to find out the adequate moment to use the only action your reduced brain could trigger, and get out of your trip before the overdose.


----------
CODE: kill0u | DESIGN: Gnux | MUSIC: LeoL

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#21Humor(Jam)3.78
#32Audio(Jam)3.91
#43Mood(Jam)3.79
#64Fun(Jam)3.57
#84Overall(Jam)3.65
#94Graphics(Jam)3.89
#104Innovation(Jam)3.50
#215Theme(Jam)3.43

Comments

matheod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:37am

Can we have the rules please :p

kill0u says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52am

Rules ? What rules ? Just get high :D
(and use your only action when you feel it's needed -- the lack of explanations is voluntary)

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01am

Really nice ! I loved the audio and the concept.

You could add more drugs if you had the time but it's fun. It took me at least 30 seconds to understand what to do :P.

matheod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:22am

Okay I get It :D

Awesome game :p

tcstyle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:24am

Nice concept. Works pretty well. Sound is good, graphics totally fit the idea. Good work.

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:04am

I'm speechless, I don't know what to say about it. I liked it though, but words are not enough.

Parappa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:13am

Awesome visuals and animation.

Mase says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:16am

A nice perspective on geometric abstraction.

disease says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:32am

Awesome.

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:34am

BRILLIANT! So smooth, so relaxing, so unique, so refreshing. This shit is rad as fuck!

Robotic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:58am

Awesome design, but the animation lacked something.
Loved the colours anyway.

kyyninen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:11am

I won all the drugs!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12am

Nice take on the Wario Ware concept, but you know... drugging it up. The music and sound effects were really neat, which helped.

I think the thing that surprised me most about this entry was just how quickly I started to "get it." The little mini games are so lacking in any kind of context, and there's so little to go on that it's kind of miraculous that the human brain can pick anything out of that mess at all.

Great job!

zitheker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:16am

KillOu, ton jeu déchire. ^^

Il n'y a pas d'instruction, pas de texte, mais on est pris dedans tout de suite. C'est un tourbillon de folie. De plus, meme si je n'ai pas compris tous les mini-jeux, ils sont plus fou les uns que les autres.

C'est un jeu digne du sujet de ce 26 éme LD. Félicitations !!

PS : t'as pris lesquel durant le LD ? :P

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:32am

LOL!... loved it.

daredevildave says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33am

Ace, loved the artwork

mrspeaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:47am

THIS is why god created computer games

Colapsydo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:04am

This seems too realistic for me, my brain's still playing, colors stuck on the eyes.
Audio work is just awesome, 5 stars.

Selliato says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:50am

Génial \o/
A game full of madness, with good sound.
Congrat.

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10am

FUNNNNN.

Love the fucked-up-everything about this (especially the sound!). Gameplay is unclear until you experiment, but once you get the hang of it, it's a solid minigame-spree. <3

namuol says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:13am

FUNNNNN.

Love the fucked-up-everything about this (especially the sound!). Gameplay is unclear until you experiment, but once you get the hang of it, it's a solid minigame-spree. <3

Only real complaint is that it's frustratingly difficult to choose what drug you want to take.

Gnux says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

"Only real complaint is that it's frustratingly difficult to choose what drug you want to take." That's the concept, you're too high to make a clear decision!

bvanschooten says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Very interesting idea, and very good presentation. Sound is some of the best I've heard, but it stopped playing at a certain point. A bug?

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:29pm

After I figured out how to play its really fun! Could not win balancing bad/good meter at the middle for some time. More minigames would make this game less repeatable. Otherwise loved it!

TomboFry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:31pm

What on Earth did I just play?! xD
Pretty good, I don't actually know what to rate down :L

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35am

COOL GAME. was very different from the other entries. kudos for that!

sparkleswirl says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:19am

I don't know if this is what being on drugs is like so I can't speak to the realism in this game, but as a collection of timing / minigames it's superb. It's just so obvious when you should press space! Especially when potato appears.

s0ulcrusher says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

This is fucking nuts and I love it.

raoz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:50pm

Wow, just wow.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

Awesome!

Gravel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:55pm

I guess the best entry I tested so far. Fits perfectly with the theme, the ambiance is awesome and I'm in love with this epilectic graphic design well served by the crazy sounds.

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Sooooo good :D It reminds me when I... hm, wait, no, forget about that...
---
No source ? Too bad, I would have loved see how you did the screen perturbations on the splash screen.

kill0u says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Oh, I forgot to post the sources. The splash screen is a video actually :D

TriBeard says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Hahah, this was great! I didn't get it at first, but after a few failed attempts I picked up. Audio and visuals were both perfect.

