April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

PlayIt!

by RawBits - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Rules:

You have to earn your potato by using your ear.
Hit the play button to hear the notes and play them back on the piano keys using your mouse.
Every bad note will be displayed in red.

Don't loose your potato!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#168Audio3.38
#401Innovation3.32
#404Humor2.47
#802Mood2.63
#948Overall2.80
#962Fun2.54
#1040Graphics2.38
#1223Theme2.67
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Lizzip says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

I lost my potato :(

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Couldn't get it to run on Chrome Windows7 - unrated

KevinWorkman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:43pm

This was a really interesting take on the theme. Like Simon only with sounds instead of lights. Great work!

myexcessive: what happens when you try to run it? It should work fine for anybody with Java installed.

Hayawi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

Nice take on the theme, I like the idea, and it could probably be developed further to maybe teach kids to play. Good job, have a potato

messiano says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:55am

I have perfect pitch, so it was way too easy lol. Still nice.

Cyborg771 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I made it to level 3 but once I made one mistake it seemed like I was doomed. I couldn't figure out how to get back on track once I made a mistake.

RawBits says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Thank you all! I'll rate back shortly.

mrexcessive: The "Web" version should work for everyone with Java installed - with full JavaSound or something the SoundCipher library documentation says. But if you look closely, I'm sure you can find other versions that might work. :)

Cyborg771: Ear training is not an easy task but I'm sure most poeple can get to this basic level in a little time. Also there are other ways to train and different things to learn - I wasn't aiming for a full featured educational game in this competition though.

I should point out that SoundCipher is not a very good library in means of control over playback and usability. It's barely do it's job.

May 4, 2013 @ 10:38pm

It's very hard for me :((. But, nice idea and Great Job.

Herku says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:56pm

The hardest thing for me is, that I can't hit the first note again. It is fine that it is already given, but I need to hear it again to step forward. Nice idea and very hard for somebody who played keyboard only half a year in school ._.

RawBits says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:39am

Herku: You can hear all the notes whenever you want by clicking on the play button next to the keys. I'll add another button for playing the last found and the current note only to the #1GAM version.

swizzcheez says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Entertaining.

kyru says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 8:44pm

Not bad, does a thing I've not seen in games before.

Blinked says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Very difficult, but very cool idea!

Make A Game says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Managed to finish it on my third try! It is a cool challenge perhaps appropriated for children to learn and train their ear. Cool idea and execution, the only thing I would add is after we complete each level, we could hear the melody so far.

May 18, 2013 @ 12:38am

Cool!

dick_claus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:45am

I lost all my potatoes >_< Really hard to play. I think will be better if preview show me what keys was downed

RawBits says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 7:35pm

Make A Game: Outstanding! Not just children needs ear training it isn't natural to learn these kind of skills in every day life for everyone. BTW I wanted to play back the whole phrase but the SoudCipher library don't have the necessary functions sadly. :(

dick_claus: Sound Cypher makes it very difficult to control the playback so I couldn't do that sadly. I wanted to make a button for playing only the last found and the current note only though.

Thank you all trying this quick sketch. Maybe later I'll try to improve it, perhaps I change playback library. Also I might add a practice mode where you can szelect which intervals you want to practice.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]