April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Pong

by ratboy2713 - Jam Entry

I started out with a serious entry that involved physics, but I couldn't get it to work so I whipped this together on the last day. It is a simple Pong game, very minimulistic when you think about it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#321Theme(Jam)3.15
#356Fun(Jam)2.69
#364Audio(Jam)2.45
#443Mood(Jam)2.38
#491Overall(Jam)2.50
#524Graphics(Jam)2.08
#545Innovation(Jam)1.72
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

Sos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:34pm

It makes me want to pres the buttons harder to go faster!

PixelOaks says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:56am

I think the default paddle could be a little faster, that or I suck at pong :)

May 9, 2013 @ 9:46pm

Hell yeah Pong

Floko says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 5:21am

Pretty simple. Its a nice pratice =]

You may want to turn a bit down the volume for all sounds except the "bounce of paddle". They were a little too high in my headsets..

else, its a solid pong. The paddle speed is very caracteristic too.

galman says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:39pm

I actually won on my first try! Very nice and solid Pong :D

DdlyHeadshot says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Not a bad Pong game with a good power-up system, but let down by the REALLY slow default paddle speed and the fact that the actual power-ups (as opposed to what are effectively power-downs) hardly ever appear, so if your paddle changes speed, it inevitably gets slower!

Super Hamster says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:11pm

This game was pretty intense and pretty cool.

ecool377 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:12pm

fun, original pong game its really cool would love to see more of your work in the future.

aeveis says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:55am

paddle was too slow, but the sound effects were really nice.

kibertoad says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:13am

congratulations, it's a pong!

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]