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:09pm

help!... well that was intense! really enjoyed but would benefit from some more games and more accuracy on correct hit. Also seemed to get the same couple of games repeatedly. Great audio visual experience though!

onzephyr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:06am

Great game. Looks good. audio is great and playing it oddly put me in a zoned out state . So what's left to say well done.

chowdy says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:32am

I really enjoyed playing this. The visuals are great, and it was a lot of fun once I figured out WTF was going on.

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Totally SICK °_°
I never took any ecstasy, but now I know what it feels like :)

The music is especially adding a lot to the mood!

nSun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I'm torn between two opinions, because I'm not comfortable with the way the subject is treated : To present experinece drug as a "trip or die" game. In a sense, this is a very minimalist view. So it would certainly be consistent with the context of LD.
I love the realization in terms of graphics, animation, music and presentation. On fun and humor, I preferred to abstain from voting.

May 3, 2013 @ 1:34am

Pretty awesome. Simple timing/reaction. Great visuals, mood and audio. I don't do drugs but this is my impression of them :) Funny and well polished.

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:05am

Looks fantastic!

neurochems says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:06am

One of my favourites. Aesthetic is great, and the speed changes make the repetition moot. Great job!

Catman says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:55am

Too me a while to understand, but it was fun after that! I enjoyed the music and the graphics, really weird! :D

bummzack says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:25pm

Great. Kinda cool to discover each "mini-level" (some are really hard). The graphics are psychedelically awesome :)

Zemmi says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:02pm

That was awesome, survived shrooms and blow but the pills are to hardcore for me. Sound was the best I've heard so far and figuring out the mini-games was really intuitive after I got one. Thumbs up, high five, good job.

klianc09 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Awesome drug trip.

jhrrsn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:39pm

This was very strange, and very awesome. Warioware acid-trip goodness!

Zace says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:14am

Just read the the dude above me's description. Warioware on drugs? Yes. Fun in short burst is great.

Jellycakes says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Was pretty intense, I didn't know what was going on even. Nice job really got me interested.

Hayawi says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Nice game, was wierd, gave me a headache :P

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Nice visuals. Took some guesswork to figure out when to press space.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:07am

ummmmm --- welll --- not my kinda thing but i cannot deny that the game is cool, and followed the theme to the core -- nice job

nseward says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:59pm

This is one kick ass one button game. Great job.

Make A Game says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:32pm

Got 408. Not sure if that's ok. xD
It's really fun.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:07pm

@Make A Game: hmm I did ~500.000 last time so I guess it's not much :D

The points earned in each mini-game depend on :
- The ongoing combo. This is the main point here.
- The time. The faster you are, the more points you get.
You get an additional bonus (2000 points if I remember well) when you finish a drug.

kill0u says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Oh, and potatoes are harder to get, but they give 42.666 bonus points ;)

May 8, 2013 @ 9:06pm

I feel strange now... Oo

Ithildin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:22pm

So trippy... @_@

Good job!!

Ditto says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Just played Wario Ware a minute ago, this feels just as fucked up, but with drugs, thanks for the laugh! :D

sfernald says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:02pm

Not as fun as the real thing but still a great game.

vilya says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:50am

Brilliant! Still haven't quite figured out how to tell when to hit space yet, but it's fun & really well made. The sound was a real highlight too!

ethankennerly says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:03am

The line alignment and flower alignment and animations to press SPACE on time gripped my attention. The flashing perturbed me. If you continue to develop this, have you considered attending to the rhythm between trial transitions?

Make A Game says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:09am

@kill0u after your explanation it all made sense, now I'm tripping a lot better. =D

Super Hamster says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:58am

Interesting game and it really made me stay on it for a long time so good job!

Ninja Doggy says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:36am

Well in my opinion it wasn't that fun. 2/10

Patacorow says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:34pm

LOVE IT

dem0 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:43pm

One of the most innovative entries so far. I was really confused first, but soon I got into the right state of mind and began to win :D

donan says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Awesome entry. Loved the gameplay style, the graphics, the humor, everything :D

GranaDa says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:31pm

Nice visual, audio and animations. Really crazy. Good job!

Xanjos says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Insanely trippy but insanely awesome at the same time. The graphics and audio were really well done and matched the mood perfectly.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:24am

Fantastic concept and implementation. However is a hard game and complex to understand how to play. Congratulations anyway!

