April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

crush.

by oatsbarley - 48 Hour Compo Entry

crush. is a game in which you have to try not to get crushed.

NOTES
-----
* There's only one "level," after you win you can restart the game, and it is sort of random, but there isn't a second level.
* You can bounce off things, just don't get trapped between them!

Controls
--------
WASD or arrow keys to move around,
Space/Return/clicking to advance prompts.

I've stuck the code up on github and you can get the background music (if you aren't sick of it) from soundcloud! I would have linked a timelapse but apparently the recorder screwed up.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#17Theme4.39
#36Audio3.93
#69Mood3.78
#82Overall3.82
#163Fun3.50
#245Graphics3.56
#292Innovation3.46
#567Humor2.21

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:55am

Very cool game. Pretty and pleasing to look at. Appropriate music. Stylish. This is worth polishing and extending if you felt like working on it some more. Ball could change sizes over time, etc, or some way to shrink yourself. Lots of things you can do.

Aaants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

I like it; nice idea and execution :)

Perry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

The music fits into this game brilliantly. The game is very simple, and fits the theme perfectly. The game gets progressively harder as you play, all of the elements are introduced to you in a single screen. Very stylish. I wonder how you achieved the music syncing up with the pieces entering the field so well.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03am

I really like this idea, very cool. I'd love it if the musical phrases were 1:1 with the obstacles, but I know how much of an arse it is to get sound events working perfectly in time! Good job!

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:31am

Thanks everyone for your comments!

@GeorgeBroussard - I think I'll try to build on this, and maybe let players use their own music or something. I'll have to think about it!

@Perry - I actually synced up the music by basic arithmetic! It felt a bit cheaty, but since the music was 120bpm it turned out that each drone note lasted 8 seconds, so I just added a new wall every 8 seconds :D

@jhrrsn - The drone in the music *should* line up with the obstacles for at least the first 90 seconds or so, but then for me it all goes out of sync. If I wasn't relying on Flixel's sound and timer classes I could have probably overcome that, but I was too deep into it by the time I got round to trying to fix it!

Thanks again for your feedback, it's really useful.

dstozek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:40am

Great game! Perfectly matches the theme. The feel of synced music and action is great!

agmcleod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:02pm

Really good. Kept it simple, and made it beautiful. Love how it transitions to play again screen as well.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:34pm

Excellent. Spot on.

NiallM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

This is really nice. The music and simple visuals go together brilliantly. The difficulty curve was a bit too shallow for me though; it takes quite a while before it actually gets hard.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:34pm

Thanks for the feedback, guys!

@NiallM - if I'd had another day to work on it the difficulty curve would have definitely been one of my priorities, I totally agree that it's a bit slow to start.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Really fun! Sounds nice and plays nice. Possibly a bit slow though, knowing that it'll take me a minute to get back to where I was when I die is offputting.

scorder says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:12pm

Very nice, sound and visuals are great, and *minimal* ;)
It took me a while to see that I could bounce of walls, I was just avoiding the at first. All the better.
Also, it takes a long time before reaching something a bit challenging, then becomes quite hard suddenly. That's my only remark, so well done!

iamorim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:55pm

Hey! Thanks for telling me about the link issue. I fixed it. Let me know what you think!

http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=18057

Lythom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:17am

Neat and pleasing game, it's more contemplative and artistic than intersting in the gameplay but it convey a soft 'zen' emotion.
At the end of the 1st level I was not sure if I finished the game and redoing it or if I started level 2. Maybe some more non ambiguous feedback would help.
Good overall, thanks for the game !

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:47am

Good game.

xdegtyarev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:48am

Nice and relaxing game, Like it!

cahman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:57am

Very nice job! Like others have said, the music syncing with the gameplay was perfect. I thought it was too easy. I would have liked "sharper" controls, and maybe a less bouncy ball, but overall, very well done.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26pm

Thanks for your messages!

@ataxkt, @scorder - I really wish I'd done a better job with the pacing, and I'll be looking at that in future. Totally agree with what both you guys said.

@Lythom - it's interesting that you've said that it's more arty than gamey. I'd hoped that it was going to be fun first and foremost, but I did spend a lot of time on the polish. It is definitely very zen at times!

@cahman - Yeah, I think I have a bit of tweaking to do with the controls and collisions.

Thanks again, everyone.

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Very impressive sound and shape synchronization. I love the graphical style.

oatsbarley says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Thanks!

Also I just wanted to note here for the sake of transparency that I've just now changed the page the web version is embedded in so that it has a black background and the embed is centered. I haven't actually modified the game at all though.

mushbuh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:33pm

sweet, i love the art music gameplay everything, great idea. the screenshots all look like art

dagothig says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40pm

Cool game cool idea, at start I tought is was only a black on white easy game but a minute later I died in a plethora of lines and colors! Quite fun!

