April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blink, a minimalist perception

by dray - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Blink is a plateformer where the level is shown only 2 seconds , after you will have to travel to the blue door using your memory and the ghost of your previous death.

Controls : Arrow left and right or A and D to move, space to jump, twice to double jump.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#198Fun3.44
#274Innovation3.48
#369Overall3.36
#389Humor2.50
#492Theme3.60
#606Mood2.82
#839Audio2.21
#865Graphics2.64
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

mkpictures says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I loved this one :D Jumps are a bit weird, but it's ok. I also liked the "dead flag" to remember where the danger is :D
Nice game by the way! Good work

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:20pm

Very nice, great concept also !
good idea to leave the skull face when you die :)

Rastagong says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:24pm

Great idea, great gameplay. :)

Colisan says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:46pm

224 seconds to level 14, yeaheah :D
In my opinion, the double jump is not a good idea... if you double-tape space very quick, you can jump exessively high...

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18pm

Excellent ! Very fun & original gameplay.

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

The light+death blocks are a great combination, the jump falling accel is a bit dodgy though (floaty).

Gravel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Great idea. The skull signs are helpful.
Maybe a sound feedback when the avatar touches down on a platform could add some fun and improve the perception of what happens?
Nice work!

Nonameghost says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:43am

Nice! I had fun, but the smoke is really unfair. I'd suggest having a steam sound or something when the smoke is on, so at least you can get the timing right. Other than that, I thought it was fantastic! Nice work!

alexanderm006 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:45am

Simply, but innovative and fun! :)

tankete says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:48am

I really liked the concept. I'd like a few more audio clues that things are/aren't going well.

Not as fast as some, but 305 ain't bad! :)

messiano says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:49am

Very fun platformer, the skull can help a lot. I think I'm very visual, I could remember most of the map hehe.

Lythom says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Hi, here's some feedback !
What I loved :
- game design / difficulty (it's hard when you start then converge toward player level thanks to dead flags, very clever design to make the game challenging/accessible for any player skill !)
- new features when going forward in levels (spikes, fire)
What imo could be improved :
- art(even for minimalism, something more stylish/artistic could be considered for graphisms, sounds are clean but basic and could converge to the choosen art style)
- collision bugs (tune your engine for the next LD ;) )

very good overall, I had a lot of fun, thanks for the game !

ben657 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:29pm

Awesome game! Potato!

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Nice idea ;) I had the impression I could cheat on most levels by just double-jumping over everything, and then came the spikes... ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]