April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Essense

by Jorjon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** POSTMORTEM (AKA READ MY MISTAKES!): http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/02/essense-post-mortem/
** IF YOU CAN'T FINISH IT: At least watch the walkthrough (in the links)

Summary:

*Essense* is your surrealist first person puzzle game.

Have you enjoyed Kairo? The Witness? Well... then maybe you will like this.


Controls:

WASD and MOUSE.
From 1 to 0 in keyboard to change mouse sensitivity.

Nothing much I can tell you, you have to experience it by yourself.


Stuff Used:

* Paul Stretch
* Audacity
* Unity3D
* HOTween
* Fraps
* FastStone
* Photoshop
* Chronolapse
* MonoDevelop
* SVN

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#57Mood3.81
#143Audio3.44
#300Graphics3.42
#491Overall3.23
#533Theme3.56
#739Innovation2.90
#748Humor1.97
#786Fun2.73

Comments

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

First stage is rather confusing, you can't say - do you falling or just flying.
Then begins puzzle, it was really interesting to reveal game mechanics.
And music greatly fits "cloudy" mood

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09am

The music in this game is extremely fitting, though some aspects seem a little unpolished. Good job adding the ability to adjust mouse sensitivity, it's a feature i would like to see in more LD games.

evilseanbot says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:04am

That's some pretty extreme difficulty.

Very impressed with the atmosphere.

May 1, 2013 @ 1:10am

Super serene.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:10am

Amazing. Great puzzle aspects, great texts.

Crazi456 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:07am

I couldn't load the webpage

Maple says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:30am

I finished with 12 mins something. It was an interesting experience, but I wasn't really able to follow the text. I liked the audio and the reflective surfaces you stood on (I would rather have not been able to see a blue ball floating in mid-air when I looked down though.) Good job.

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:06am

Really hard game, but great concept. I got suck on the 3 level, I didn't know what to do.

argo15 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:01am

It's got a nice aesthetic to it. A little hard to figure out at the start but fine after a while.

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:36am

Cool relaxing game. Found some bugs where I Can avoid walls and not progress but other than that it's a nice game. good job!

May 2, 2013 @ 3:03am

I don't know if I'm just bad at video games, but the first level is really hard.

Beautiful and relaxing scenery and music!

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:18am

I beat it. It was quite enjoyable. My favorite board was the one with all the spike coming at you. I hope you keep working on it.

Prelucid says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:50am

Tricky platforms! The moving ones got on my nerves. Great work!

May 3, 2013 @ 2:53am

I stated to figure it out, but the jump was unforgiving if you were a little too early.

bowlercaptain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:17am

Really good. Video games have their blockbuster movies, their novels, their short story, the rare bit of poetry, so this was... what, a conversation with my therapist and/or motivational speaker? I don't know. Anyway, you definitely hit the feeling you were going for. It fits the minimalism theme to a T, and nonetheless manages to be pretty anyway. Good Job.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:46am

Beautiful and peaceful. There is a true atmosphere here. Interesting puzzles. Congratulations !!

Aceria says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:53am

Lovely mood, but first-person platforming has always been tricky to get right. Some of those jumps are brutal!

Fritzendugan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:54am

Hit mood right on the head. First level took a bit, I think mostly just because the jumping mechanic felt almost too tight. The level that introduces the smashing blocks and talks about stress had me SO FREAKING STRESSED OUT. It was perfect. The level where you ask "why don't you look around you?" I was such a hurry to escape the crusher chasing me, that I did notice there were other path ways, but I was too worried about escaping that I didn't think they were worth my time to examine. Turns out they were the only way to escape. Very effective, and heavily symbollic.

A few criticisms: like I said, the jumping mechanic felt just a little too tight, especially for being in first-person where it's not always easy to time your jumps quite right. The visual effect on the platforms, while really cool, was a little too distracting and made it tough to tell where the platform boundaries were. Perhaps instead of the surface being 100% reflective, it should have some slight discolartion/lighting of its own so that you can clearly see the platform boundary. Other than that, the game is basically extremely well done. More levels maybe? :D

Patacorow says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:12am

Confusing game, but very solid nonetheless. I loved the levels where you had to avoid the spikes, they were great fun. Really good game!

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:18am

Nice looking enviroment and some cool ideas! :)

May 3, 2013 @ 8:43am

Personally I also have trouble with the first-person jumping, but I like the cloud reflections and the font, the level design is also really good (especially the spike mayhem and the chasing level). One thing I noticed is that there's always some blue pixelated dot underneath the player, which I think shouldn't be there.