Jellycakes says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:42pm

Pretty nice game, very relaxing and interesting to see this type of game. Good job!

multitude says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:45am

Lovely entry to the LD. very nice atmosphere and game play. perfect to chill out

ilovepixel says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:51am

Great game! very chill out! I could play for hours and not get bored at all.

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:19pm

Nice tranquil feel while playing this despite the OHGODIMGOINGTOGETCRUSHED aspect

oatsbarley says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Thanks guys! I'm glad you all like it so much :D

Pixelulsar says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:34am

Fun to play and the graphics were minimalistic but looked good. I liked how the background and shaped changed colours.

Gungnir says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:44am

Well done, one of the better interpretations of the theme I've seen so far.

May 3, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Wow! My computer's sound wasn't working, but I tried this again after fixing it. I'm glad I did. It's already a great idea with tasteful execution, and the piano rounds it out perfectly. Well done!

May 3, 2013 @ 6:36pm

The music and visuals are tied together nicely and follow the theme well. I stopped playing after a few minutes because it didn't seem to be getting any herder. You should ramp up the difficulty!

oatsbarley says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:26pm

It actually gets harder a couple of minutes in, to the point that it's almost impossible. I definitely do need to work on the pacing though. Thanks for your comments guys!

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:24pm

Nice idea and mood. I think the controls could be improved.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Although quite slow at the beginning, it got quite iunteresting, really liked th whole running away thing, trying not to be crushed :) Good entry.

ZYXer says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:12pm

Minimalism at its best. The meditative music fits perfectly.

fueelin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:39pm

Liked this one alot! Very tranquil, plus interesting and fun gameplay.

Julian Ceipek says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I really liked your take on obstacle avoidance. The mood was perfect and the music was very serene. As others have said, the difficulty curve could be improved; it starts out very slowly and then becomes very difficult without a well-paced transition. My only other complaint is with the controls; I think an analog control scheme would fit the mood better.

oatsbarley says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:09pm

Thanks for the comments guys, and the feedback on the controls.

@Julian - by analog control scheme do you mean literally an analog controller? Sorry if I'm being an idiot!

multikorv says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:32pm

I like the aesthetics of this! You did a great job capturing the theme.

May 6, 2013 @ 8:13pm

This was really nice! Your game is one of my favorites for this LD, as I'm totally into the music and it totally fits the theme. Very well done.

Orni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:36pm

wow, I really enjoyed this game

the visual style is incredibly smooth and is simply a delight to look at

well done :D

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:28pm

Very calming. The music is great, and the challenging curve is perfect.

SonnyBone says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:42pm

Wow. Great atmosphere. It's amazing what can be accomplished a few shapes as long as you have a great sense of style. Nice challenge, great audio, and a refreshing idea. Great job!

naughtyloose says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 9:47pm

awesome idea and execution. I loved the sync with the sound. Some checkpoints would've been nice so you dont have to replay everything.

Rongon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:30pm

Nice game, very minimalistic and straight to the core. Had fun playing it, and enjoyed the sound :) Pretty slow at the beginning, maybe add hard mode. I thought that touching the bars will also end the game, so tried to evade them :p

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:44am

really cool game -- nice job!

Crazi456 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:41am

The music was done very well. Very fun game!

shiprib says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:07am

Cool idea and stunning execution for 48 hours. Appropriately minimal!

MathiO says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:34pm

Interesting experience, very soothing and peaceful music. I like the changing colours. Simple mechanics, yet the bounce and slight slipperiness of the controls help give it a bit more challenge, otherwise it may have been too easy. Well done.

nseward says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:00pm

I was completely mesmerized by this game. The music synced to game play pushed it over the top.

rogueNoodle says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 6:48pm

I really enjoyed this. The first time I played it, it felt a little slow at the start. But just when I thought "I must be too good at this", I got crushed :P Great work!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Nice a relaxing atmosphere. Good job.

oatsbarley says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Thanks for your feedback guys!

Jeremias says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Funny game, but it takes a bit too long before it gets to the interesting part (lots of moving walls)... perhaps a kind of hardcore mode? The visual style and the audio work very well.

ethankennerly says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:24pm

The soft music and soft, shifting palette calmed and centered me. If you continue to develop this, I look forward to the second level.

alts says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:39am

Very serene. I'm still unsure of how I feel about the drift of motion (and bouncing) in a game that demands precision of location. The game looks and sounds wonderful. Well done.

Zccc says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:51am

Very smooth, nice job!

oatsbarley says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:56pm

Thank you so much to anybody who voted for my game, whether positive or negative! And special thanks to anybody who commented! Top 100 woo.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]