April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

esfiera

by jukimv1986 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is not a game.

This is a story of a circle, esfiera, the journey of its simple life.


esfiera contains:

- about 5 minutes of gameplay
- no sound
- minimalistic animations
- 2 different endings, one open and another closing (read the text carefully)
- life-changing phrases

Feedback would be greatly appreciated :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#95Theme4.11
#135Mood3.54
#224Innovation3.57
#416Overall3.30
#515Graphics3.08
#1101Fun2.32
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Duolasa says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:38pm

Could really use some slow music, but overall I liked the experience

nilstastic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:44pm

Pros: Very moody and unlike anything i've seen so far. Liked the mechanics and the story as well. =)
Cons: The ball seemed to be spinning in the wrong direction when the gravity is flipped. *argh*

avidgamerNino says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I think I got the depressing ending, Innovation is there, Theme is there. I didnt have any Fun though...

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:53pm

I'm not really sure if this is a game, but it's definitely cool!

free_napalm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:59pm

This was quite strange yet boring, so I did not bother to find another ending. Definitely minimalist though.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Really nice work. It plays with the player's expectations in innovative ways.

Christian S. says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

Simple but effective!

ataxkt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:28pm

Really nice! Certainly minimal, the story was really good.

fishbrain says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Superb mood and feel, a nicely minimal adventure.

matheod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Ahah, the sort of thing I like ;)

pjchardt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Nice idea. I imagine there are so many different directions to take your mechanics and presentation. I hope you investigate it further.

cmjd says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:06pm

It's a pretty cool experience, it could have used a bit of music, but it was interesting regardless.

PaulSB says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Interesting concept! Wish there was a bit more to it, and audio would help the mood lots, but I like that you're trying something with a message!

bobiniki says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Really great game. Reminds me of Antichamber for some reason. I really enjoyed it.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:08pm

Awesome, the game just kept going and throwing new stuff at me all the time. Great implementation and a very unique experience!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]