April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

ZIN

by henrykun - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Language: Haxe
Framework: NME
Tools: Inkscape, sfx
Sounds: sfx and freesounds
Soundtrack; Tokyo Street by airtone (dig cc mixter) under the Creative Commons license

The goal of the game is to make the creature live in a minimalistic way. The creature has to eat in order to survive but if it eats a lot, will be larger and easier to be damaged. In addition there are "achievements", I really didn't know how to call them. They represent greed, you don't really need them but they give you points and challenge, the more you try to pick, the easier to be damaged.

If you want to complete the game, you should survive with only one piece. At least that's what I tried to do. Sometimes I completed the game with two or three, but at the end it's difficult, so if you get there you'll probably win.

Thank you very much for playing it and I apreciate your comments :).

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness82%
#55Theme4.21
#79Audio3.66
#80Fun3.69
#102Overall3.77
#115Mood3.58
#232Graphics3.59
#411Innovation3.30
#557Humor2.22

Comments

Colorvade says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

An inspiring kind of simplicity, very cool!

Yezu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Simple, elegant. Thumbs up :)

Loren says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:49am

very nice style and audio!

Yozz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22am

Five for the minimalism theme :)

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

Scored 1120! The soft music doesn't prepare you for how hard it gets :) This is really cool, nice work!

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

Nice game. I like the way you get introduced to the mechanics.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56am

Lovely ! The game wouldn't be as good without the catchy tune ! Great work, perfect fit for the theme.

Zekyon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57am

Was funny and very minimalism :)

juaxix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:58am

It is nice to see a game which follows simple rules of gamification, and yet another game using the same music and sfx as me :)

OysterKLAN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:01am

Nice. I like the whole mood of the game. I do find that the sound effects don't go with the great music or the rest of the game, but besides that, cool.

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Very well done and fun to play. Nice work!

vladimirdlc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nice, classic and and the same time innovative, with time it gets hectic.

donan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Graphics are delicious :D. Really nice art.

hgouveia says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Love it!, is like a modern Snake! but better

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:54am

This is beautiful.

DNA Yarn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:35am

Nice mood and decently fun. I would echo the comment about the sound effects. They take away from the overall effect.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43am

Very well done! Solid mechanics, good execution, and great sound design! Have played about 5 times so far :)

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

A brilliant combination of style, simplicity and fun.

gmaker says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:48pm

nice

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Cool, good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:11pm

It got quite hectic at the end. Reminded me of worm + Flow. Really nice job.

Doublecaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

This game was lots of fun. Sadly the web version didn't fit in my screen not even with fullscreen.

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

I'm sorry I posted my link on Doublecaster's comments, here is his link: http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=8935 it's a very good game.

Doublecaster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Thanks for the lower resolution. I played it again and now I got score of 1490 last time it was around 1000 :D

henrykun says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:51pm

thank you for playing it and im very sorry for the troubles

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:47am

Very good game, graphics simple and beautiful, great potential!

Ragzouken says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:16am

Really lovely sound.

Kimau says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:09pm

Very elegant and a brilliant introduction and mood. A little hard but a nice challenge.

May 5, 2013 @ 5:11pm

I like because we have the same idea but we have done an other game mouarf:) the theme minimalism is respected ... good job

May 6, 2013 @ 5:51am

You did a great job!

ethankennerly says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Great introduction to a novel game! The instructions made me feel content. The falling blocks got me to start moving my mouse purposefully. I was engaged while dodging and eating, and noticing the impending accumulation of blocks at the bottom of the screen.

Puccini says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:42pm

A cool game!

gerritg says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:13pm

Wow, nice one. Loved it!

rubna says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:13am

AWESOME

May 20, 2013 @ 8:26am

This is lovely! The tutorial is great, and I like how the game ramps up afterwards :)

May 20, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Really well done, gets crazy hard when the stuff just speeds up and your creature is long, making it essentially luck based not to get hit, but I managed to beat it. I liked this, nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]