Cake&Code says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:53am

Wow, that was a pretty cool experience if a bit on the challenging side but only because the experience isn't quite guided enough. On the first level I tried a few times to jump diagonally because standing on the front facing tile made the platform I needed to stop on go away. It wasn't until 3 deaths later I decided to look at the light beams and follow them.

Oh, the title screen did have me wondering. The title had the last 'e' in a different color, is there a meaning to that? Essen[s]e

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:05am

This is hard - there is always missing a tiny bit.

lanz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:20am

Cool reflections and cloud-y atmosphere. Music really fits it.

lorancou says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:39am

I love how you achieved minimalist graphisms without relying on big pixels or magenta squares. This is way too hard for me though, I couldn't pass level 2, which is a shame considering the rather zenish mood. Seeing at your walkthrough it seems that it doesn't get any easier afterwards ;) But very nice entry overall, this is a very impressive work for 48 hours!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:47pm

It's poetry. Beautiful game! Congratz!!

Are says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:20am

6 minutes of cloudy adventure.

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:23pm

I loved it, though jumping sometimes was a challenge. IMO, level when you have to dodge spikes has a big potential.

zkenshin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:15pm

Very good mood. :)

Xaychru04 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:28pm

I enjoyed this plateformer, I thought the platforms were pretty strange, but I think that's part of the game. The music is very relaxing and the levels are not too difficult. Great game ;)

May 4, 2013 @ 8:06pm

I like of atmosphere of game!

Taro Omiya says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:33am

Aack! I genuinely love the graphics, presentation, and concept of it (jump on the platforms in the right order), but the difficulty to jump of to the next platform makes it difficult to enjoy.

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:47pm

The spikes were too tough for me, I will keep trying to not avoid my problems... Atmosphere and simplicity with great art and music!

SmilingCat says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:36pm

The light beams were a good hint for when landing on a platform changed the layout.

Good job!

wademcgillis says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:14pm

The platforms are very polished ;)

And the first level is a pain until you figure out what's going on.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:09pm

Really liked the atmosphere in this game. Sort of like being an angel jumping through heaven. I'm just not a fan of the first person platforming.

kyyninen says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Liked it! At first I was kinda frustrated at first, then I got the feel for jumping and it went smoothly onwards. Nice, serene mood. 06:02 was my time.

May 7, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Cool take on the theme, good job! Also, very good music and mood. Congrats!

May 7, 2013 @ 6:10pm

Little confusing but the music is extremely well-done and I'd say it does a good job staying true to the theme. Good job! :)

ovenchips says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:31pm

Really good entry - I completed it. Frustration level set just right. Difficulty curve dropped right off on the last level but perhaps that was intentional to give more weight to the on-screen messaging. Well done indeed!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Well, i have try 10 minutes...but impossible to finish the first level. Too bad because your game looks great.

Colapsydo says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:08am

Those mirror platform are excellent.
The overall atmosphere is great even if I found the textureless objects a bit out of the world.

marnaouf says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Very beautiful game.

mkpictures says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:06am

It was hard, but what an amazing experience!
Simple graphics and lovely music.
Great, great game!
Thanks

ataxkt says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:09pm

Copy pasting the definition for minimalism doesn't make your game minimalist, especially when adding it makes the game less minimal!
Very pretty atmosphere and mood though! Very difficult.

MrShoestore says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:02pm

nice. I liked that the platforms you could walk on were mirrors. gave it a nice vibe. seems like a small thing, but totally huge when it comes to design aesthetics.

Jesse111 says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:52am

This is great! I love the music and visuals, and the adherence to the theme!
The "problems" are scary! It's very menacing hearing them approach.

kirby_freak says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 3:16pm

I didn't find the game too difficult, but I loved how the mechanics worked in tandem with the words to convey your thoughts. The music was nice too, and I liked how the floor was a reflective surface, made it look nice. I also liked how you're just a ball :P Great job!

Kitch says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:41am

very beautiful game. sound and graphics work well together. nice work.

WiseGAMER says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:45pm

A very nice game that must be top 10!
I think you will like out game too. It speaks about minimalism in a different way. Try it :)

May 17, 2013 @ 9:39pm

Hey cool, your game has the same objective as mine (go to the red cube), but the rest of the games couldn't be more different, completely other mood here... but I like it ! :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:48am

very cool idea -- but it was sooo frustrating to play -- could not figure out the pattern of the floor moving

Make A Game says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 10:27am

The jumps were tricky it took me some effort and I couldn't finish, but I watched the walkthrough afterwards (I didn't score any less because of my inaptitude =P). Overall the ethereal aesthetics created a very poetic mood. It also hit the spot with the theme.

May 20, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Loved the mood, really peaceful and serene, I liked jumping around the clouds, and didn't think the game was too difficult. Just curious why there is 2 exits in the final level when they both take you to the same outcome?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]