April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Shadows

by KevinWorkman - Jam Entry

I'm entering this into the jam because I used public domain sounds and music from freesound.

The game is (hopefully) a creepy, atmospheric, minimalistic recreation of what it's like to suffer from insomnia and see shadow people (which are a real phenomenon, check out the description at the game's homepage!).

---

You suffer from severe insomnia.
You close your eyes, but the shadows come.
You hear them as they scuttle.. closer.

Open your eyes and the shadows fade.
Keep them closed and be devoured.

Fall asleep to escape this waking nightmare.
(Defeat 14 shadows to win)


Controls: Press the correct key when prompted. Do so quickly, or the shadows will devour you.
M to mute, but I highly recommend keeping the sound on.

Thanks for playing!

(And yes, there is a potato in this game!)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#104Mood(Jam)3.53
#175Innovation(Jam)3.28
#204Audio(Jam)3.11
#283Theme(Jam)3.22
#340Overall(Jam)2.94
#341Graphics(Jam)2.94
#470Fun(Jam)2.29
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

Jonny D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:01pm

Yeah, pretty creepy. Did I just play a typing tutor? :) Well, the last couple of shadows are tough and you have to press a lot of buttons to close your eyes each time, which gets annoying. At least button mashing works!

Hayawi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:24pm

Nice game, and although horror games are not my cup of tea, this was a nice change from platformers

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Good game! Scary! Kind of annoying when you have to restart all over. But that fits the game so don't change it. I did only manged to get to 3. Very innovative.

magnpeas says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:58pm

Niiiiice and spooky!

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Interesting idea. If you could host it in a way that didn't require installing multiple files that would be even better. Thank you for sharing!

May 2, 2013 @ 5:43am

My one suggestion would be that it would have been even better if the room had some decorations, nooks, or crannies such that the shadow creatures could be plausibly interpreted by a mind in dream-state from the arrangement of objects.

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Concept is really interesting. Creepy indeed, but I think you should add some more scary sounds :)

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:37pm

The last two shadows are very difficult.
It'd put less of them in total, I got very sleepy through the first part of the game :P

RawBits says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I love this one! The graphics are bad on my card and I'm a bad typer though. :)

Insomnia is the best thing a programmer can get from life!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]