April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Gravity

by DavidErosa - Jam Entry

Well, I'm not really satisfied with this one... First, I could not work on Sunday, so I had to send as a Jam entry. Second, I had more duties on Monday so I could only add the main menu and sound effects, making a total of around 16 hours for working on the game...

For the first time I felt uncomfortable with the theme, so I just tried to make a game with minimalistic graphics and kind of simple gravity.

HOW TO PLAY:
- Click to jump off planets.
- Jump from planet to planet.
- Orbit around them to destroy it.
- Avoid potatoes, as they'll kill you.
- Beware of gravity, it can send you to outer space.

It gets boring around level 10 :(

I'll upload Win, OSX and Linux binaries as soon as I find the time.

EDIT: The music was really annoying after a few... seconds, so I added a "button" on the right so you can toggle it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#71Humor(Jam)3.19
#134Fun(Jam)3.29
#188Innovation(Jam)3.24
#222Overall(Jam)3.28
#251Theme(Jam)3.32
#313Graphics(Jam)3.00
#322Mood(Jam)2.76
#338Audio(Jam)2.67
#1236Coolness49%

Comments

papa_troll says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:12pm

Really enjoyed this wee game. I think mixing up the planets and potatoes more so that the obstacles dont all appear together at the start of the level would help add variety. Great game, thanks!

tnovelli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:05pm

+1 for tagging [Unity web player]... too bad I can't play it on Linux. I like your screenshots... "lost in space...again" hehe

Aevek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:06pm

The only problem I had with this game is that my orbits were perfect ellipses, so the logic I have learned from playing far too much Kerbal Space Program kinda made it harder for me.

raoz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07pm

Interesting, great potential.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:13pm

This is very impressive for 16 hours. Not only is it polished all except for level transitions, it also seems like an actual game, unlike my entry.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Really good fun! I kept getting lost in space though.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:15pm

i found this one very enjoyable - great job with the gravity physics (especially the interaction of gravity fields between multiple planets), and groovy music. Overall, very polished and well executed. Good job my friend.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:30pm

When I actually figured out the controls, I really enjoyed this game.
Loved the smilies on the planets.

Minuses: annoying music and maybe could've been a bit more zoomed out?
And why the player wants to destroy planets, when the player dies if being in naked space too long... beats me :D

But the thing that matters, played for a good while, as it was real fun!

ilo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

A bit confusing how the jumping worked at first. It also seemed liked the planets furthest away had the strongest pull on the player. But the presentation was nice, and it was pleasing when I managed to thread a jump through a densely packed pack of space spuds. :)

tnovelli says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02pm

cool, Linux version works for me on Fedora17 (dunno what's holding back the Unity browser plugin, then). Played to level 11 before I got bored. Gets interesting around level 5 when you can't get to that one lone planet because a bunch of other planets (and potatoes) are pulling you the other way :)

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55pm

really cool idea. felt the game was a little too easy but other than that good job !

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56pm

Really nice game, excellent work for 48 hours.

mort96 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:41pm

That's a very, very neat game you got there. Loving the idea of using gravity like that. Also, looks neat.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:45pm

The graphics are quite nice. I enjoyed playing the game very much. I think the levels would be a bit more interesting, if they were more "2-dimensional", since they seem to be a single chain of objects. Although very nice entry!

donan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:10am

Nice game. The gameplay its really original and the graphics looks nice. Sometimes the orbits works weird, but other than that its really good.

Husky says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:57am

Nice idea,
Simple yet challenging!
Good job! :p

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:14am

Nice game. Graphics look neat and funny :D

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:10pm

Pretty fun, could figure out how to play without the instructions which was nice.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:11pm

Fun! It got annoying that the planets take 1-2 seconds to be able to destroy, since sometimes it means waiting for another orbit to be able to go to the next planet, but that was fine ;P

someone says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:18pm

Enjoyable game.

Tozy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Good game! A minimap to see the whole level at all times would be useful to avoid potatoes.

aquilicoco says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Good work!

Sebastian says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:21pm

I love the style!

hgouveia says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:39pm

Cool game!, love the gravity effect, reminds me Angry Birds Space

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]