April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Dark City

by kryger - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalist shooter game. Use left control to shoot. Arrow keys to move around. Shoot all the colored cubes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#391Graphics3.27
#420Mood3.07
#521Audio2.76
#688Fun2.83
#721Overall3.00
#976Theme3.07
#1023Humor1.50
#1072Innovation2.33

Comments

naughtyloose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

that was pretty cool!

muton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Definitely shows promise! I'd really like to be able to turn as well as move side to side. :)

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

Great job! Loved the graphics ^_^

Yngar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:00pm

I updated webplayer but I can't play the game. Not sure why, it just shows the install web player box. Running chrome if that means anything.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I love the aesthetic. Was it, in fact, inspired by the film of the same name?

Mechanically pretty simple. I don't see any reason not to just avoid the enemies at the moment. If, as muton suggested, it were turned into a game where you had full movement controls there is real potential for some potential hunting, chasing and dogfighting scenarios.

Good work!

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:10pm

a shooter based on the color its a good idea but a shooter minimalist can have upgrade system too.
nice game anyway

kryger says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:31pm

Thanks for the comments, and I agree a lot of things could be improved.

@Yngar: The game is hosted on Dropbox and combined with Chrome and Unity Web player Chrome seems to block that. But you should see a grey shield on the right hand side of your address bar. Click that and click "accept unsafe script" or something similar ;) .

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Just a hint: You should remove the s in https from your dropbox link because that causes some browsers to reinstall the unity plugin although it is already installed in an endless loop so you could never play this.

kryger says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:47pm

@timtipgames I Appreciate the tip, but you should be able to play it with Chrome by clicking the gray shield icon. Anyway, it's up to Google to update it's browser to standards. And as always I appreciate any ideas (browser or game related).

Msquirrel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:07pm

Really nice, shows good promise, love the style!

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Great work on this... reminds me of some of my favorite games from way back when!

Norritt42 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Nice game! I like the graphics a lot. But a more end END would have been nice.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Nice aesthetics, dull gameplay. ~

May 1, 2013 @ 12:37am

Looks nice, not so sure about the gameplay... Reminds me a bit of ZAXXON, but that was somehow more fun... Sorry!

kryger says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Yes I knew about Zaxxon, though I didn't really like that sort of games. the original gameplay in this was actually that you could move around freely, but decided to ditch that for simplicity. Had I gone with the original idea I would have had to make some rudimentary AI etc and it would not have been minimalist anymore.

May 9, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Ah, I love this!
I love what you did with the light,
I love the reflection in the windshield when you turn around,
I love the music and the tranquil pace.
Great work.

Gremlin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 6:10am

Had trouble running it in Chrome for some reason. (It claimed Unity webplayer wasn't installed.) Works fine in Firefox.

Not particularly fond of the movement: it's slow, but that doesn't make it much easier to dodge the oncoming buildings. If you make any improvements, try tightening up the feel and giving the player a sense of inertia. You can probably have the player go much faster and have the game be easier/more fun to control.

Like the background sound, though the shooting sound gets a little repetitive.

Are the levels prebuilt or procedurally generated?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]