About | Rules and Guide | Sign In/Create Account | Write a Post
Construction1990’s Internet Montage? No!
Please excuse the site weirdness. Mike is fixing and making things.
Ludum Dare 31 — Coming December 5th-8th 2014!

  • ??? Begins: in 9 days, 10 hours, 20 minutes, 10 seconds
  • October Ends: in 10 days, 10 hours, 32 minutes, 10 seconds
  • Ludum Dare 31 begins: in 45 days, 11 hours, 20 minutes, 10 seconds
  • (FYI: Clock might be off) | Ludum Dare 31: Real World Gatherings (Now Open!)

    [ October Challenge 2014 | Resources | Submit/Edit | View All ]


    Ludum Dare 26

    April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

    Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
    [ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
    [ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

    [ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

    IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

    MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

    Back to Browse Entries

    Compositions - Cyborg771 - Jam Entry

    Code: Scott Inglis
    Sound: Chibwe Mweene

    View Cyborg771's journal. | View all entries by Cyborg771

    Ratings

    #4Theme(Jam)4.48
    #43Audio(Jam)3.85
    #57Fun(Jam)3.59
    #84Mood(Jam)3.61
    #93Overall(Jam)3.63
    #107Innovation(Jam)3.48
    #131Graphics(Jam)3.74
    #1619Coolness36%

    Comments

    Msquirrel says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:41am

    A nice concept, very innovative.
    I liked it :)

    jerrre says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:42am

    Solid game, nice to create an artwork while playing (my game does that too)

    More levels would've been nice

    Ithildin says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43am

    Nice, and very fitting :)

    I had some troubles at first determining how "small" the areas should be, but in the end you can always draw another line.

    Great job!

    ColdBrain says ...
    Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:06pm

    Nice concept!

    MrHalfman says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

    I can't load the website :(.

    Jonny D says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41pm

    That was a very nice take on Jezzball. I wouldn't mind more levels and level progression some day.

    Jonny D says ...
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:47pm

    Oh, but I wish you could combine two colors if you confine them well enough.

    May 1, 2013 @ 7:22pm

    Its like making abstract-modern art :D the game is awesome i loved it :D nice work!

    KEFIR says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:23pm

    Simple and beautiful! But too short though :(

    pythong says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:32pm

    very nice. levels would have been good, getting harder (with more balls and such)

    queader says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:38pm

    Very cool! I want more!

    hissssssssss says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 1:39pm

    The concept is nice, but the game feels very short, probably because after completing a level it pulls you back to the title screen. Even just starting a new level after completing the first would make the game feel longer and more fleshed out. I know clicking the play button again doesn't take much effort, but how many people stopped after they won and were served with the title screen again?

    kannas says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 2:00pm

    the game is beautiful. I can't really find any quirk on it that needs to point out. Maybe, making more obvious that once you beat a level, the next game you'll start will be more difficult, but that's just to be silly xD anyway, really nice work, i enjoyed it a lot ;)

    robcozzens says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:02pm

    This is fantastic!
    So simple.
    And instead of getting a high score you get to make art!

    DaveDobson says ...
    May 4, 2013 @ 7:56pm

    Very cool take on Qix with a Mondrian twist. Great sounds and music, very crisp-looking graphics; easy interface. I wish there were more varieties of levels or difficulties to try. Nice work.

    Cheezey says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 4:12am

    I would like a way to view my creations after finishing the game, and maybe some customization of the number/color of the balls. It would be even awesomer if there was an online sharing system, but you would need a server :(

    madlee says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 4:58am

    very nice, reminds me of jezzball. love the fill animation!

    Cyborg771 says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 7:13am

    To all the people who have requested some form of saving/sharing of creations. I built the game originally to prompt the user to save their image at the end of play but it turned out not to work in browsers and I didn't have time to fix it. In a few weeks I may make another version which will allow these things if people still seem interested.

    FaBrito says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 11:09am

    Very innovative, intuitive and well designed. I guess it would be even better without the need for the area to be small. Once the ball is isolated it could already paint the area it's trapped within.
    It's a little buggy when the balls collide each other, kind unpredictable, but didn't compromised the game.
    It's fair difficult and I'd love to see some level designs, like number of balls and various starting scenes.
    Some feedback on the number of lines used and failed along with some goal for the level could make this more addictive also. Congrats!

    zazery says ...
    May 5, 2013 @ 6:47pm

    Solid experience overall. The graphics, gameplay, and audio come together quite well. I noticed balls clipping through already drawn lines. I like how the spaces you create need to adhere to Mondrian dimensions.

    Think about adding more levels and challenges for the player to meet like a point/area that needs to be covered in a specific colour.

    May 9, 2013 @ 10:23am

    Ha, this ia a great idea :D

    RawBits says ...
    May 17, 2013 @ 7:15pm

    Awesome idea!

    Cliping isn't working very well though. Balls are constantly going through lines and sometimes they freak out just by their own.

    Music is quite fitting.

    You must sign in to comment.


    TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

    NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

    PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

    MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

    MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


    All posts, images, and comments are owned by their creators.

    [cache: storing page]