April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Prism

by Tapestry - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my second Ludum Dare entry.
Unfortunately, I did not have enough time to make music. (again.)
Besides that, things went way better compared to my last entry. I'm not entirely satisfied with the result, but I'm glad I made it anyway.

Game controls:
WASD to move
M to mute sound


---Edit:
I'm uploading a different version of the game, because someone was not able to run the game. I've had the same issues with my .jar games in the past, and I'm hoping this will fix it. I also added the arrow keys to move. These are the only changes this version has.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#713Innovation2.93
#807Fun2.71
#946Theme3.11
#985Audio1.86
#1018Overall2.71
#1057Humor1.33
#1125Mood2.21
#1150Graphics2.21
#1316Coolness47%

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:44am

Doesn't run for me, I double click the .jar and nothing happens

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Sorry to hear that. I have tested it on three computers and the game runs on all three of them. Are you sure you have the latest java version on your computer?

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:11pm

I uploaded a different version (Windows-fix).
If the Windows link is not working for some of you, try downloading the Windows-fix version. Don't forget to extract the rar contents before running the prism-post.jar
Sorry for the incovenience. :(

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice twist on the snake genre - to the person having problems, try going into command prompt and using java -jar <filename>

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:10pm

Hmm, the controls are a bit off from regular Snake.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:12pm

It was a really cool take on the very minimalist game of snake, in that you added the color (which makes the objective harder to accomplish) and that you gave the player a choice in what to pick up (2 or more pickups instead of just the one).

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:16pm

An interesting snake variant. I have to say this is way more fun than the standard snake game!

eShredder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:21pm

The first windows link worked fine for me.
Graphics stay true to the theme, minimalism.
The twist of the good ol' classic Snake was fun and kept me playing for a time.
Although, I did found some issues.
1) If you turn around too quickly you turn into yourself and lose.
2) The stones(?) would appear in inconvenient places. Eg, under the tail and in the boxes.
Overall. Twas a good, fun game.

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45pm

@eShredder: I'm aware about these two bugs. Unfortunately, I did not have enough time to try to find a way around them.
Thank you for the input people, really appreciate it.

Hertzila says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Pretty interesting twist with snake-games. Controls pretty fluidly too, although a couple of times my snake tried to turn backwards and died instantly.

orange08 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

Nice idea. You should have enabled the use of arrow keys instead of WASD-only, though.

Sanguine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:02pm

Cool innovative idea, I liked the idea, but maybe the levels should be slightly shorter so it is not that frustrating to die.

May 1, 2013 @ 11:44am

I don't know if I'm missing something here, but it played like a regular Snake-clone :S

EggDestroyer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:30pm

A bit hard too early imo, and I was a bit confused about how the color mixes work. Also I think the color rhombuses-thingies shouldn't appear on the snake (they're behind him and you can't see them). Otherwise, well made, more interesting that the regular snake and fun :)

mikeware says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:34am

Interesting take on the traditional snake. Took a second to notice the twist. Think it could benefit from a bit tighter control, seemed like there was a tiny bit of lag when pressing keys and seeing movement. Also, progressively increasing the snake speed and starting with fewer prisms to fill would be good. Also, was tough when I needed a final color and had to just spin around to collect/dump colors until the one I needed was there. Similarly, it was weird when I had no color that I would erase my previously saved colors.

Yakka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:59pm

Interesting concept.

Diamonde says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:53pm

This was too hard for me, but I liked the concept alot!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 8:47pm

Interresting idea, good work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]