April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Mania

by Jerm - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a simple game about buying and selling potatoes. It was inspired by a friend of mine who tried to get rich quick by buying bitcoins (and was not successful).

My take on the theme was to make something with minimal gameplay, so the only objective of this game is to maximise profit.

When the game starts, click one of the Buy buttons to buy some potatoes, then sell them again later on (hopefully at a higher price). Repeat lots of times. See the tutorial for more details about the user interface elements.

There are no patterns to the potato price (it is just random) although it actually seems to trend slowly downwards over time, so just buying and waiting for the price to go up may not be a good strategy. I wanted to implement a more complex simulation involving long-term trends and even a news feed, but didn't get time :(.

The game is done in JavaScript and uses canvas for rendering and also jQuery for a few things. I've tested it in Firefox, Chrome and IE10.

UPDATE (2013-4-29 1:30 UTC): I made a few last minute gameplay tweaks and made the chart show when you bought and sold potatoes.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#277Humor2.69
#494Innovation3.19
#721Overall3.00
#747Fun2.77
#856Theme3.22
#906Mood2.53
#1055Graphics2.36
#1364Coolness46%

Comments

PixelIndigo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:50am

Very nice game. It can be very cool time-killer ;)

Aron says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I lost my house, my wife and all my money =( Good game though.

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:58pm

Simple, but surprisingly good fun. It could run a bit more fluid on the lower speed settings, though.

Per says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Interesting idea!
Maybe not the most exciting game I've played but I liked the simplicity and the clean interface.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:37pm

Very simplistic, but a perfectly executed little trading sim

TheFudster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:10am

Surprisingly addictive!

evoker says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:28am

I had fun. Nicely implemented time-shift feature. I can see this game being pretty addicting, especially with a few additions like random external events.

savethejets1 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:48am

Oh man, so good! So unique, probably one of my favourites so far :D

Super Hamster says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:53am

This game was the first game that I have seen like this and I was suprised that it didn't just randomly move. Like it was always between 300 and 700 or so. Good job! :D

jolle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Making a killing in the potato trading business is really hard :)

Switchbreak says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 5:45pm

Nice, I made a pretty good profit. The game is maybe a bit too easy.

Brassawiking says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice graph porn ^^

Cyboot says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Great game. So simple but yet fasciniating.

Good job!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]