Adipson says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:48am

psychadeliquement sympa :)

EggDestroyer says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:28am

75444 pts ! Some mini-games are unforgiving and way harder so it seems a bit unfair (mushroom-words-potato thingie is almost impossible), and sometimes it's hard to figure out when to act (pill-drug games mostly).
Apart from that (polish thingies), this is BY FAR the most fucked up entry I've played so far, yet I enjoyed it a lot, as you managed to throw insane things on my face yet kept me entertained for several games. Really an excellent job here guys :D

kill0u says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Thanks :)

@EggDestroyer:
For the words minigame, it is meant to be very difficult, as it gives a great bonus (42.666 points) and is related to potatoes (subtheme) ;)
I agree for some pill-drug games though =/

Madball says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 1:02pm

It was very fun. It`s pure gameplay, nothing else. However, some minigames are harder than others (the potato one, for example). Ended with 300246 score.
Sometimes it`s hard to tell if the game slowed down or it`s lagging.
And I feel a bit dizzy.

rezoner says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:50pm

Soo.... Wario Ware for drug addicts? You ain't need to be epileptic to get seizures from this one... I am freaking love it!

May 11, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Nice, it feels like it could be a great hidden mini-game in Hotline Miami

PsenFilip says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Sweet! I like the "What are you buying?" type of vendor.
I like the minigames and some of them are pretty tricky.
Graphics are pretty funky and it really fits your game. Same for the sfx. Very good mood on there. Couple minutes after playing I can still feel the effects. Haha!

Nice little trip to the LSD universe!

Gnux says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:16pm

Wow thanks SecondDimension! That's the best comment ever!

May 11, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Loved the trippy aesthetics. :D

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:14pm

WarioWare with pot option... hum interesting!

May 11, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Pretty good game. I like the set-up, and the graphics and audio are good, but the gameplay itself didn't hold my attention for that long. Probably a taste thing. Nevertheless, a solid entry.


SPOILER

Very nice way to bring in the potato theme. A point off for misspelling "potato", though. (Or maybe that was the drugs' fault.)

kill0u says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Those damn drugs, uh? ;)

Btw, this game kinda fits your avatar :D

May 11, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Heh, I only noticed the perfection of my avatar for this game after posting.

Now, to drop a liter of Adrenochrome and play this again...

Dir3kt says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:39pm

This is HIGHly brilliant :D Being close to 100 rated games, this one is the best I played so far. Congrats.

derdragon says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:28am

Reminds me a bit of WarioWare

Covenant says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:03am

Very cool concept, the no explanations thing works very well... :)

finefin says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 1:09pm

hahaha what a great game!

pereubu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:35pm

what can i say except this is just one of the best game of this LD D:

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:24pm

I really fell drugged !

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:01am

Nice experience. I love your "start" page.

Taro Omiya says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:20am

Enjoyed this minigame compilation. The lack of instructions actually helped the mood of this game, which I appreciate.

And somehow, I managed to play this game completely straight and seriously. Don't ask me how I did it!

May 14, 2013 @ 7:03am

60,000 points! woo! lol, I really liked it

May 14, 2013 @ 7:32am

298,009 points!

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:34am

took a while to figure out what was happening... but I guess that was the point... once I got in the groove... it was great. Good work.

omaha says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:54am

Some of the audio started to get to me after a couple of rounds. I could only take so many trips...

Brilliant idea.

Roupette says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:01am

*Burp* So fun *Burp* Need water...

ncgames says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:12am

Hey, a fellow minigame collection. I like yours better. Amazing.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 7:28am

This game is fucking great! I laughed a ton. "I think I'm a carrot..." Great job!

guardiancs says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 2:55pm

My favorite game so far :)

Gremlin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:13am

OK, that's...trippy.

Puccini says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Great audio!

Nsmurf says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:05am

How long does this take to load?
I'm stuck at that stupid "HaxePunk" screen, and have been for ages.

Gungnir says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:58am

Brilliant! Once you sync up with it. Great visual design.

echa says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:20am

Awesome!

May 18, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Need some sound/music and it would be perfect ^^

May 18, 2013 @ 10:24pm

@Jacques le lezard: Is there anything wrong with your sound system? Because there is.

dick_claus says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:17am

Wicked :)

Sebastian says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Awesome, I enjoyed the lack of instructions.

marnaouf says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:46pm

cool game

dalbinblue says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:32pm

This game oozes style, the sound work is amazing, and while some of the puzzles are really difficult to follow, it helps to add tension to the game and get you worked up in just the right way. The puzzles do get repetitive, and I would suggest variations on each individual one (where for a given scene you didn't have to press action at the same point each time) as it would make player think more before acting.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: using cached page]