April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Space Captant

by Norgg - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Travelling with urgent supplies from the Potato Zone, the Space Captant makes a mistake.

An exploration game featuring an extremely accurate simulation of potatoes in space.

Things which aren't intentionally confusing:
The arrow shows your velocity, not where you're meant to go.
The objective involves bringing things home.

Made with Haxe, NME and Nape.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#100Innovation3.82
#106Humor3.36
#179Mood3.42
#261Fun3.33
#283Overall3.45
#443Audio2.88
#571Theme3.52
#596Graphics2.98

Comments

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:34am

OMG! Star Potato :-0

Great game! Loved the fact that you can interact with the surface of each potato :P

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:48am

Though the goals of the game are not very clear, i i found that going crashing to planets ( potatoes?planetoes maybe) and starting to eat them is hilarious :D you should explain the game controls a bit more, but i liked it! cool work :D

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Love it. Feels good to bash my spaceship into potatoes every now and then.

Controls feel good. Music is nice and appropriate. Good fun.

San says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:52am

Very fun, the controls when the ship has an important speed is hard though.

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

Nice work, it's kind of confusing at first but it's pretty fun :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Just magnificent!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I wandered, I bashed, I crashed, I became a better person.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:59pm

I thought "this is pretty neat" as I walked around the planet flipping myself over. Then I fixed my rocket and...my mind was BLOWN. Nice work. :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Erg, I made the mistake to go out of my spaceship during its flight .... lol Funny game :D

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:52pm

Uhuh, space captant made another mistake! Ejecting in the middle of space.

minism says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37am

Holy crap this game has a great uniqueness to it. I mean, icouldn't really figure out what to do for most of the time. But i love flipping over ants and crashing into planets.

TheThirdOne says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

I love how the game works. My only problem with the game is I don't know how to win.

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:32am

Oh my goodness this was amazing. At first I was skeptical. Then I gathered enough supplies to repair my starship. I was lonely and battered, but started my journey into deep space. Then accidentally pressed space and wandered aimlessly in space...forever. The horror! 5/5!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45pm

The greatest science fiction ever written

PTSnoop says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Newtonian physics? Deformable terrain? Interplanetary orbital mechanics? This game's got it all. And that moment when you repair your ship and the *whole Potato Zone* opens up for you is classic. Loved it!

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Pretty fun little game. I would really appreciate more if there were more clear goals and objectives on there. Other than that it was a good experience

Uhfgood says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:35pm

It was a bit hard to control. Kudos for putting in Potatoes :-P

jackspinoza says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:03pm

what a fantastic game. Lets just get this straight: at last I can explore potato space as an ant! great work.

Argembarger says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I crashed my ship so hard that it blasted a spaceship part onto a different potato and I was stranded.

I love this one.

mortl8324 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:57pm

Cool mechanics, a bit confused about what to do though...

Markavian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Really simple concept. Liked the mechanics and control system, the fact it was "open world" with the ability to travel between potatoes.

Jellycakes says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:22pm

Pretty nice game, I liked the exploration part and how you incorporated potatoes in your game that actually act like potatoes. Nice work!

AaronYip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:30pm

The tech for this game is really impressive. (: Not sure whether this was intended, but my crashes with the green planet has all resulted in my ant flying off into space, drifting, drifting, drifting, until I press R.

Hume says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59pm

"Loyal crew, our rocket is inverted very near the minor axis of this Chopin. We can't rotate enough to get a usable thrust vector. We are going to have to eat our way free."

"Yay!"

Much fun playing this. I wasn't quite sure when I would win, but it became clear how to win after I understood that the rocket can carry two types of cargo.

Appreciated the music, the potato stats, the undamped thrust, the playfield zoom, the seemingly perfect gravity implementation, the terrain deformation, and good use of potato.

Was surprised by the location of the terrain deformation under the center of the Captant -- I thought it would occur under the head.

Occasionally frustrated when the rocket or the Captant overturned and I could not eat my way out of the situation.

sboerwinkle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:27pm

So dang good. Definitely grabbing the source. Here's a list of things you might could fix (but it's awesome now):
1. Occasionally ants will try to pilot your ship. It's rare, but it happens. It's easy to regain control, but they don't fill your gauge or hop out at the colony.
2. Separate buttons for eat/fly ship. Would be very useful for getting unstuck.
3. More game play after the colony is content. I want to get all the ants back home!

Keep in mind I'm only mentioning these things because it shows such promise. And I'm sure you want to move on to other things. But... this game could be really good... maybe even multiplayer?

dcarogame says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:50am

no entendí bien al principio

goerp says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:36am

this Space Captant did not make one mistake, but actually quite a lot. Crashing a lot, crashing so hard not all parts came back on the potato, getting stuck with the space ship, getting stuck on his back . .

But it had a great sense of exploration, also because I did not know how everything worked when starting. I would like to see a lot more of this game!

Also a different music on surface would be nice too.

Loved it! (I checked out your previous entries and recognized the Kittelutioning, which I liked too).

pighead10 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:45am

Cool game, pretty fun. Confusing as to what you're supposed to do at the start.

ashdnazg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:36am

Even though the game could help me a bit more by explaining what I can do, it's extremely original and quite fun!

MinionStudios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:55pm

I love the space captant. I forgot to rescue the other guy, tho. He died alone and bloated on carbs in the potato zone.

recursor says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:23pm

This was pretty fun. I hope you keep working on it. The thrust arrow confused me a bit and I thought I was supposed to follow it, so I did and I ended up in deep space. A costly mistake for the unfortunate captain.

Beldarak says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:42pm

The worst captain ever :D

Nice game !

Norgg says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Thanks for all the feedback everyone! :D

I'm going to gradually carry on work with this, probably with the aim of doing a sequel with destructible potatoes that you can burrow into, a bunch more stuff to do out there and (hopefully!) multiplayer. I'll also be trying to fix up some stuff that people find confusing without ruining the feeling of exploration in this thing.

sorceress says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:10am

I enjoyed the feel of this game greatly: It is gentle yet mesmeric, with a surrealist layer from this being an ant inhabited potato galaxy. All in all it reminds me of the Clangers, which is awesome. :D

And if only these ants made discoveries and had adventures like the Clangers... you would have something very special.

The graphics do feel over simplistic however - I think the game could retain it's feeling and benefit from more detailed art. Sound effects too - although the music you have made is perfect for the game,

Typedeaf says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:27am

Very enjoyable little game =)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]