April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Combattant

by Kyatric - Jam Entry

HTML5 game made by myself with Construct 2.
Works best in a modern (Chrome, FireFox, ...) and up to date browser (be sure to update your graphic card drivers to take advantage of WebGL).

This is a simple fighting game where you are to fight "yourself".

Use the arrow keys to move. S to punch, D to kick.

Try to open the guard of your opponent and take him out.


#Potato

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#397Fun(Jam)2.56
#436Audio(Jam)1.76
#464Overall(Jam)2.61
#468Theme(Jam)2.61
#494Innovation(Jam)2.11
#548Graphics(Jam)1.78
#1979Coolness10%

Comments

peggiosoft says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

i can't hadouken

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

I played once, but couldn't hadoken. I beat my enemy in the same way I would have in Street Fighter though: duck and kick at the same time.

I'm impressed that you made a fighting game like this in 48 hours!

spliter says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

This would great as a multiplayer game and can use some polish in terms of mechanics (eg: quite easy to stun-lock the oponent)

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Thanks for the comments.
There are indeed a lot of improvements that can be made (better AI, providing controls for a human player to use the second character, more overall polishing) but I've hit my limit for now ^^

Thank you all for checking it out and commenting :)

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:29pm

Hold down and kick to lock your opponent pretty much for ever :P I don't get the explanation... fight "yourself"?

Kyatric says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36pm

@7Soul: The second character hasn't specific graphics and has the same move set as your character.
It's kind of a mirror match-up.

Maybe the description is clumsy indeed. I must admit I'm pretty tired right now and don't have my ideas straight.

ovenchips says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I think you're onto something with this. It's really hard to get fighter mechanics to feel good but this was fairly challenging. Sliding low kick seems unblockable for the AI though. You should definitely iterate this - maybe a 2.5D fighter?

onzephyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:25am

A fighting game in 48hrs is impressive. The feel is really solid. Seems like a great base you could add a lot to.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40pm

This was really fun, I would totally dig (local, same keyboard) multiplayer for this! :D

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Creating a fighting game is quite an undertaking in 48 hours. I enjoyed it. You nailed the mechanics. I'd love to see an enhanced/polished version with some better AI (and hadouken).

Go C2!

davidwparker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I owned that guy! :)

JohnnySix says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:24am

Are you putting the source up? Am curious to see your build process for this - has a lot of potential for expansion with ragdolls, flying kicks and such. :D

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Interesting, but the physics of hitting seemed a little off.

May 5, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Nice work to get all this functioning in 48hrs

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]