April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Maze

by Mago - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Until last minute I didn't know if I would have time to participate in this LD.
But in the end I managed to find some time and I made this game in one day. It's far from perfect but it's something.

HOW TO PLAY:
The goal of the game is to reach golden pixel aka exit
To do so find your way throght the maze and avoid enemies.

CONTROLLS:
arrow key to move

** EDIT **
I've added web version and game source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#533Theme3.56
#1032Humor1.47
#1037Overall2.69
#1047Audio1.47
#1053Mood2.33
#1126Graphics2.26
#1130Fun2.28
#1162Innovation2.18

Comments

evilDan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41am

Neat little game! I love how the tiny space is actually a huge map!

My dude kept getting stuck on the walls at turns though. Nice work :D

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:17pm

Neat game, good to see some other Slick-Users thou i am not able to make mine a Applet, kinda facing some problems there..

doobdargent says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Agreed with evilDan, you should implement smooth turn.

Mago says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:29pm

@Xatulu I also had a big problem with making applet. Try this tutorial http://ninjacave.com/slickapplet and its very important to use lwjgl_applet bundle

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

Nice, took me a while to find the exit.

siondream says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:59pm

It's too hard to squeeze around corners, the game itself it's too hard, you could have some sort of memory of the map around you maybe...

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:51pm

Great game ! Minimalistic in a good way. I felt like in a dungeon crawler, espacially after level 1. The fact that you only see a bit around you is the good idea !

dector says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 11:42am

Nice idea and implementation. But sometimes keyboard "pixel hunting" is crazy thing. :)

avidgamerNino says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:12am

Great take on the theme, At first I hated how you perfectly have to fit in the hallways, then I just held two buttons at one and it pretty much gets rid of that issue, Great Job!

marnaouf says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:31am

Very nice simple and challenging game.

Alphonsus says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 8:34am

Nice minimalist game!

May 11, 2013 @ 5:18pm

I thought you did this maze game very well. The distance you could see into the maze seemed about right and the levels were pretty well designed. Well done.

OU GDA says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Really hard to see since it was really small (may just be a monitor resolution thing though). The visibility mechanic was interesting, but it mostly just made me have to depth first search down paths (which got a bit annoying), which I would rather just let an AI do for me. Could have been interesting to be able to move the player with 'wasd' and the exit with the arrow keys and try to get them to meetup. This comes from the idea that many maze solvers like to start from both the start and the end.

StMatn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:41pm

Nice game! I like the enemys and the restricted distance of sight. Great job!

lorancou says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Not very original, and the pixel-perfect requirement to turn get annoying very quickly. The movements should simply snap you on the grid. But congrats for finishing a real game!

MinionStudios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:41am

Really cool lil mazes. I did not know there were bad guys until I got to the end of the first maze...

SuperDisk says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Controls were actually really good for a maze game. I died pretty quickly after being blocked into a corner unwittingly.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]