April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Quick Copy

by koller-digital - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You have to copy minimalistic pictures to earn money. But be quick or else you risk a fine.

You need Java Version 7 to start this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#107Innovation3.80
#283Overall3.45
#288Fun3.29
#584Theme3.51
#607Graphics2.96
#640Humor2.11
#668Mood2.76
#1065Audio1.39

Comments

Crazi456 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19am

Was fun. Apparently my drawing skils are horrid haha!

titi987 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:27am

Bug on Ubuntu 12.04.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: de/koller/ld26/LDStart : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

karsyf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29am

I really liked the idea, but found the actual pictures a little too hard ><

titi987 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

I have Java 7...

johnste says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32am

Fun game and nice execution! I think I experienced a bug where it thought my entire painting was wrong (exceeded 400 pixels wrong on a painting that wasn't too far off).

Frib says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Very cool game. It went well until I lost $2k to some snob that didn't appreciate my fine art skills.

I really liked it, having to do all the actions yourself. But sometimes the mouse button would get stuck and I had to repeatedly click to let something go, which was a bit annoying. But awesome entry nonetheless!

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:52am

Dude, that was way too hard. xD
It was fun though!

KHANanaphone says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:00am

Pretty interesting, the payouts seem a bit too skewed towards extremes though. The first playthrough I didn't even come close to making a profit.

PaidGEEK says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:11am

Pretty fun! I find presentation quite interesting.

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18am

great idea

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22am

Sometimes objects don't respond when you click on them. It seems to happen more frequently the longer you play.

namuol says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:32am

Great concept, and it was executed pretty well. I played with a trackball, but had no problem raking in cash. ;)

A few small suggestions:
1. I love the tactile-feeling UI, but the paintbrush should be a simple circle indicating where I'm actually going to paint; it's very hard to be precise because it's unclear where the paint will go.
2. The canvas image's torn edges can really throw you off since it looks like you're closer to the edge of the image than the game treats it.

Otherwise, loved it. Were you by any chance inspired by Jon Blow's Painter game? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DAJ60gBBjjU

GreaseMonkey says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:36am

I'll let you know once I've ported this to Java 6.

cmayhem says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:38am

Too difficult for me, but the idea is neat.

josefnpat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:03pm

I am an artist!

Tapestry says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:49pm

The controls were a little buggy, or I did not do something right. For instance I could not drop the paint brush that easily. Other than that, I really liked the idea, and playing the game was really fun!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:19am

My girlfriend laughed about me, but I'm an artist now. \o/

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:10am

Very fun, but it just is depressing to see how bad i am at drawing stuff :D

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:14am

Nice take on the theme, but I find the game a little hard :P

Entity2D says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:16am

Very original concept, and very fun as well.

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:52pm

This is without a doublt one of the best and most fun games I've seen so far. Amazing concept in its semplicity and very addictive!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I was entirely horrible (there's a reason why I used ASCII art for my game :D ) but it's a very clever idea!

kyru says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:32pm

Fun game, a bit hard to get very exact with a mouse but that was no doubt the point. I liked it.

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Very nice - I really quite enjoyed it. Great concept, well implemented.

whiteravens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Great game, just a bit work on the controls (took me a while to grasp it), but everything else was wonderful :)

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:22pm

Super awesome! Painstakingly reproducing a difficult work and getting rewarded really well for it is a great feeling. I definitely like how the rewards are heavily weighted towards very close reproductions - makes it really seem worth it to work slowly and carefully instead of just churning through sloppy work to make money.

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:43pm

Funny one ! And you made some great goodies like the possibility to paint anywhere :D

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Liked the style and presentation- had a little difficulty with stuff getting stuck to the mouse, load / trash / purchase of canvas being automatically place would have been cool, I got fined heavily as I had trouble swapping between the brush and the canvas. Great idea though, would be cool to see it polished a little more - would make a great mobile game. :)

lotusgame says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:29am

So hard to draw with mouse ^^ I like the concept. It could be very interesting for a mobile version ;) Great job !!

Morgawr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:00pm

Amazing game haha, really innovative. I hated drawing circles because it's so damn inaccurate but really really good game. Kudos!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:36pm

Perfectly fits to the theme. Extremely simple and intelligent. Congratz!

Jerm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:52am

Cool concept. I like how everything is draggable and how you can scroll the view up to get back to the title screen. Although I found it a bit difficult to draw accurately with the mouse. Managed to get to level 14.

aeveis says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:38am

Haha, I earned 38k, my best was $2495. Reached lvl 52. Pretty fun.

May 11, 2013 @ 2:46am

Really liked this and I think you executed it quite well and did fair justice to the concept. Good job!

MinionStudios says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 4:45pm

Very fun and really hard! And I do digital art for a living!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]