April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Potato Art

by SusanTheCat - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A point a click adventure written in Ren'py.

You are a detective in the 60's on the case of some missing art by the famous minimalist painter 'ed'.

Android version to come.

Windows, Mac, Linux compatible.
Source included in the file.

Leave a comment and I will rate your game!

Edit: Fixed typo in screenshot.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#168Audio3.38
#419Humor2.44
#538Fun3.00
#569Graphics3.00
#626Mood2.80
#778Overall2.96
#1169Innovation2.17
#1287Theme2.43
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

Great feel and soundtrack!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Funky! Fun little click and point adventure.

The flowers reappear in the original positions if use them. Other than that, solid.

SusanTheCat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:13pm

josefnpat: Thanks for pointing that out. It's a ... feature ... yeah ... a feature. Regenerating flowers ...

cacciatc: Thanks for playing!

kddekadenz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Great Soundtrack and nice colors. I did not really beat the game, though :P

ddionisio says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:56am

The funk is strong in this one.

When I saw the word 'potato', I thought, "not another one!". But the peace-flowers on the screenshot says otherwise...so I thought I should give it a benefit of a doubt. Then moment the game boot up, I knew I was in for a ride.

Cool game. One issue I have is I can't tell if I used an item over something or not. Other than that, pretty awesome! I'm stuck though, not sure what to do after I gave the painting to some snooty guy.

Did you really do the soundtrack within 48 hrs? If so, that is really impressive, and a funky game to boot! I feel an OST release is a must!

DDRKirby(ISQ) says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:16am

Neat ^^;

SusanTheCat says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 10:35pm

Thanks for playing.

Yes, the music was made within 48 hours. You can see me doing it in the timeline about halfway through.

Susan

Fnkee says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:45pm

Yay, this was so fun! Quite an easy point and click game, yet challenging and exciting puzzles. Feelgood soundtrack as well as simple, yet understanding graphics. To do this in 48 hours is a job well done!!

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:06am

Great music! And fun game; I managed to find the painting ;). The jigsaw puzzle part was probably the most fun because the rest was rather straightforward.

Hellequin says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Nice game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]