April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MiniMon

by OneMoreGo - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalist Mondrian, based on Mondrian paintings - clear the colours by matching.
Tested in Chrome and Firefox, uses WebGL so requires some 3D capability.
Only used open source (three.js + buzz) javascript and ogg files from freesound.org. Since it is all javascript I have given the same URL for source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#381Innovation3.35
#533Theme3.56
#569Graphics3.00
#984Audio1.87
#1018Overall2.71
#1154Fun2.24
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:47am

Interesting idea! I was initially confused because I was expecting FPS style point and click aiming instead of always targeting what you are standing on.

I think it is too difficult to tell very similar colours apart (when they are just a little darker than another) and it'd be better if you'd used a few more hues than the blue and green. Perhaps it's not straightforward to implement but it would look much better if some of the grid cells were joined to make the cells have different alignments like in the real paintings.

OneMoreGo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:22am

Thanks so much for your comments, I agree with them all.

I did intend to have it select what you aim at but I sadly ran out of time to fix that.

Per says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Nice visuals. A little confusing gameplay at start.
Well done!

mrexcessive says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:34pm

The colour matching can be gamed (I think) by just clicking repeatedly until tile you are on vanishes, then move to next. nice usability though and slick presentation.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:40pm

Sorry but I just can't figure out what I'm supposed to do in this game (I have carefully read the instructions). Maybe this game would be improved if the gameplay was a bit more intuitive.

inko says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Quite interesting! Took me while to figure it out but once I got the controls and concept it felt pretty natural! I think it could use some more polishing but I enjoyed it quite a bit and it definitely fits the theme. Good job and grats on finishing :)

MrBlade says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:43pm

Cool idea! Sounds were loud, and sort of annoying. :P I like the idea and I see potential in your work.

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Fun, but really really short

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]