April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cornelis

by cakemonitor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cornelis is an action platformer which takes place across the canvas of paintings made in the style of Piet Mondrian.

No installation or unzipping is required; there's just one file which is double-clicked to launch the game (though Linux users might need to launch it with the command: "java -jar cornelis.jar").

The game was developed in Eclipse using libGDX
Music was generated with AUTOTRACKER-C
Sound effects were made using BFXR
Sprites were drawn in paint.net
The font is Existence designed by Yeah Noah

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness53%
#69Theme4.16
#231Innovation3.56
#285Audio3.15
#532Overall3.19
#539Mood2.90
#625Fun2.91
#853Graphics2.66

Comments

Zaszx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

Nice one :) I think it could be better with some enemies shooting at the player, or maybe erasing some painted places to make the player fall down. Still, very nice game.

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04pm

I like it. But if I press arrow and x at the same time, becomes very easy. Music is cool.

Mikel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Nice. Funny and clever use of the theme. Would have keep me player longer with some kind of waves, being able to complete a level... pause and start again

May 1, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Innovative concept... a game that is easy to complete, but very difficult to get a high score. I like it!

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:36pm

neat idea. however i felt the game was much too easy and a little short. but solid entry nonetheless !

gameXcore says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Very clever, it needed a bigger deal making of the "Paint as little as possible", I missed that my first few goes and as a result didn't see the point of the game.

kurrik says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:59am

I too, missed the "paint as little of the canvas as possible" instruction until I saw the % of canvas painted score at the end. Would be good to highlight that more. I really liked the idea though - having to plot a map through the level and then actualize it with paint is very satisfying.

alts says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:17am

Interesting game. I littered the score board a bit, sorry about that. At first I thought it only put up one score per person. I like encouraging the player to alter as little as possible. The score balancing could use a bit of tweaking.

dremelofdeath says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:24am

Ha, I love it! Very fun, interesting use of the theme! Great work. (Also, I got a high score!) :D

kibertoad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:28pm

Nice idea, although game is too easy.

StMatn says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:35pm

Very cool mechanics. I dont really see the point in actively trying to collect thode coins. Graphics look quite nice and the theme has been implemented very nicely. Great work!

Tapestry says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:31am

Liked the concept and the music!

May 8, 2013 @ 5:34pm

My name is almost the same and my graphic style is almost the same. Nice job.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:34pm

Fun little game, well done!

Siewart says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 2:29pm

Easy to learn, hard to master!

Herku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:36pm

Nice game and great idea. One thing for the controls: On my keyboard the "Z" is next to the "T" which means that next to the "X" there is the "Y". You get the point, don't you. Not a big problem but keep that in mind the next time :D

EggDestroyer says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:39pm

More explainations on the outcomes (% of the painting painted ? coins ? time ? How to improve my score between those parameters ?) could help a lot to appreciate the full potential of the game faster. Still, fun mechanic, quite innovative, and good atmosphere. Thanks !

nathanj439 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:04pm

Really neat idea and gameplay. Music was good too. Simple but fun.

Zccc says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Great game, it has a simple premise that makes it fun to jump around squares :) I couldn't insert my score, sadly...

acro says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Very clever idea, and very good use of that minimalist painting pattern. I'm intrigued by the fact that many commenters said it was 'too easy'. I read the instruction about high scoring, so was keeping ledges to a minimum, and I found it frustratingly difficult! I rage-quit after about the 10th attempt to get past level 1. For some reason I kept trying to collect the circles near the bottom, where falling off is almost guaranteed if you've fallen from a great height and the nearest segment is very short. I'm scoring this high for innovation. Great entry, well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]