April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Grasshopper

by Puffi - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Grasshopper is a tiny little game (minimalistic one might say!) in which you have to guide a strange little green critter as far as you can. Only thing you can do to help is to reverse the physics of the world, but beware colliding with a wall or sinister looking red tiles might hurt the little fella.

The game really focused on the theme in the gameplay.
There is only 1 button in the whole game.
Thats it, all you can (and have to) do is press space in just the right time.

I created the game using Lua and Love2d neither of which I had real prior experience on, so it definitely was a learning experience.
(which also explains the fairly weird code conventions and in general, weird code :P)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness57%
#529Humor2.25
#595Fun2.94
#635Audio2.56
#706Graphics2.84
#835Overall2.91
#913Mood2.52
#933Theme3.13
#1213Innovation2.09

Comments

Branch says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 10:54pm

doesnt work on my os. could you port it to ms-dos 6.40? :(

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Maybe it is an idea that instead of instantly killing the player, each mistake pushes the player to the left until you hit the left edge of the screen and then you die.

DreamThorn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:16pm

Turns out love.exe is not a valid Win32 application.

I'm on Windows XP.

techmonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

Great execution of a time gravity switching concept. Sticking to the theme with a simple but complete graphic design and single key to play.

Works fine on windows 7 (I have enough love to go around)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

I like it, it's quite difficult, and I didn't manage to beat it, but what I played was pretty fun.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:18pm

I... I don't suck :(

JaJ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21pm

The long vertical formation is pretty mean. Other than that it's a great little one button game. But I do feel I've seen this mechanic before.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:24pm

Good job considering it was your first time with the tech.

Puffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Hi and thank you very much for all the comments!

@Branch
Maybe you should get OS from this century =) you do realize that there's completely free ones available right?

@DreamThorn
That seems odd, I've got no slightest clue what could've caused that. I've heard that Love2d has some issues with older graphics cards, but why would windows claim its not valid application I don't know =S

@Merkoth
I'm sure you don't the game is just being mean

TheChris says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Pretty fun game. Feels pretty good, but gets a little repetitive.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Fun little single-button platformer. I liked the overall feel of it; great work! :)

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Fun, simple game. Not a fan of being told that "I suck", especially when I got a whopping 1989.

Nicely done. +1 for LOVE :)

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:27pm

very fun little game. I have a few criticisms. I wish I could change gravity in the middle of a change, so that I could kind of float in the middle. Also, it seemed like after a while the same tiles just kind of repeat, and the game doesn't speed up or anything, so it never really got any more difficult once you learned how to deal with those tiles. Not really sure what the point of having hearts are because it seemed like everything killed me instantly haha

Music was nice, just long enough not to be too repetitive and annoying, and fit the mood pretty well. The character animation was cute, I liked it. Pretty good use of the theme, and although the concept isn't super original, it was still a lot of fun. Overall, enjoyed this entry a lot. Good job.

geckojsc says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:32pm

Nice little game. Fits in with the theme well, runs smoothly, and the graphics are decent (although the font seems to be scaled strangely) and the sound is nice too.
As was mentioned above, it got a bit repetitive - maybe it would have been cool to increase the difficulty and variety of challenges that appear as the player travels a further distance? Well done though! :)

Puffi says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:45am

Thank you very much for the comments

@tankete
"Not a fan of being told that "I suck", especially when I got a whopping 1989. "
Yeah the game is bit mean, there's 5 different responses depending on the score.
<5k - you suck
<10k - such a baddie
<15k - pretty meh
<25k - wuts the big whoop!?
+25k - get a life, srs!

So there really isn't a way to get a nice response :)

@Fritzendugan

"it seemed like after a while the same tiles just kind of repeat"
Yes, there's 4 different (+1 for start) "rooms" (50 tiles wide each) that are randomly picked on the fly to make the map "infinite"

"and the game doesn't speed up or anything"
Actually the character movement does speed up, but it is very subtle. Last LD biggest complaint I got for my game was that it was way too difficult so I tried to keep this one easier :)

"Not really sure what the point of having hearts are because it seemed like everything killed me instantly haha"
The player looses hearts from the red tiles so you can take a few hits from them without dying.

@geckojsc
"maybe it would have been cool to increase the difficulty and variety of challenges that appear as the player travels a further distance?"
This was something I had planned on as one of the things to expand on if the time & motivation would permit, but never got around to it :)


Thank you all for the comments once again, really appreciate them!

May 5, 2013 @ 1:11am

scrolling was a bit jerky - wallclock vs. framerate interactions?

Nonameghost says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:56am

Nice! Awesome one-button game. Difficulty was well paced.

alts says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:39am

Nice work for your first time with LOVE. The mechanic isn't very novel, but you executed it well here. Besides some occasional visual glitches the game feels very complete. I think you might even benefit from removing the red tiles, and instead make them pits. Makes the game more "minimal" in the sense that it is decluttered, and I'd argue that the red tiles don't add much anyway. I appreciate the gentle ramp up. I think it's just enough so that the player can get into a groove, but is still capable of making a mistake. Good job.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]