April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Maze of Argus

by hulahulahest - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Prince Ryuutarou has been kidnapped by the many-eyed demon, Argus! Undaunted, Princess Suzuhime sets off into the demon's maze to free her beloved in this 80s home console style action adventure.

Well... I don't know how minimal this ended up, but I'm proud of it anyway. I wanted to evoke the feeling of those early NES games where there wasn't much in terms of plot or progression, but more or less the same gameplay for 80 levels in a row and your reward was just points.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#16Graphics4.32
#207Overall3.56
#291Mood3.21
#359Fun3.20
#481Humor2.33
#1080Innovation2.31
#1158Theme2.77
#1744Coolness28%

Comments

Hypnohustla says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

This is the best looking entry I've played so far! Really love the nes look. Nothing new on the gameplay department but that did not bother me :)

jolle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:46pm

Is good. Red beholders are evil. Never did complete 2-5, but it was very close once. Sad about no sound.

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41pm

I think mimicking the NES style was an appropriate interpretation of minimalist and you made a fantastic looking game!

There wasn't enough here to hold me past a few levels since I didn't see any new mechanics or twists developing but the polish here is very bright. You've done well.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Solid and nice little game, with nice graphics. Well done.

JoeDev_net says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47pm

I really like the graphics style a lot. The gameplay was also very enjoyable. Good job!

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Looks super RETRO! Reminds me of Donkey Kong.

derdragon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:02pm

A bit disappointed by the lack of sound, too, but overall very pleased with the entry. Very consistent style all around. Bravo!

Mase says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Cute graphics. I was slain by a floating eyeball.

evoker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:43am

Love the 8-bit aesthetic.

bvanschooten says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:53pm

Nice, well finished game. Great graphics.

May 5, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I like this game very much! It reminds me my childhood.

May 7, 2013 @ 10:51am

Lovely, but it plays kinda crappy for people with a non-US-keyboard. Great work though. :)

Ishisoft says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Lovely lil' game! Gorgeous lo-fi artwork.

Sakuyan says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:19am

I love the graphics!

May 14, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Really, really cute game, but no sound... that makes me sad... :(

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:07am

nice game -- no music which was too bad -- great style not too minimal tho -- great job

GFM says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Wow, this game is awesome!
I really liked the NES like graphics, but I missed some sfx. :(

Good job. :)

Zccc says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:06pm

This looks like a real NES game, I love it :)

Xanjos says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Loved the retro/NES-like presentation and overall, the game was pretty good. The only thing that killed it however, was the lack of sound.

Benjamin says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:46am

That's a very cool 8bit look, you are very talented for this ( I just bookmarked all your previous entries :D ). In a 48h compo you should definitively take some time to add sounds because 8bit sounds are very easy to make once you know how they work. It could take you only 1-2h and would add a lot to the retro atmosphere. But maybe you already know that and just lacked the time to add them.
The game engine itself works but seems a bit weak : the game was running very slow on my netbook which is rather unusual for a retro plaformer.

ilo says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:43pm

It looks great and there's a good amount of content. Having to freeze and then jump on enemies is interesting, and you could easily add more depth if you worked on it further (like say, enemies who cannot be frozen and enemies who are dangerous to jump on in certain states). Also, it might be the lack of sound, but it does feel a bit flat to play. It does get better as it goes on - I thought the last level was the best.

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Excellent entry :)
The 8bit art & animation is really true to its model, which is rare... Great job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]