April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mini Malice

by Yann - 48 Hour Compo Entry

-- CONTROLS --
!!!STOMP TO FREE THE SOULS!!!
For an effective stomping press down arrow key when you are on top of your jump. It makes it more powerfull!!!!111


Left/Right Keys to walk
Up to jump
Down to power stomp (increase downward force even on floor)

To free souls and eat them you have to power stomp on them 4 times.
To kill priest you just have to power stomp them once but they throw holy water at you (be carefull)


ESC: if you get stuck under some objects, push the ESC button free you in the expanse of a random soul you'll have to get back


-- GOAL --

Destroy at your leisure, and gobble all the soul you can find.
(Beware of the priests)

Have fun!

(made with construct 2)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#80Humor3.52
#230Mood3.32
#236Audio3.24
#351Fun3.21
#388Graphics3.28
#398Overall3.32
#419Innovation3.29
#1105Theme2.88
#1594Coolness37%

Comments

Crefossus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:07am

Pretty fun, good humor. I like the animations. Smashing the soul cages got a little repetitive although I did actually get better at it after a while which was cool.

lukedirago says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:13pm

Looks awesome, and it was really fun (and instructive) to watch over the progress. Kudos(Y)

MrOtton says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

It's really fun! I like the use of physics and the voices :D

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:18pm

Wonderful! Just a few tweaks on the physics and it would be really great! :)

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:48pm

I liked the idea, I couldn't seem to destroy the priests though, no matter how hard I stomped. Sound effects were cool and I liked the spooky bg music. :)

Yann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Hey thanks guys :D

@Crefossus I had other ideas for features, but I wanted the game to look and sound good so I had to cut those corners =)

@whiteravens yeah I prefered not to fall to much into the depth of tweakings. time was short, I only got started after the C2 class.

@JohnnySix Yeah to kill the priest you have to power stomp from high enough (:
Might not be easy sometimes.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:18am

Great entry - and with voice acting, even! I didn't know about the powerstomp at first so was trying to destroy everything like a platforming angry bird, but once I read the instructions it made so much more sense ;)

Codexus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01pm

Great entry, minimalistic yet fun, the controls and physics were responding nicely. The difficulty was well balanced (I managed to win). Overall quite fun.

_Rilem says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:06pm

I had fun playing this, love the fact that your character deforms if you fall faster. That's a bit of animation that makes your game feel so much more polished.
Popping the bubbles did get a little repetitive, you might want to make the player bounce of of them so you dont need to jump each time.

zatyka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:06pm

Go C2!

Definitely enjoyable. You don't see to many games with that ridiculous an opening scene (I loved it). It was very satisfying to collapse the structures, but collecting the souls did get a repetitive after a while. I also dug the art style. I'd love to play an expanded post-compo version.

Starspell says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:17pm

The game lagged like crazy for me and only seemed to update whenever I gave input to it. But that's most likely my computer's problem. Despite that I really enjoyed this game. I was searching for my own game when I found this one (the names almost identical). I like the premise and the sounds and the animations. Got a little repetitive but still nice to look at. Got caught under the physic blocks /a lot/.

Yann says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:29am

Heh thanks everyone :D

Yeah the repetitiveness seems a the recuring issue. I wanted to add more feature of course but I also wanted to polish the graphics.... darn time!

@_Rilem
Darn! that's actually a good idea! I'm keeping it in the back of my mind (:
It would probably make the repetitiveness less perceptible.

@Starspell
Oh sorry to hear that, if you read this comment, I'm interested to know what
browser(version?)/OS you use (maybe Chrome is the solution)

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:00am

Best voice acting so far!

The 5 stomps are a bit much though.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

Laughed at the title. The intro was fun :) It's very hard to break the glass around the souls, took me a while...

xdegtyarev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:03am

Fun to play! Ingame instructions would be nice, spent some time until I figured out how to collect souls.

smealum says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:34am

nice entry !

May 5, 2013 @ 9:55pm

This was great, it was fun playing with the physics. I really liked the sound effect for breaking the soul containers, and well done for the voice acting!

onzephyr says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:37am

Loads of fun to just play around with the physics and see what chaos I could cause. Really like the style. you managed to pull a lot of character out of those blocks. Very well done.

stqn says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:26pm

Nice! I like the graphics and colours. Too bad the game is so slow (played it with Firefox 20); controlling the character gets tedious quickly. But it was fun jumping on unstable platforms. Having to hit several times the soul’s shell was a bit tedious too; it would be nice to be able to break them with only one hit if the stomp is strong enough! I made it to the end and was disappointed :P.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]