April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Screaming Cubes

by Shigor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Do not rate the postcompo version (see below for info about it)!

Screaming cubes (they really scream when you shoot them... or at least they're supposed to...).

Simple (well... not for 48 hours of work) mining and shooting flight simulator.

You crash-landed on some desolate planet with enemy mining operations. Gather enough ores (by shooting your crater missiles in the green or white spots on terrain and picking resulting cubes, or from enemy bases) to repair your ship and fly away!

Build in Unity.

Music by autotracker, sounds by bfxr + Audacity, models and textures max + photoshop.

(finished with glorious two minutes to spare...)

Update: I've build a Windows version, seems working too...
Update 2: I've forgotten about sources, uploaded...

Update 3: (next day) - Added few more screenshots. If you're interested in extended postcompo version, say so in comments, I'm really considering making this a bit more then 48 hour marathon.

Update 4: I've added a link to the postcompo version (web and windows) which is vastly improved (while still buggy, unbalanced and unfinished) - random levels, more weapons, controllable and upgradable motherships, control settings, ingame player's guide and a lot more. Don't rate this version, there's several more days of work put in the game, but you're more then welcome to test it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#505Audio2.78
#515Graphics3.08
#598Mood2.83
#651Fun2.88
#690Overall3.05
#852Humor1.85
#937Innovation2.60
#1337Theme2.15

Comments

HeyChinaski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:39am

I like the stylized textures on the terrain and the ships. The AI was perhaps a little to good on the ships, they could fly and shoot a lot better than I could!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

So I've finally had a time to do some real testing.... postcompo is clearly in order (upgrades need some tuning, but the mothership control is a must otherwise it gets too boring too quickly).

Oh... and I see I forgot to mention that the green and white splashes on terrain are the uranium and ores.... shooting on normal terrain won't give yuo much if anything...

Fervir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:25pm

I liked how the ship controls.
Except, it's pretty funny when you get hit by something and start spinning everywhere.
It's pretty fun to fly around

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Weapon velocity seems far too low, really struggled to hit anything. You managed to achieve an awful lot in the time, well done for that.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Really enjoyed piloting the ship, but I found doing so felt unnecessary for the actual gameplay of killing the enemies - I often lost them - being a fixed turret might have made the game easier to complete. Good thing the AI took care of most the threats ;) The flight felt nice though, got a bit of vertigo!

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:49pm

ataxkt: well... the gameplay is not focused just on killing enemies ;) there's mining and upgrading your ship too :)

and the wining condition is to gather enough resources to fly away from the crater

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:05pm

Nice game! The player ship is a little too slow, though.

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Nice, interesting game, AI is good :) but shooting and aiming was rather difficult.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52pm

Controls are a bit hard but it's a good idea

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Interesting game!

More polish on the UI and controls might make this a very fun game!

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Really fun !

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:33pm

I enjoy your game, nice mooves are possible :)
but maybe a faster ship would have been beter

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:53pm

I played this multiple times and it's really fun. The enemies don't drop that much ore, so the upgrading of the ship get's a bit lengthy. Controls are smooth, graphics fit this kind of game. Most fun part were the enemy ships which fly into you with high speed :D

SonnyBone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I love the sunset/dusk look of everything. The textures are nicely styled. Crashing and spinning out of control is fun, too! Interesting mix of flight sim and mining.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49pm

Reminds me of terminal velocity :)

Shigor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Split82 - yeah, halfway through I remembered it too :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

A fun little spaceship sim with some interesting gameplay. I would be interested in seeing this polished up!

hamster_mk_4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:25am

This game really grew on me. I started out pretty bad but eventually got the hang of dog fighting and mining.

goerp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Oh no, autotracker! luckily I couldn't hear the music over the gunfire!
I like a dogfight so I had fun playing this.
I think I would like to see an upgraded version of this, but I don't know if would be checking up on you to see if you made one (so many games to play!)

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Wow, a lot of stuff in there for being made in 48 hours, nice work! Crazy AI, wanting to headbutt you all the time. :P The game felt a little too dark imo, and some visual feedback on when your bullets hit and damaged the enemies would have been nice. The upgrade system was really neat! :)

Drabiter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:55am

Sorry I use linux :(

May 2, 2013 @ 7:58am

Good game i like the graphics, its some hard for take aim, but i like it!

MRvanderPants says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:56am

A lot of work done in two days, but the game is pretty hard.

TehSkull says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:03am

Needs some kind of objective. I got bored kinda quickly. How this game fits the theme though is beyond me.

LTyrosine says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:29pm

I just loved your game. Totally amazing the mother ship / exploration scheme, I had many game ideas for future in this way too. With all these upgrades your game is deep.

But I would take another day to polish it and submit to Jam instead of 48 hours because some parts of it need more work, like combat, aim, AI; Anyway here is one of the TOP games of LD26. Amazing job!

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:48pm

cool game. Reminds me off the old game: Battlezone. If you do a post compo add some auto-cargo-unloading on the mother ship. My cargohold was always full and there was no way for me unload it -_-

May 7, 2013 @ 12:21am

Really great flying mechanics but really slow and the view was really annoying!

ahm99 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:14am

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to play the whole thing through :( But I really I enjoyed the game. Good job :)

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Overall it is a well made and fun game!
However, the bullets seemed a bit slow, and I'm not entirely sure where's the minimalism.

MinionStudios says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:40am

Fun as hell! SO good

Sebastian says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:47pm

I would of liked to start off with a little more mobility and health (to compensate for my awful piloting skills!). This is a very fully featured game for just 48 hours so great work!

Make A Game says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:07am

I loved the way the camera movement and the ship's controls, they feel very realistic! Good job.
The audio was prety sweet too. =D

Beldarak says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Very impressive (and for the compo !). The interface is very tedious but the game itself is fun and the physics/controls works great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]