April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Curiosity

by geckojsc - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A block falls from the sky and takes on a life of its own.
Explore the world, find secrets, and go skydiving.

Controls:
Movement: Left/Right
Jump: Up
Use item: Down

Written in the ooc programming language, with Vamos, my own game framework.

Cookie to anyone who manages to plant the flower at the end of the map!



[note]
I tested the Linux builds on a couple of machines. You have to build and install SDL 2.0, which should only take 5 minutes. Instructions are included in the download, if you encounter any issues, let me know!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#35Mood3.93
#48Audio3.81
#82Overall3.82
#136Fun3.56
#147Graphics3.78
#437Theme3.65
#728Innovation2.91
#802Humor1.90

Comments

Supermomo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:16pm

Woaw ! I really enjoyed this game ! Great work !

DaanVanYperen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:50am

Very well done!

frr171 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52am

Awesome presentation and mood!

Joror says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:51pm

I reallly dig the soundtrack, really puts the mood in the game. Mechanics are solid, but a bit too platformy. (that is just my taste ;))

May 1, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Pretty game with solid implementation. A really cool entry! I think your movement is a bit too twitchy which makes it too difficult, but otherwise I really like this game!

Moist says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00pm

An adorable little platformer! The mood is great, it sucks you in from the first second. Excellent job, sir.

May 1, 2013 @ 7:37pm

BEST GAME EVER! :D nice work bro!!!!! :D Impressive game.. also nice concept I've always liked games like this.

pl0xz0rz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:42pm

Awesome game!

badlydrawnrod says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Very nicely done. I enjoyed it immensely. Very good mood, helped by the atmospheric music.

May 4, 2013 @ 11:03am

Sadly I can't play it because it crashes when I just try to start it. :( (Windows XP, 32bit)

May 4, 2013 @ 7:28pm

Great intro and music, really hard platforming mechanics with the grappling hook! I couldnt get the orange seed that was way up there. Maybe you could ease the player into the difficulty a little slower.

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:31pm

Haha, it does get quite difficult quite fast, but bear in mind there's more than one way to grow that 2nd sunflower. Maybe you should check for secret passages further back. :)

Thanks for the feedback so far guys, it's nice to know people have enjoyed it!

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:49pm

SuperlevelSebastian: sorry you couldn't get it working, I don't have an XP environment to test it on. You don't have mingw/msys installed by any chance? If you did, you could maybe run it through gdb and see where the error occured.

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:26pm

Put it my BEST bookmarks folder. It is really cool in all aspects. But I stuck right after I took this rope.. How can I get back with this?!

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:52pm

There's more than one way out, check for secrets!

May 4, 2013 @ 10:19pm

Nice platformer and great atmosphere

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:52pm

That was fantastic from start to finish. I loved how you gradually added to the mechanics while keeping it very minimalistic on the controls.

May 4, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Yay I'm a ninja XD
VERY well done for 48 hours, in all aspects!

Teejay5 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:01pm

Excellent atmosphere! Though the platforming does get pretty hard

May 4, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Kinda reminds me of the Knytt series, which is one of my all time favorite platformers :)

Trying to finish with the extra seed now...

geckojsc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Yes! Knytt Stories and Knytt Underground were sources of inspiration for me when designing this - I'm a big Nifflas fan. :)

Diamonde says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:33am

I'm totally amazed by this game. It's simply so good! :D

Tifu says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice game, had fun exploring the world. The first little "jump over reds using grappler" was a bit tough for an introduction I thought. I can see how to get the final flower, but the jumps would be too difficult to get it so I'm just settling for no cookies :(

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:27pm

Amazing. Controls lagged very slightly, but you couldn't notice it once you got into things. The death animation was a little too long in opinion, but everything else was perfect! (maybe a little frustrating sometimes :P)

goerp says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:47pm

Wow another programming language I have never heard of.
This is pretty much a finished product. Ready to ship. 5 stars!
It fits the minimalistic theme, but really doesn't need anymore.
If I had to name one point of criticism it has to be, that the flickering of the light in the corners can be annoying, but thats only when you're not playing but just watching.

It reminds me of Knytt.

Just out of curiosity: how does ooc compare to Java or As3?

nseward says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Very nice game. Simple but it doesn't smack you in the face with its simpleness.

geckojsc says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:27pm

Thanks!

goerp:
ooc is a pretty young language compared to AS3 and Java, and has quite a small community behind it. In the last 2 years or so it's become quite usable for OpenGL or SDL-based game development, and it binds very nicely with existing C libraries, especially ones that are written in an object-oriented style already.

It's still rough around the edges, currently I find that its higher level features like closures and generics work very well in isolation, but may break if you try to mix them together (e.g. create a HashMap of Func objects). I'm happy to work around those issues though, I just love that I can use a clean/modern language and have the flexibility of C and C++ at the same time.

atraxgames says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Great work, exploring this little work is a pleasant and magic journey.

MinionStudios says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Fun and wild artwork, great gameplay, this one rocks!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 1:02pm

Nice game, but twitchy movement and hard game mechanics (grappling hook) made me give up too early =/

lightsoda says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:18pm

Very nice, took me a while to get a hang of the grapple mechanic. Looks and sounds nice, good job.

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:59pm

It is a very pleasant adventure.
The soundtrack is beautiful.
I've got a white background at the end, is it normal?

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

geckojsc says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:20pm

Yep, the ending is very minimal, partly because it suits the theme and atmosphere, but also because it was 3AM and I couldn't figure out why my 'end' text wouldn't appear on the screen. xD

kulhajs says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Reminds me a lot of Knytt Underground, nice game, well done.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Nice game, but it's relly too hard (for example with the grappel). I like very much the universe.

QXD-me says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Really good exploration-based platformer. I liked all the secrets (that I found).

I managed to plant the last seed and still have one left over :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]