April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Meat Meets Potatoes

by Jacic - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalistic, procedurally generated, 2 button platformer. The graphics start simple, but will change when you reach certain score milestones. There is an actual ending when you score enough points.

Tools used: Haxe, NME, HaxePunk, GraphicsGale, a potato to stab, meat to slap, and my mouth to make additional sounds.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Humor2.71
#616Audio2.61
#722Theme3.37
#777Fun2.74
#838Mood2.60
#1027Overall2.70
#1070Graphics2.33
#1181Innovation2.15
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

tcstyle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:35pm

O, those colors.
The subtle change in details after some time is a great idea. Game works pretty well.
Btw, yeah HaxePunk ;).

Jacic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!

*HaxePunk highfive*

dreamlogician says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:29pm

The addition of a projectile makes for an interesting (if slight) variation to the endless runner format. I wasn't a huge fan of the tiny "ridges" in the platforms, found myself getting caught on them a lot. Then again, it's worth noting that I am a big baby who is generally terrible at endless runners.

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:49am

Thanks dreamlogician! The reason for the collision with the sides of platforms is because it would be odd (and a lot easier) if you couldn't be pushed off the screen but instead moved through blocks.

Nolojen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:03am

Nice jump sound, I found the fork and potato to be quite humorous. Nice work

pvwradtke says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:07am

LOL, the orange square becomes potatoes after a while :). Loved throwing forks on them :D.

kunzbe says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:19pm

hi there
i liked the pressure one gets, when the distance from the player to the left border decreases and that it's not restorable.

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Thanks for the kind words everyone!

Nolojen: Making the sound effects was quite fun!
pvwradtke: :D
kunzbe: Thank you, that's what I was going for! :)

karsyf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41pm

I am having a lot of fun with this, only thing that bothers me is the clipping on your sound effects. You can fix this in something like Audacity by doing a quick ( < 0.25s) fadeout

Jacic says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Thanks for the tip karsyf. It doesn't bother me, but I'll try it out!

Loren says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:36pm

nice game, enjoyed the style and sound :)

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Nice take on endless run type of thing. There's a nice humorous touch on those projectiles.

I happened to reach a platform I couldn't reach with the jump. It was a tad farther than needed. Maybe it was really impossible, I'm not sure.

Jacic says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:54am

PsenFilip: I have a check to make sure each jump is possible. After awhile, you sometimes need to jump at the last possible second. Or it might be a bug. I'll take a look.

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:55pm

Nice though very difficult. I wasn't able to get to the end. It could really use some checkpointing, and maybe a cooldown indicator for the bullet. I feel like the platforming got easier as it sped up, the timing at the beginning is hard to get right.

Would be nice if when you miss a jump and get pushed backwards by a ledge, it would gradually have you catch up to your original spot on the screen.

SuperDisk says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Cool idea! Sometimes you'd reach an unpassable jump though :(

cardboard says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:52am

The sound effects seemed a bit off, but that doesn't really matter. I'm always a fan of endless runner games and I like how you added bullets (which turned out to be forks) to mix it up a bit. Nice graphical progression and good ending.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:03am

I got to the 1500 mark. I like it. Not exactly original, but nice enough.

P.S. What did I tell you about enabling anti-alias on pixel fonts? Go to your room, young man!

Jacic says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Well, Puzzlem00n, you told me that quite a bit after this game was finished. Besides, I'm already in my room.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:41pm

Yeah, yeah...

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]