April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vast

by FunByJohn - Jam Entry

Controls:
Click/hold down mouse for where the player should go. Click on the square bubbles to interact.

Vast is a procedurally generated adventure in which you help other people. Explore the landscapes, and find items.

Version 1.1
- fixed bug where NPCs cheering animation wouldn't display if you had too many mood bubbles
- fixed bug where the sound volume would be weird on second playthrough
- added a small optimization to rendering

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Graphics(Jam)4.68
#6Mood(Jam)4.32
#31Overall(Jam)3.89
#32Theme(Jam)4.14
#36Audio(Jam)3.89
#158Innovation(Jam)3.32
#274Humor(Jam)2.13
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

daydalus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:08am

Excellent game - I really liked the hand drawn art style on the white background. The old-school adventure game quest was great as well. Deciphering the glyphs was a nice tough. Good work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Super nice atmosphere, but got pretty bored once it became "just trawl through all the screens till you find someone and see if something happens", it could be that I'm being dumb about the glyphs in some way.

Oh, and somehow it took me ages to realize how to interact with people.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Wow, really atmospheric! Love the style. I admit that I got bored before the end though. Not really knowing what to do fit the style, but it just wasn't exciting enough in the end to make me finish.

FunByJohn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:52pm

Hey guys, thanks for the positive response and the insightful feedback :) the original concept for this game was something a bit grander, with more interactivity, but we found we just didn't have the time to fit it all in (this was our artist's first time doing a game jam) so we decided to settle for nailing the ambience of the game, and turn it into something simple but relaxing.

We do admit that it turned out to be something of a walking simulator, a tad short on gameplay, so we don't really expect everyone to get to the "end".

Anyway, thanks again :)

ayamflow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:35pm

It's pretty neat ! I love the graphics and the SFX, but yeah, after a while it becomes "walk in the forest and trade object" basically. Good job !

kidevil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Brilliant graphics and character animation! Cool concept, but like the game name, the level is so huge, I found myself just running around aimlessly a lot of the time. Took a while to find the first thing to give to a person.

Grouflon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23pm

Very nice overall ambiance, gorgeous graphics & animation. The interaction system is very well designed. A special mention for the effort made on the sound. I've just found not obvious to figure out what we are supposed to do. Anyway, very solid entry, very beautiful game. Most of 5 stars rating ;)

KevinZuhn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:21am

The atmosphere was definitely nice and mysterious and relaxing.
Do the NPCs send a bubble out in the direction of the thing they want? It seemed like they did and I tried following it a few times but to no result. I would have liked to be able to see the objects' symbols while I was still carrying them. There were too many floating around for me to remember! With a bit more feedback regarding where people were on the map or what I was holding, I think it would reduce the feeling that I was just wandering.

krangGAMES says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

Initially a bit confusing, but the first time I dropped off a box... tile... thing, and got a sack lunch and then a fishing rod in return, that brought a smile to my face.

Totally digging the audio and I LOVE the graphics! My only concern is conveyance of information to the player, it seems a bit on the lacking side - being able to see what a tile's little speech bubble said AFTER it started following you would be nice.

Still, AWESOME job, the atmosphere in this one is great ♥

Mystify says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:54pm

Very nice atmosphere, but as other people are saying, the actual gameplay is lacking

Madball says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:32pm

The design is great, but gameplay is boring.
Make hints, what's the symbol for each item you own. Show it by clicking the item. Althrough why would I care? I can't remember all the peoples' needs. Again, this makes it boring.

atraxgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:43pm

AWESOME! I loved the atmosphere, the graphics, the mysterious/strange world. Loved it.

Cryovat says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:39pm

This game had an incredible ambience and sense of wonder to it. I'm awestruck. :)

May 9, 2013 @ 8:31am

I'm a big fan of the atmosphere and the animation. I don't think I truly finished the game as I still had one bit of dissatisfaction on at least one of the little guys, and I couldn't find anything to cure it.

I like that it is somewhat zen, almost... except for the part where you're giving people items.

I think the biggest criticism is really that I never figured out what the icons actually meant. I just luggged everything around to everyone just to be sure.

Ariake81 says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 9:24pm

amazing, best game of the jam. thankyou.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]