April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

accord

by omaha - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A musical platformer.

- Stay off the ground while the song is playing
- A/D or arrow keys to move left/right.
- Press and *hold* 'Space' to jump and double jump
- Don't forget to double jump
- Try to finesse the jump keypresses (timing and longevity)

I only had enough time to make 2 short levels for this game, so I took a shortcut and made 'hard' versions of each to represent levels 3 and 4.

Thanks for playing!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#21Audio4.03
#113Mood3.59
#196Theme3.95
#237Innovation3.55
#275Overall3.46
#395Fun3.16
#540Graphics3.05
#826Humor1.87

Comments

CyberYeti says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

This is really addicting and challenging and the music makes me want to keep playing it just so i could see what the next note is. the only problem is after i beat the first level and died in the second, i was sent back to the first which i found frustrating. Other than that, really good job, it's a lot of fun and the music is great!

raincole says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14am

This girl(?) is really beautiful. The light behind her(?) is just like a pony tail. Nice work.

Cory Martin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19am

My curiosity as to what comes next in the music really kept me going. It was enjoyable. Though sometimes the platform placement screws you over, specifically when one appears over your head.

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

It is possible to jump 'around' the platforms that spawn directly overhead. Check out the run starting at 2:52 in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LI5SNOfHgOA

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

I like the idea and overall execution! It is pretty hard though.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Good game. Quite frustrating sometimes but fun when the platforms are kind.

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Really enjoyable and fun.

Husky says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:19pm

I like the idea.
It's a little hard, but cool!

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Nice, sometimes I was frustrated when the position of platforms were "difficult" but overall I liked it :).

ncgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:15am

nice. the sounds pull you along

NicoJaujou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

I love your game, simple but strong!

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Cool game, but I gave up after 7 tries or so.. Cool idea, though:)

uncade says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:11pm

A really solid entry with a really cool premise! I finally got to the second stage and felt so excited that I had to remix the tune: https://soundcloud.com/x01010111/while-software-i-will-possess
:D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Impressive !

omaha says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:19pm

uncade/x01010111, you are the coolest. That remix is fantastic. Let's talk soon, I would love to integrate this into a post-compo build.

elbowroom says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:58pm

This is nearly perfect. I really loved it. I admit I got annoyed when I didn't anticipate the music and got hit by a platform that suddenly appeared above me a milisecond ago. That's a good thing, it means I actually cared about it.

Sakuyan says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:13pm

This was pretty fun! Really good use of audio-in-gameplay!

euwaku says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:35am

Nicely done! A bit frustrating when you finally reach the end of introduction and still have to start over from the beginning at the first mistake. It should be possible to jump on a platform from the back ^.^

PapyGaragos says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:16am

Im pretty sure i gave that game more stars than any other entry i tried. Great job. And bookmarked :)

pvwradtke says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 6:03am

Hey, I really like this one. Loved the mix between platforming and music rhythm game. Simple but very addictive. Congrats!

dick_claus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:12am

Very nice idea, but random killing me, when new block shows above block when i stay — it's gameover. And sometimes i can see old blocks when level restarting.

Alphonsus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:15am

A bit frustrating when I keep dying because I want to listen to the next notes. :P Nonetheless, this is fun. Great work!

miotatsu says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:04pm

wow, I love it! addictive gameplay, really cool game mechanic, fits the theme well, very nice music. Good job! :)

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Great concept , but too much randomness in the plateform creation.

Teejay5 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:39pm

Really cool and fun; the controls are very nice too! Though I found a bug where you can continue to jump off of the collider that gives you a game over if you press space a lot.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]