April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gravity Worm

by steve - 48 Hour Compo Entry

My initial plan was to create a version of snake with gravity affecting the movement (hence the name), but it turned into something else and I couldn't think of a better name :)

Use the cursor keys to control the blocks and space to switch between worms.

I've included a few alternate colour schemes to hopefully allow people with colour blindness to play, press F1 to cycle between them.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#30Overall4.00
#39Graphics4.19
#40Innovation4.05
#82Theme4.13
#153Fun3.52
#409Mood3.08
#422Audio2.93
#885Humor1.81

Comments

tiffi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:57am

cool innovative gameplay, really tricky after level 3, but thats good

Xgor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

Neat puzzle game, Could start of a bit easier to explain the basics but it's great later

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:03am

Fantastic!
Simple, clean, challenging and fun. Couldn't ask for more in a puzzle game

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:10am

My favorite game so far. Simple concept, perfect execution and very well-polished. Simply brilliant.

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:50am

Damn I don't have windows :( Really like how this looks like.

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

It needs maybe a one sentence description of the goal/mechanics.

Corofides says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:02pm

A simple, innovative game. Rather enjoyable

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:05pm

Great puzzle game. The first level was a bit of a challenge, but ultimately taught the rules, it could use a slightly easier intro. Excellent work.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:09pm

Awesome gameplay
Awesome graphics
Awesome use of theme

This might be the winner

yinbar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:11pm

Creative idea for puzzles, and visually really smooth. Good work.

Holofire says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:15pm

Amazing game. Incredibly simple but very difficult. I love the way it looks and sounds.

Such an awesome idea.

vegard1992 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:34pm

awsome puzzles dude. i cant beat the 4th level though :(

Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:25pm

Could do with some description of the mechanics, as the movement is a bit confusing, but otherwise elegant and a great concept with great implementation!

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30pm

Really nice, I genuinely enjoyed this! :) Got to like level 6 or 7, then I got restless ;D
But honestly this was great!

nicso says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:42pm

awesome, really. I would totally pay to play more of this! MAKE IT HAPPEN!

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44pm

Very nice game, cant say a bad thing about it.

geepit says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Cool gameplay and awesome clean style. Excellent!

NiallM says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:14am

This is really nice, though I agree with the other commenters that the mechanics are slightly unintuitive at first.

wolfadex says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Incredible game!

guestcheap says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:12am

You can't go wrong with a fluorescent themed puzzle game!

Tainted_Code says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:17am

Really fun concept, was really hard too! Good job! :)

maloki says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:58pm

I love this game! The rules were a bit hard for me to understand at first, but when it clicked, I just kept going and going and going. Simple yet works amazingly. Good job! :D

steve says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Thanks for the kind words all!

The reason I didn't give any rules text was partially to fit to the theme, but also because I was hoping to put enough feedback into the game that they wouldn't be needed!

That said, the tabbing between worms is a little janky which makes it awkward to experiment with the game, so perhaps having two worms in the first level rather than three would have made for a smoother learning curve...

If I get around to making a post-compo version I'll try to address that there :)

steve says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:43am

@split82 I'm afraid it would be quite a lot of work to port to other platforms as it is right now, I think for my next Ludum Dare I'll try to do a web based one to avoid this problem in the future!

miro662 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:10am

very nice game, i love this concept!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:12am

Impressive art/gameplay

May 2, 2013 @ 11:21am

Great game. The rules seem a little unintuitive at first, but once you get the hang of it it begins to be quite fun and challenging. The visuals are nice as well.

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:09am

Success! (I've solved it.) Really liked the puzzle mechanics and the difficulty curve. Instant 5 for almost everything.

Norgg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:30pm

So, this is really awesome. I think there's a lot of multiplayer potential in there too, where you each play one worm and shout at each other to get into the right place.

Norgg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:31pm

Oh, and I ended up kind of solving the last level by mistake while trying to get one worm over another one and then somehow they were all just in the right place.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:05pm

This game is incredibly awesome!
I like unique game mechanics, which makes gameplay very addictive. It's pretty fun to understanding worm mechanic and solve these puzzles. I enjoyed with that a lot!
Thank you for entry! Excellent work, dude!

Misael.K says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:17am

The exe file is less than 100k, that alone is impressive, compared to other entries.
Puzzles were great, not too hard, not too easy, and the level progression was great, too.
Loved the sounds and the colors.
Great job!

ilo says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:34pm

So glad I had the chance to play (and complete) this game. It really is one of the best entries and gets so much out of the theme!

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:37pm

Incredibly addictive concept! Definitely one my fav LD26 entry, you really managed to create a totally unique gameplay with a great learning curve. Made in 84h? Seriously: that's amazing.

deepnight says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Incredibly addictive concept! Definitely my favorite LD26 entry so far, you really managed to create a totally unique gameplay with a great learning curve.
Made in 48h? Seriously: that's amazing.

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 12:15pm

Very good minismalist graphics and cool puzzle game.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]