April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini-gun

by pragma - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first LD48 entry. It's a top down survival game.

You navigate by using the WASD keys. Click with the mouse to shoot at enemies. Try to survive as long as possible.

Made with: Haxe, Photoshop, FL Studio, bfxr and coffee!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Audio3.17
#637Fun2.90
#694Theme3.40
#861Overall2.89
#880Mood2.56
#973Graphics2.50
#1225Innovation2.06
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:11am

Simple game but not boring, actually very fun. ++ for Haxe Flixel.

tcstyle says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:31am

Pretty solid game for your first entry. The shooting seems a little buggy with changing distance.

Hatscat says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Little bug, but good game.
I like the music, sounds and mood.

Thijsku says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:11pm

I like the simple style. It's a fun game to play! Good job. :)

There are some bugs with the shooting and perhaps adding power-ups would be a good idea to make the gameplay more interesting.

Sebastian says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Nice, but there is a bug where if you hold down shoot with the crosshairs beyond your max shooting range and then move your cube close to the crosshairs, your max range seems to get set to the min distance between your cube and crosshairs in that time. Or something like that. Just thought I should point it out.

pragma says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:33pm

Ah! Great catch. I didn't notice that one. I think the bug is present because I hard coded some values, so it appears only when you play fullscreen in the flash version.

Teejay5 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:18am

Not sure if it's a bug or not, but if you hug the walls, an enemy usually spawns right on top of you, killing you instantly.

pragma says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:43pm

It's not a bug, enemies spawn randomly from the walls. A good strategy is to stay in the middle and use the fresh "bodies" as a shield against the horde.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:45pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]