April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

GunBoat

by Beerman - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about guns.

And boats.

Action on the high seas as you battle the enemy boats. Why? Because they're there. (See, the plot is minimalist as well as the graphics. That's like irony or subtext or something!)

The main .jar build should work on anything with a recent JRE installed (http://java.com/en/download/index.jsp).


Controls :
Arrows move left and right.
Space or left CTRL to fire.

Android Controls :
Touch left/right edges to move. Touch both to fire

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#448Fun3.10
#496Humor2.31
#504Graphics3.10
#675Audio2.50
#696Mood2.74
#705Overall3.03
#847Theme3.23
#1014Innovation2.44

Comments

Toestee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:47am

Very cool, love the art style

spilth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Nice job on the explosion and torpedo alarm graphics. It's cool that an alarm sounds when torpedos are coming but I wish there was something I could do about them? Some music would help set the mood. Nice job though!

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08pm

Fun game, it gets the epic spud award.

CiderPunk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

bonus points for the potato!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22pm

nice game but soesn't have that good of a story line

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:23pm

reminds me of many early 80's games on the Spectrum! Very nice, enjoyed it !

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Neat game. Hunting after the last few stragglers at the end of a level was a bit boring.

Sayaer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:38pm

This was a lot of fun! Didn't run into any issues, the difficulty scaled pretty quickly (but not unbearable). Sound effects made a great impact in the gameplay.

Zccc says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Very cool art style!

vandriver says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Loved the art in this, very nostalgic. The higher levels were rough at the star with high unavoidable shots, then tedious near the end picking off stragglers. The beginning of them were the most fun parts, though, smashing through an ocean of ships.

DustyStylus says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:27am

Agree about the edges being a bit difficult to catch stragglers. Nice game though.

Nanolotl says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:40am

The layered water effect was very cool.

Blinked says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Nice little game. Love the way you handled the simple art style, pretty fun overall if a bit repetitive.

lorancou says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:01pm

I played the android version on my old galaxy s and it works pretty well, congrats!

naughtyloose says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:28am

that was cool. I liked the graphic style a lot. Reminded me of the old DOS and amiga games. Gameplay gets a bit boring over the time so maybe add some upgrades to your gun or other stuff to enhance the experience would be a good idea. Anyway great game :)

ohsqueezy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:49pm

Great horizon and explosion effects!

rzfmzn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Great work, reminded me a bit Radar Mission from the GB. =O)

rogueNoodle says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Nice! This brought me back to youth - there was a game on the Colecovision that I loved and this reminded me of it in all the right ways :) Wish I could remember the name of the game, though... 'Submarine', maybe?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]